Physics

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


GUIDES

Information Sources in Physics. (Ref. QC 21.2 .A1 I535 1994)

Here's a place to go when you don't know where you're going! Each chapter is devoted to a specific sub-field of physics, e.g., atomic and molecular physics, crystallography. A typical chapter will list books, periodicals, conference reports, databases and provide evaluative annotations for the citations. Pay particular attention to Chapters 2 through 4: "The scope and control of physics and its literature"; "Science libraries, reference material and general treatises"; and "Abstracting, indexing and on-line services."
 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

Encyclopedia of Physics. (Ref. QC 5 .E546 1985)
This is an excellent one-volume encyclopedia. The articles are long, signed and include cross references.

Encyclopedia of Physics. (Ref. QC 5 .E545 1991)
Signed articles, often lengthy, written by authorities. Includes bibliographies, cross-references, and index.

Encyclopedia of Applied Physics. (Ref. QC 5 .E543 1991)
Twenty-three volumes in length, this set "treats those areas of physics that have already found technical applications" or promise to do so in the future.

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics. (Ref. QC 5 .M15 1996)
While intended for a broad range of readers, this four-volume set is actually written for people with more than a smattering knowledge of physics. Articles are comprehensive and include bibliographies. Each volume has a list of abbreviations and notational symbols.

How Things Work: The Physics of Everyday Life. (Ref. QC 21.2 .B59 1997)
Contains 51 sections, grouped into 19 chapters, which discuss how a particular thing works. The chapters are arranged according to major physics themes.

The Facts on File Dictionary of Physics. (Ref. QC 5 .F34 1981)
About 2,000 entries for the most commonly used terms in physics. Includes a list of chemical elements and conversion factors.

A New Dictionary of Physics. (Ref. QC 5 .G7 1975)
This is an excellent work, both for the general public and for physicists. Entries are usually brief, but some are one-half page. Quantitative data are especially noteworthy and include symbols for physical quantities; fundamental constants; Nobel Prize winners in physics, and the usual conversion tables.

Dictionary of Effects and Phenomena in Physics. (Ref. QC 5 .S3513 1987)
Presents an overview of about 400 effects and phenomena, a bibliography, a chronology of effects and information about the discoveries of effects.

Handbuch der Physik = Encyclopedia of Physics. (Ref. QC 21 .H35)
"The most important work to cover the literature of physics." Articles are extremely comprehensive and contain extensive bibliographic references. Over 80% of the articles are in English, the remainder German and French.

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Physics and Mathematics. (Ref. QC 5 .M23)
Short definitions, each of which is preceded by an abbreviation denoting the fields in which they are used. Appendices include special features such as: schematic electronic symbols, special mathematical constants, etc.

A Dictionary of Scientific Units. (Ref. QC 82 .J4 1980)
Four hundred entries, alphabetically arranged. Appendices include fundamental physical constants; standardization committees and references; tables of weights and measures; and conversion tables.

Concise Dictionary of Physics and Related Subjects. 2nd ed. (Ref. QC 5 .T5 1979)
". . . consists of short definitions of terms which are each restricted to one concept." Scope includes Astronomy, Medical Physics, Biophysics, Physical Chemistry, etc. Appendices include Symbols of the Elements; S I Units; Conversions & Equivalents; Values of Some Fundamental Physical Constants.

Encyclopaedic Dictionary of Physics. (Ref. QC 5 .E52)
Nine volumes plus five supplements. Volume 8 is a subject and author index, Volume 9 is a multilingual glossary. Contains signed articles ranging from a few lines to 3,000 words. Supplements contain survey articles on "new topics" in physics.

The Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy. (Ref. QC 450.3 .P47 1995)
Topics are arranged alphabetically.

Encyclopedia of Spectroscopy and Spectrometry.   (Ref. QD 95 .E55 2000)

Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics. (Ref. QB 14 .E525 2001)
This is a multi-volume text.

The Astronomy and Astrophysics Encyclopedia. (Ref. QB 14 .A873 1992)


Here are some online glossaries:

Glossary of Nuclear Science Terms

Glossary of Radiation Terms

Advanced Mechanics

Particle Accelerator

Elementary Particle Physics

ABBREVIATIONS

Dictionary of Physics & Mathematics Abbreviations, Signs & Symbols. (Ref. QC 5 .D55)
"This dictionary is a compilation of . . . abbreviations, signs and letter symbols in general use in physics and mathematics." It is arranged by abbreviation; letter symbols; mathematical signs and symbols; abbreviations for government and military departments; and tables on chemical elements and Roman numerals.
 

HANDBOOKS

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics. (Ref. QD 65 .H3)
Sections include Mathematical Tables, the Elements and Inorganic Compounds, Organic Compounds, General Chemicals, General Physical Constants and Miscellaneous.

Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics Handbook. (QC 173 .A827 1996).
"Covers the key ideas, techniques and formulas of atomic, molecular and optical physics."

Handbook of Thermal Conductivity of Liquids and Gases. (Ref. QC 145.4 .T5 S67 1994)
Covers almost all the data on thermal conductivity of pure liquids and gases.

CRC Handbook of Thermophysical & Thermochemical Data. (Ref. QC 173.397 .L53 1994)

CRC Handbook of Lasers. (Ref. TK 7871.3 .C25)
This volume seeks to "collect and present critically evaluated original data. . . that are relevant to laser research and development." Arranged by broad subject, e.g., Dye Lasers, Molecular Gas Lasers, etc.  

