Kresge Library

Department of Music, Theatre & Dance
Faculty Chamber Music Recital

George Stoffan
Yin Zheng

Guest Artist

Joan Hovda, Cello


Performing the Music of Nielsen, Devienne, Delano and Brahms

Wednesday, February 18, 2009
Varner Recital Hall

Admission is Free!
view poster

The Program

Fantasy for Clarinet and Piano....................................................

Carl Nielsen (1865-1931)


Sonata No. 2, in E-flat Major, for Clarinet and Piano......................

   Allegro con spiritoso
   Rondeau- Allegretto

Francois Devienne (1759-1803)
(rev. Jacques Lancelot)


Tres Payasadas (Three Burlesques) for Clarinet and Cello............

   Payoso gracioso (Funny Clown)
   Payoso triste (Sad Clown)
   Payoso bobo (Silly Clown)

Jack Delano (1914-1997)

Trio, Op. 114, in A minor, for Clarinet, Cello, and Piano.................

   Andantino grazioso

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)

Resources about the composers*:

Carl Nielsen
Fanning, David. Nielsen, Carl. Grove Music Online.
Krabbe, Niels. (2007) A survey of the written reception of Carl Nielsen, 1931-2006. Notes: Quarterly Journal of the Music Library Association 64(1): 43-56.
Grimley, Daniel M. (2005). 'Tonality, clarity, strength': Gesture, form, and Nordic identity in Carl Nielsen's piano music. Music & Letters 86(2): 202-33.

Francois Devienne
Montgomery, William. Devienne, Francois. Grove Music Online.
Devienne, Francois. Naxos
Oleskiewicz, Mary. (2000) François Devienne's Nouvelle Méthode Théorique et Pratique pour la Flute: Facsimile of the Original Edition, with an Introduction, Annotated Catalogue of Later Editions, and Translation [book review]. Notes 57(2): 388-389.

Jack Delano
Thompson, Donald. Delano, Jack. Grove Music Online.
Photographs of Jack Delano (Library of Congress)
Oral History Interview of Jack and Irene Delano, June 12, 1965 (Archives of American Art, Smithsonian Institution)

Johannes Brahms
Bozarth, George S. and Frisch, Walter. Johannes Brahms. Grove Music Online.
Rudolf, Palmer and Dillon, Ravindra. (2007) Musical meaning for the few: Instances of private reception in the music of Brahms. Current Musicology 83: 109-130.
Arnone, Augustus. (2006) The aesthetics of textual ambiguity: Brahms and the changing piano. Current Musicology 82: 7-32.

*Access to full text resources from off campus is limited to current Oakland students, staff, and faculty.

Created on 2/5/2009 by Shawn Lombardo / Last updated on 5/1/19 by Shawn Lombardo
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426