| By: | Daniel
F Ring Assistant Professor |
Phone: (248)
370-2498 E-mail: ring@oakland.edu |
See also Death and Dying, Geriatrics, Counseling, Psychology
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
Encyclopedia of Social Work. Ref. HV 12 .E53 2008
Encyclopedia of Social Welfare History in North America. Ref. HV 12 .E497 2005
Encyclopedia of Homelessness. Ref. HV 4493 .E53 2004
Encyclopedia of Disability. Ref. HV 1568 .E528 2006
Dictionary of Social Welfare. Ref. HV 12 .T54 1982
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements. Ref. HN 57 .E594 2004
Encyclopedia of Social Psychology. Ref. HM 1007 .E53 2007
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Social Psychology
Encyclopedia of Social Theory. Ref. HM 425 .E47 2005
Encyclopedia of Human Development. Ref. HM 626 .E53 2006
Directories
The Help Book. Ref. HV 87 .D4 U54 - Good for the tri-county area.
Handbooks
Social Workers' Desk Reference. Ref. HV 40 .S6464 2002
Periodical Indexes
Wilson Select (full text articles)
Social Sciences Citation Index
JSTOR (backfiles of full text journals. Go to "advanced" and then check "Sociology.")
Internet Resources
Meta Sites
Social Work/Social Welfare Committee (ALA) - Covers:
- Human Service Organizations based on Human Service Organizations and Their Publications: A Directory of Selected Sources , edited by Francine M. DeFranco and Donna L. Ferullo. Council on Social Work Education, Inc., 1996. Text extracted by permission of the editors to EBSS Social Work / Social Welfare Committee.
- Information Competencies for Social Work Students is intended for social work librarians and information specialists. Resources included are those committee members found helpful in their work. We welcome recommendations for improving the content of these pages.
- Reference Sources is a section of web-based resources related to social work research, which committee members have found useful over time.
- Social Work Selector's Toolbox
- Webliography categorized listing of resources on social work subjects.
Social Welfare - This outstanding site is brought to you by the University of Albany. You will be able to use most of the databases but do not attempt to use the subscription databases. It covers these topics:
Social Welfare Organizations
Other PathfindersInternet Public Library - Covers:
Government Sources
Legislation
Statistics, etc.
Fedstats A-Z - Covers:
Social Welfare
- Expenditures
- Food distribution
- Food stamps
- Head Start program
- Old-age, survivors, and disability insurance program fact sheets
- Old-age, survivors, and disability insurance insured workers -- statistical tables
- Old-age, survivors, and disability insurance trust funds
- Supplemental security income
- WIC
Government Information Online - Covers:
- Administration for Children and Families
Website of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services Administration for Children & Families.- Committee on Ways and Means, U.S. House of Representatives
Website of the House Ways and Means Committee.- Committee on Ways & Means Committee Prints, 104th - 108th Congresses
GPO Access database of Committee Prints from the House Ways and Means Committee. Includes the Green Book , also knows as Overview of Entitlement Programs .- Medicaid
Consumer information & professional/technical information on Medicaid.- Medicare
Consumer information & professional/technical information on Medicare.- Poverty Guidelines, Research, & Measurement
Information on poverty guidelines & related resources from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.- Poverty Information from the Census
Statistics and other information on poverty from the Census Bureau.- Women, Infants, & Children (WIC)
Website of the Women, Infants, & Children program.
TestsOther Resources
National Conference on Social Welfare Proceedings 1874-1982 - Covers: "These proceedings were issued under earlier names of the Conference as follows: 1874, Conference of Boards of Public Charities; 1875-1879, Conference of Charities; 1880-1881, Conference of Charities and Correction; 1882-1916, National Conference of Charities and Correction; 1917-1956, National Conference of Social Work; 1957-, National Conference on Social Welfare."
BUBL LINK Social Welfare - This is a British site. Bubl Link also has a Social Problems and Services which covers services to various groups such as the poor, youth, etc.
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426