Handbook of Optics. (Ref. QC 369 .H35)
Arranged by broad subject, e.g., Radiometry and Photometry. "Tables and graphs contain data that are applicable to many optical problems involving the ultra violet, visible, and infrared spectral regions." Chapters include explanatory text and references.  

American Institute of Physics Handbook. (Ref. QC 61 .A5 1972)
Provides authoritative information on various aspects of physics such as acoustics, heat, etc.  

Reference Data on Atoms, Molecules and Ions. (Ref. QC 173 .R2613 1985)
Contains information about the structure and properties of atoms and molecular particles.

The Cambridge Handbook of Physics Formulas.   (Ref. QC 61 .W67 2000) 
 

TABLES

Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants and Some Mathematical Funcitons.   (Ref. QC 61 .K3 1986)
Provides current tables both in physics and chemistry for specialist and scientist. See also Formulas, Facts & Constants (Ref. QC 61 .F58 1987) and A Physicist's Desk Reference (Ref. QC 61 .F58 1987).

Table of Isotopes. (Ref. QD 466 .L37 1968)
This volume consists largely of two tables. Table 1 "displays all radioactive and stable nuclei arranged according to atomic number with increasing mass number for each element." Six columns lists the Isotope; Half-Life; Type of Decay; Class; Major Radiation; Principal Means of Production. Table 2, "Detailed Nuclear Level Properties," gives the type of information on nuclear states and transitions between these states familiar to spectroscopists. "This table, in turn, provides information on tabulated data and decay schemes. . . ." The volume includes a bibliography and several appendices.

Basic Tables in Physics. (Ref. QC 61 .H6)
"The most common computational tools of the physicist are collected in the first four sections. . . . The remaining sections contain the more commonly needed 'facts about the real world', classified according to conventional areas of interest in physics: mechanics, atomic energy, thermal properties of matter, thermodynamics. . . ."

Landolt-Bornstein Zahlenwerte und Funktionen aus Naturwissenschaft und Technik = Numerical Data and Functional Relationships in Science and Technology. (Ref. QC 61 .L33)
Includes a great deal of material of use to physicists, particularly in the fields of astrophysics, atomic and nuclear physics, and solid state physics.

Gas Tables. (Ref. QC 161.5 .K43 1983)
Provides data on the thermodynamic properties of air.
 
 

ABSTRACTS AND INDEXES

Applied Science and Technology Index. (Index Ref. TA 1 .A1 A5; have hardbound 1958-1997. Available online 1983-current . Click on  ASTA.
Indexes some of the major English language physics journals, e.g., Journal of Physics, Physics Today, etc. Subject index only.

Physics Abstracts (formerly Science Abstracts, Section A - Physics) (Index Ref. QC 1 .P46)
OU owns 1941 through 1992. Published monthly with annual cumulative subject and author indexes. Indexes periodicals, reports, books, dissertations, patents and conference papers. Monthly issues are arranged by a numerical classification scheme, i.e., Relativity and Gravitation, 0400; annual subject indexes are alphabetically arranged. International coverage.

Science Citation Index. (Index Ref. Q 1 .A1 S2; OU owns 1961-1999 in print format)
This computer-generated index is an invaluable title as it allows the researcher to combine one or two concepts from an article's title. Indexes cover 2000 international journals and monographic series. Arranged in 3 parts: Permuterm Subject, Source, and Citation. Consult with a librarian on how to use it. Many articles dealing with physics can now be found on Web of Science.  See also individual titles under Electronic Journals.  One more browser is the  Office of Scientific and Technical Information which searches journal articles in two different sources:  Scirus and Energy Citations Database.
 
ScienceDirect.   Provides full-text articles to 90 journals.

DARTS offers full text of NTIS publications. (In library use only).

Engineering Village Indexes engineering journals 1969- with some links to full text articles.

INTERNET SOURCES

Ready Reference

College Physics for Students of Biology and Chemistry

Unit Converter

Web Elements

The Laws List. Laws, principles, rules,etc in physics.

The "Virtual" Physics Center. This book is kind of like an on-line CRC.

Symbols Used in Problems

Nobel Laureates in Physics

Contribution of Twentieth Century Women to Physics

Tables of Physical Data

Physics reference Tables

Physics and Astronomy Reference

Reference Tables for Physical Setting

 

Resources

DC Physics Here are some links you will find:

  • Animations / Simulations
  • Books
  • Books - Humor
  • Employment
  • General Physics
  • Hobby Physics
  • Humor - Physics
  • Humor - Math
  • Journals and Magazines
  • Lecture Notes
  • News Sources
  • Reference Desk (tables, constants, etc)
  • Research Papers in Physics
  • Software (download shareware & freeware)
  • Textbooks (online)
  • Tutorials (online)

Help for Physics Students

Physics 2000 - ". . . an interactive journey through modern physics!" Covers three main headings: Einstein's legacy; the atomic lab and science trek.

Physics Central covers six main areas: people in physics; physics in pictures; physics news; physics links; how something works; and essays from physics authors.

Physics.org - Interactive sites that explain the general universe.

PhysNet - This site is good for links to physics departments worldwide, conferences and jobs

Einstein Light - Presents the idea of relativity.

National Climatic Data Center - Focuses on archives of weather and climate data.

American Nuclear Society - Covers:  Membership Information; Constituencies; Honors and Awards; Career Center; Organization Members; Advertising; Public Information; Meetings; Publications; Standards; ANS Store; Nuclear Links.

Meta Sites

Yahoo's Physics

Internet Public Library's Physics Resources
 
Virtual Library:  Physics 

NIST Virtual Library
 


Created on 12/12/06 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 8/8/08 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions