Women in Art

By: Daniel F Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370 2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


See also Art History

SUBJECT HEADING

Women in art

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND OVERVIEWS

Grove Art Online This is a good place to explore your topic. Notice the search engine at the top right. Be sure to logout.

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Click on Art and Art History and scroll down. There are a number of indexes to choose from.

IMAGES

Camio Art Museum Images

"Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed."

CAMIO includes ...

RESOURCES

National Museum of Women in the Arts

Women Artists in History - Organized by century.

Art and Artists

Women in Art - There are links to artists and related articles.

The Literature of Women in Art - This site is an extensive bibliography in essay format.

Art and Art History - This is an extensive listing of sites; coverage includes:

Women in Art
http://www.mystudios.com/women/women.html

Women Artists Index
http://wwol.is.asu.edu/artist_index.htm

WIC History of Women Through Art
http://www.wic.org/artwork/idex_art.htm

Women Artists in History
http://www.wendy.com/women/artists.html

Women Artists – Renaissance and Baroque Painters
http://www.womenshistory.about.com/library/weekly/aa021223a.htm

Women Artists- Representations of Womanhood
http://www.csupomona.edu/~plin/women/womenart.html

Georgia O'Keefe Online Galleries
http://www.happyshadows.com/okeeffe/
http://www.michelangelo.com/okeeffe/
http://www.ellensplace.net/okeeffe1.html

The Goddess Exhibition at the Metropolitan
http://www.metmuseum.org/special/Goddess/goddess_splash.htm

Susan Seddon Boulet
http://gallery.arcobaleno.tv/index2.php?41
http://maudragon.opalines.com/scans.php (choose Boulet)

Anne Geddes (see calendar and gallery links; b&w babies)
http://www.annegeddes.com/mainM.html
http://www.code4u.com/annegeddes/?language=uk&menu=3

Judy Chicago and Through the Flower
http://www.judychicago.com/

National Museum of Women in the Arts
http://www.nmwa.org/

Varo Registry of Women Artists
http://www.varoregistry.com/


Women in Art (video) - This is a montage of 50 portraits that morph into each other.

Women in Art (video) - Covers beautiful women in art.

 


Created on 5/8/08 by Daniel F. Ring; / Last updated on 8/8/08 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions