Pre-Columbian Art

By: Daniel F Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


See also Latin American History, especially the Encyclopedias as they contain essays on art. For general sites and links to indexes, see Art History.


ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND OVERVIEWS

Grove Art Online

Pre-Columbian Art and Architecture - This is a lengthy essay from History.com.

Pre-Columbian Art and Architecture - This is a five-page overview with links to other sites.

Pre-Columbian Art and Architeture- This is an extensive essay from Encarta.

Pre-Columbian Art and Architecture - This site is about five pages with some links.


SUBJECT HEADINGS

The subject headings for the Library Catalog are Indian Art Central America; Indian Art Mexico and Indian Art. You will not find anything under "Pre-Columbian Art."


SEARCH ENGINES

Pre-Columbian Art Search


RESOURCES

Index Pre-Columbian Art and Architecture - This is an important site. It contains links to geography, chronology, kinds of art, cultural traits, etc., each of which opens up to essays.

Voice of the Shuttle - This site contains an extensive listing of links on Pre-Columbian Art.

Jay I. Kislak Foundation - Good for images and references.

ArtLex - This site is good for images.

Pre-Columbian Art and History - This an outstanding collection of sites covering the Maya, Olmec, Aztec and Inca.

Pre-Columbian Art Of Mesoamerica: Art History Resources - Covers general history and art history for Mesoamerica and links to museums.

Taino: Pre-Columbian Art and Culture from the Caribbean

The Native Arts of the Americas and Oceania

IMAGES

CAMIO

"OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online - is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed."

CAMIO includes ...

 


Created on 1/29/08 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 8/8/08 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions