| By: |
Kris Condic Associate Professor & Electronic Resources Coordinator |
Phone: (248)
370-2469 E-mail: salomon@oakland.edu |
BOOKS
I. Use The Library Catalog to find books and titles of journals held at OU.
Access the online catalog from the Library Web Site: http://library.oakland.edu
SEARCHING THE LIBRARY CATALOG
| To search by: | Notes | Example |
| Author | Enter last name first, then first name | Drummond, Robert J. |
| Title | Don't start titles with "The", "A", "An" | Handbook of psychological assessment |
| Journal Title | Don't start titles with "The", "A", "An" | Journal of social psychology |
| Subject | Subject search only finds broad subject categories | Psychological tests |
| Boolean Keyword | You can search with your own words and phrases, and you can combine terms. | Children
AND "television advertising" |
| Relevance Keyword | You can search with your own words and phrases, put +in front of essential terms. | +children
+"television advertising" |
II. Location of materials
1st floor - Computer
Center, Snack Zone, Archives/Special Collections
2nd floor - Circulation
Desk, Reference Collection, Computers
3rd floor - Books
shelved by call number
4th floor - Journals,
magazines and newspapers shelved by call number
III. Handbooks
A. Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 5th ed.
(Ref. BF 76.7 .P83 2001 and Circulation Desk).
Standard style manual for psychology and other social sciences. Gives appropriate formats for research papers, footnotes, and bibliographies.B. Graduate Study in Psychology. (Ref. BF 77 .G7)
Includes information on degrees, admission requirements, and tuition.
C. Specific handbooks on the 3rd floor and in the Reference Collection including:
IV. Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
A. Encyclopedia of Psychology, ed. by A. E. Kazdin, 8 vols. (Ref. BF 31 .E525 2000)
From a combined effort of APA and Oxford University Press. Includes 1,500 articles and 350 biographies. Outstanding encyclopedia covers psychology and related areas.B. Corsisi Encyclopedia of Psychology & Behavioral Science. (Ref. BF 31 .E52 2001; also available online through Library Catalog)
C. APA Dictionary of Psychology. Over 25,000 entries. (Ref. BF 31 .A63 2007)D. Dictionary of Psychology, ed. by R. Corsini. (Ref. BF 31 .C72 1999)
Over 30,000 entries and many illustrations. Also contains useful appendices including one on Prefixes, Suffixes, and Affixes, and Rorschach Descriptors.
E. Dictionary of Psychology, ed. by A. Colman. (Ref. BF 31 .C65 2006)
Published by Oxford University Press. Includes over 10,000 entries ranging from one sentence in length to half a column.F. International Encyclopedia of Psychology, 2 nd edition, ed. by N. S. Sutherland. (Ref. BF 31 .I58 1996) Entries related to psychology and medicine with an international flavor.
G. Specific encyclopedias and dictionaries including:
Encyclopedia of Creativity . (Ref. BF 408 .E53 1999)
Dictionary of Philosophy and Psychology. (Ref. B 41 .B3 1998)
Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology. (Ref. BF 31 .R625 1998)
Encyclopedia of Mental Health (Ref. RA 790 .E53 1998)
V. Test Assessment –Except for entry E listed below, the library does not have copies of tests. You will need to contact the publisher to receive a copy of the test.
A. Mental Measurements Yearbook, by Oscar K. Buros. (available online; also available in print: Ref. LB 1131 .A1 B932, kept on Test Reviews Table) The Standard source for information on standardized tests. Provides basic information about the tests, critical essay-reviews of the tests and good bibliographies of references and additional reviews that have appeared in books and journals.
B. Tests in Print I – VII, by Oscar K. Buros. (Ref. LB 3051 .A1 B8, B83; kept on Test Reviews Table)
Is a listing to commercially available tests. Also acts as an index for the Mental Measurement Yearbook series.C. Test Critiques. (Ref. BF 176 .T419 1984; kept on Test Reviews Table)
An on-going series that provides reviews of the "most frequently used psychological, educational and business tests." Entries vary from 3 to 10 pages or more and contain introduction, sections on practical applications and technical aspects, critique and short bibliography.D. Tests: A Comprehensive Reference for Assessments in Psychology, Education and Business, by R.C. Sweetland. (Ref. BF 176 .T43 1991)
A quick reference guide to several thousand tests. Includes statement of test’s purpose, description of the test with format, variables measured, materials used, cost, and availability.E. Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques. (Ref. HQ 728 .H267 2001; 3 volumes)
Almost 1,400 tests from as early as 1929 through 1996 are abstracted in volumes 1 and 2. Volume 3 reproduces in full with scoring instructions 168 of the more recent instruments.
ARTICLES
I. Databases
A. PsycINFO - 1887 to present. An index to journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations in psychology and related fields. Produced by the American Psychological Association. Print component: Psychological Abstracts. (Ref. BF 1. P65, 1927-1998).
B. PsycARTICLES – 1985 to present. Full-text articles from 50+ peer-reviewed psychology journals.
C. MEDLINE - 1966 to present. Provides information found in the medical literature on neuroscience, psychiatry, and mental health. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Print component: Cumulated Index Medicus (Ref. R 100 .A1 I422, 1927-2000).D. Social Sciences Abstracts – 1983 to present. Contains abstracts of articles and book reviews in the social sciences. Produced by the Wilson Company. Print component: Social Sciences Index (Ref. AI 3 .R49(3), 1965-1998).
E. Health Reference Center Academic - 1980 to the present. Contains information on alcohol and drug abuses, pregnancy, nutrition, and other health topics. Many articles are available fulltext.
F. Web of Science/Social Science Citation Index – 1980 to present.
G. ABI/Inform – 1971 to present. Provides abstracts and some fulltext to articles in the fields of personnel, human resource management, and organizational psychology.
H. Lexis/Nexis – links to business, legal, and news fulltext articles.
II. Does OU have the journal I need?
Check The Library Catalog by doing a Journal Title search.
Print journals are located on the 4th floor by call number.
Current issues are located on 4th floor Current Journals Room.
For electronic journals, follow the "Internet Link" from the Library Catalog record or use the “E-Journals A to Z” list on the Find Articles page.
III . E-Journal and E-Book Collections
A. JSTOR - full-image access to back issues of several hundred scholarly journals
B. Science Direct - full-image access to hundreds of scholarly journals in the sciences
C. Project MUSE - full-image articles from the John Hopkins University Press and other publishers; items mainly in the humanities.
D. NetLibrary - a collection of E-Books
I V. Document Access - finding materials that are not at OU
A. MelCat – Michigan eLibrary Catalog; participating Michigan libraries.
B. Interlibrary Loan - 7-10 days, initiate requests through KL web site.
C. Borrowing Privileges - to check out materials from these area libraries, activate your library card at the library's Circulation Desk, then take your driver's license and OU student ID to:
Lawrence Technological Univ., Macomb Community College, Oakland Community College (county residents only), University of Detroit-Mercy, University of Michigan- Dearborn, Walsh College
WEB SITES
American Psychological Association (http:// www.apa.org)
APA Style.org (http://apastyle.apa.org)
PsychGrad.Org (http://psychgrad.org/)
Psychological Research on the Net (http://psych.hanover.edu/research/exponnet.html)
Association for Psychological Science (http://www.psychological science.org)
National Institute of Mental Health (http://www.nimh.nih.gov)
RESEARCH CONSULTATIONS
If you need help using these resources, request a research consultation by filling out the form on the Ask a Librarian web page or call the Reference Desk (248-370-4426). You and a librarian can spend thirty minutes to an hour using these resources to find information on your topic.
For further information, ask at the Reference Desk.
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426