eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

Nursing

By: Julia Rodriguez
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2490
E-mail: juliar@oakland.edu
Ask A Librarian
Feel free to call, email, chat, or stop by the reference desk if you have questions.


STYLE MANUAL
 

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Ref. BF 76.7 .P83 2010

American Medical Association Manual of Style. Ref. R 119. A533 2007

DICTIONARIES AND ENCYCLOPEDIAS
 

The following selection represents some of the many dictionaries and encyclopedias in the library associated with Nursing.

Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions . 2009 online via Credo Reference; 2002 in print, Ref. R 121. M89 2002

Encyclopedic definitions for many key terms and tabular color atlas of Human anatomy and physiology. Appendices include language translation guides, NANDA-approved nursing diagnoses, guidelines relating to patients from different cultures, assessment guides and information on nutrition, pediatrics, pharmacology, communicable diseases and DSM-IV classifications.


Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health.
Ref. RT 21 .G353 2002


Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Allied Health
. Ref. R 121 .M65 1997

This medical dictionary is specially oriented to the nurses' point of view, offering, in many instances, directions for patient care. It is illustrated and includes a pronunciation guide for all but the most common words. Other features are a short anatomy guide with color atlas and a comprehensive appendix providing useful information.


International Dictionary of Medicine and Biology
. Ref. R 121 .I58 1986 (3 v.)

By far the most copious and complete of the medical dictionaries, this work defines 151,000 terms put together by an extraordinary team of experts. In addition to defining the terms, the dictionary gives etymologies (or word derivations) for many terms as well, and notes on usage including incorrect usage. This is the most exhaustive and scholarly work on the definitions of medical terms we are likely to see. It is not the source to go for clinical or diagnostic information.


Lippincott's Visual Encyclopedia of Clinical Skills.
Ref. RT 21 .L57 2009

 

Other important medical dictionaries include:

Black's Medical Dictionary. (also available in print, Ref. R 121 .B598 2006)

Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing . Ref. R 121 .S8 2008

American Heritage Medical Dictionary. (2007)

 

HANDBOOKS OF NURSING

Clinical Nursing Skills and Techniques. Ref. RT 51 .P365 2006

Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests: With Nursing Implications. Print version, Ref. RB 38.2 .S36 2003

Diagnostics: An A-to-Z Guide to Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures. Ref. RT 48.5 .D54 2001

Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual. Ref. RT 48.5 .D54

Emergency Nursing Procedures. Ref. RT 120 .E4 A285 2009

Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis. Ref. RT 48.6 .C385 2008

Handbook of Nursing Procedures. Ref. RT 51 .H365 2001

Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures. Ref. RB 38.2 .L33 2008

Nurses' Manual of Laboratory Tests and Diagnostic Procedures. Print version, Ref. RB 38.2 .M34 2000

Nurse's 5-Minute Clinical Consult. Ref. RT 82.8 .N874 2008

Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice. Ref. RT 85.5 .A47 2005

Nursing Diagnosis Reference Manual. Ref. RT 48.6 .S66 2005

Nursing Outcomes Classification (NOC). Ref. RT 85.5 .N864 2008

Prentice Hall Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests: With Nursing Implications. Ref. RB 38.2 .K44 2005

Rapid Assessment: A Flowchart Guide to Evaluating Signs and Symptoms. Ref. RT 48 .R364 2004
 

DRUG HANDBOOKS
 

These works list the chemical makeup, clinical uses, dosage levels, contraindications, side effects and other information regarding drugs.

Mosby's Drug Guide for Nurses. Ref. RM 301.12 .S56 2009 plus CD at Circ. Desk on Ref. Reserve.

Nurse's Drug Handbook. Ref. RM 125 .N87 2009

PDR Nurse's Drug Handbook. Ref. RM 125 .C34 S668 2006
Current clinical information on drugs including dosage, adverse reactions and interactions.

The Physicians' Desk Reference. Ref. RS 75 .P5
Compendium of official FDA approved prescription drug-labels. Includes product identification, description and drug manufacturers.

The Physicians' Desk Reference for Nonprescription Drugs. Ref. RS 250 .P52
These sources are based solely on information provided by drug manufacturers. They include indexes by manufacturer, product name, generic and chemical name, as well as pictorial product identification section.

Drug Information Portal. From the National Library of Medicine.

 

PERIODICAL INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS
 

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

This online database covers nursing, allied health and health related journals and is an excellent place to start researching the periodical literature on nursing, from specific diseases to nursing history, to issues in the profession, such as burnout and sexism.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

More than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.

Health Reference Center - Academic 1980-present.

Provides full text articles in nursing and allied health from at least 40 of the 320 or so journals covered.

Alt-Health Watch

Index with full text on alternative health care.

Medline. 1965-present.

This online database by the National Library of Medicine is the most comprehensive index to the medical literature available. Using the NLM List of Subject Headings is crucial to making effective use of this valuable resource. Medline is available via FirstSearch. The database contains summaries of the articles as well as the citations themselves. Also includes citations in "special list" journals that are indexed in the International Nursing Index.

Cochrane Library.

Seven databases on healthcare decision-making.

PsycINFO & PsycARTICLES (1887- present)

Covers psychology and psychological aspects of nursing and is available through FirstSearch.  
 

SUGGESTED INTERNET SITES
 

American Nurses Association (ANA)

Professional organization that represents registered nurses in all 53 States and provides nursing information including analysis of healthier issues, as well as web links to federal offices, agencies and legislative sites.

Michigan Nurses Association (MNA)

Professional organization of registered nurses in Michigan that addresses their practical, political and professional issues.  

NLM LOCATOR PLUS

Maintained by the National Library of Medicine, this database provides a variety of medical information including their online catalog as well as links to their other resources such as Medline and MedlinePlus (Consumer Health).

National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR)

This site is part of the National Institute of Health and covers nursing topics from News to Research projects and Education.


 

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION ASK AT THE REFERENCE DESK.



Created on 12/12/06 by Beth Kraemer; / Last updated on 2/4/13 by Beth Kraemer
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website