OU Libraries
OU Libraries

Search by title, author...

Current Exhibits:

Homecoming

Sept. 20-30, 2014, lobby of Kresge Library

While attending Homecoming check out the exhibit in the lobby of Kresge Library. It features photos, objects and documents illustrating athletics and academic life at OU from its founding in 1959 to the present!

Oakland in 1964

Sept. 20-30, 2014, Kresge Library, Room 242

Class of 1964, come and remember life at Oakland in the early 1960s! Photos, documents and objects are on display in the library. You will be able to browse the Oakland Observer and much more!

In 1964, MSU-O celebrated the graduation of its second class. The university was growing rapidly. Total enrollment in 1963-1964 reached 1688 and there were 89 faculty members, working and living on the new campus and its 10 buildings. The fourth dormitory, Hill House, was completed as well as the Kettering Magnetics Laboratory. In Summer, the first Meadow Brook Music Festival was held.


Online Exhibits

Saints and Sinners Online Exhibit

Meadow Brook
Music Festival

While the Festival has changed from its initial conceptions in regards to programming, it has retained its status as a prominent cultural center within the musical community.    

Saints and Sinners Online Exhibit

OU: Early History

Oakland University opened its doors in 1959, on a brand new campus carved out of the Meadow Brook Estate, with 2 buildings, 24 faculty and about 570 students.

The story of how a few men built this university from scratch is a unique tale of vision and dedication.

Saints and Sinners Online Exhibit

Saints and Sinners

Saints and Sinners, by Marshall Fredericks, was Oakland University's first major exterior sculpture. The seven bronze figures represent good, evil, temptation, knowledge of good and evil, a saint of the church, a mother and child, and a warrior saint.

Sculptures on Campus Online Exhibit

Sculptures on Campus

The campus of Oakland University boasts a number of outdoor sculptures by well-known artists, most of them with local roots. The most recent addition, The Grizz, is the mascot of the university.

 

OU Libraries Timeline

OU Libraries Timeline

Explore the history of OU Libraries through the years starting with the temporary library before the ground-breaking ceremony on October 17,1960 up to the latest developments. You can browse by decade or by topic.

 

 

 

Previous Exhibits at Kresge Library

 

Class of 1964 Reunion: Oakland in 1964

Sept. 20-30, 2014, Kresge Library, Room 242

Class of 1964, come and remember life at Oakland in the early 1960s! Photos, documents and objects are on display in the library. You will be able to browse the Oakland Observer and much more!

Homecoming

Sept. 20-30, 2014, lobby of Kresge Library

While attending Homecoming check out the exhibit in the lobby of Kresge Library. It features photos, objects and documents illustrating athletics and academic life at OU from its founding in 1959 to the present!

 
 

Oakland in 1967

June-Sept., 2014, Lobby of Kresge Library

In Fall 1967, 44 Oakland University students went on a study abroad tour in Asia. They stayed in Hong Kong for a semester’s class work under the direction of professors Henry Rosemont and Edward Buote.

 

OU students welcomed in Taiwan

Growth at Oakland University

March 3-June 21, 2014, Lobby of Kresge Library

OU has grown dramatically since 1959: from 570 students the first year to over 20,000 in 2013-2014; from 3 original buildings to over 40. With growth came exciting opportunities and perplexing challenges. Members of the OU community have all experienced the impact of OU’s growth first hand.

Growth at Oakland University

 

 

 

 

Created by Name / Updated on October 1, 2014 by Name

OU Libraries, Oakland University | 2200 N. Squirrel Road, Rochester, Michigan 48309 | (248) 370-2471
Accessibility | Sitemap | Hours | Location | Comments | Webmaster


Hours | Location

OU Libraries on Facebook OU Libraries on Twitter OU Libraries News