What to Use When

By: Frank Lepkowski
Associate Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2497
E-mail: lepkowsk@oakland.edu


When in the library, use the reference area workstations to directly access the following tools.  When at home or elsewhere, access them through the library's web site at http://library.oakland.edu.

For books, government documents, sound recordings, microforms, and  journal titles--in short, to find discrete items in the library's collection--use the Library Catalog.  To find articles in magazines or journals about particular topics, use Periodical Index and Full Text Databases.

Library Catalog

Use the Library Catalog to

  • find books, government documents, sound recordings or other items on aparticular topic
  • search journal titles (not article titles!) to find periodical articles
Available in the library and also from anywhere on the world wide web.
 

Periodical Index and Full Text Databases

All of the periodical databases to which our library subscribes may be found in the list of current databases. What follows is a selection of the ones most commonly used by Oakland University patrons.

FirstSearch

Useful databases:
  • WilsonSelectPlus for full text articles from popular and academic journals, covering 2000+ titles across a variety of disciplines
  • Other databases in particular disciplines include Medline, ERIC, Art Abstracts and others.

In these databases, if an article is not available online, use the "Get It" feature to identify if the article is available in another database or in print in the library. If it is not, you may request through ILLiad, our Interlibrary Loan service. FirstSearch is available in the library and from home with logon ID and password.

General Reference Center Gold and Health Reference Center Academic

These databases include partial full text and full-image contents.  GRCG indexes general interest periodicals and newspaper articles, encyclopedias and other reference material. Covered subject areas include social sciences, general sciences, humanities, business and management, economics and current affairs.  HRCA indexes health related journals and magazines, including several full-text nursing journals.

ProQuest ABI/Inform

Use ABI/Inform for full text articles on business and economics.

Lexis/Nexis

This database includes full text articles from journalistic sources around the world, biographical reference sources; full-text law review articles, case law, federal code and state law sources; full-text business sources.  Emphasis is on current events and the recent past, but many legal materials have deep historical coverage.

Searching Tools for the World Wide Web

To look for other research materials on the world wide web, we have compiled for you a list of useful search engines and other sites.  Remember that web materials, like printed materials, need to be questioned as to veracity, perspective and authority.

Other library info


Library and Reference Hours
Fall and Winter Terms Library Hours Reference Hours
Monday-Thursday 7:30AM-Midnight 8:00AM-10:00PM
Friday 7:30AM-8:00PM 8:00AM-5:00PM
Saturday 9:00AM-6:00PM 9:00AM-5:00PM
Sunday Noon-Midnight 1:00PM-9:00PM

Library Locations
1st Floor Computer Center, Library Technical Services, Public Eating Area, Special Collections
2nd Floor Circulation, Reference, Interlibrary Loans, Documents, Microforms
3rd Floor Circulating Books
4th Floor Journals, magazines and newspapers

Borrowing Privileges at Other Libraries
Lawrence Technological University University of Detroit Mercy
Macomb Community College University of Michigan-Dearborn
Oakland Community College (Oakland County residents only) Walsh College
OU students may check out materials from the above libraries by presenting driver's license and Oakland University student ID card. Also, OU students may check out materials at area libraries that participate in the Michicard program. For details, go to the library's Michicard webpage.

Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad)

A service which retrieves books and articles within about two weeks.  You can request ILL materials electronically on forms available at the Interlibrary Loan page of the OU library web site.

Library Contact

Reference Desk
Kresge Library
Main Level, South Wing
(248)370-4426
E-mail: ref@oakland.edu
Instant messaging




 

Created on 9/1/01 by Frank Lepkowski, / Last updated on 9/15/08 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions