| Future Students | Current Students | Faculty & Staff | Alumni | Visitors | Help / Search | OAKLAND UNIVERSITY |
| About OU | Academics | Research | Arts | Athletics | Library | IT | Administration | Jobs | News |
| By: | Daniel
F Ring Assistant Professor |
Phone: (248)
370 2498 E-mail: ring@oakland.edu |
See also the pathfinders: Art History and Pre-Columbian Art
REFERENCE BOOKS
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art. (Ref. E 98 .A7 W49 2000) Short essays covering aborigine art.
Native America in the Twentieth Century. (Ref. E 76.2 .N36 1994) There is a good essay on art with many cross references.
Encyclopedia of North American Indians. (Ref. E 76.2 .E53 1996) Extensive essays on arts, pre-1960 and post 1960.
Encyclopedia of American Indian Costume. (Ref. E 98 .C8 P37 1994)
History of the Indian Tribes of the United States. (Ref. E 77 .S383 1975a) This is a six-volume set and there are sections on the arts in each volume.
SUBJECT HEADINGS
Use Indian Art North America in the Library Catalog.
PERIODICAL INDEXES
There are several indexes to choose from in the Art History pathfinder.
INTERNET SOURCES
Encyclopedias
Encarta - Lengthy essay on native American Art.
Grove Art Online - This site is a great place to begin your research. Notice the search engine.
Images
Camio Art Museum Images
"CAMIO ® — OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed "
Museum Collections
Eiteljorg Museum of Indian and Western Art
National Museum of the American Indian
Essays
Four Thousand Years of Native American Cave Art in the Southern Appalachians - This is a scholarly article by Charles H Faulkner.
Resources
The Native Arts of the Americas and Oceania
Art by Native Americans - Covers artists, galleries and many other sites.
Voice of the Shuttle - An extensive listing of sites, chronologically arranged.
Native American Web Sites - Here is another extensive listing of sites including some museums not noted above.
Understanding Native American Art - There are twelve lessons in this course outline, each of which has an extensive essay.
North American Native Art Websites - Covers:
- Art Canada: First Nations
Links to funding sources for Candian Native Artists
- ArtNatAm - Native American Art Exhibit*
A juried collection of Native Art. Includes attempt to define what a Native American Artists is. (primarily tribal/registered)
- Daphne Odjig (Beavon) Odawa Manitoulin Woodland Painter
- Discovering Native American Art
Promo site for a book of the same name
- Free Spirit Gallery
Eskimo Inuit Art - Northwest Native Art
- Indian House
A Taos New Mexico site specializing in traditional native music
- Institute of American Indian Arts
A First Nation art college in Sante Fee, New Mexico
- Manitoulin Island and Native American Woodland-Legend Painting
Features Manitoulin Island as the birthplace of legend art painting.
- Martin Panamick, 1956-1977
Features the disturbing story of Native Artist Martin Panamik, an AIM supporter who died under questionable circumstances at age 20.
- Migrations
Deal in Native American Art, crafts, and collectibles
- Native American ArtPages MENU
Links to 300 other Native Art/Culture sites
- Native American Indian -- Art, Culture, Education, History. Very eclectic set of Native links
- Native Art: Photos
Links to photos of North American Indians
- Native Arts Trading
Native American Indian heritage for today's world in Europe.
- NativeTech: Native American Technology and Art
- Norval Morrisseau:
Inclues bio and Works of Norval Marriseau and includes links to other Woodland style artists, Daphne Odjig, etc.
- Powersource Native American Art & Education Center
Presents what is described as Native artistic symbols of powerful symbols, places and people. Includs an eclectic set of links to other Native art/culture sites
- Resources for Indian Schools: Native American Art DEFINITIONS
Features academic/legal issues related to Native art
- The Finer Arts
Saskatchewan artists, mostly aboriginal with a secondary focus on aboriginal culture, education and art history
Pacific Nortwest Native American Art Carvings - This is a video from YouTube.
Tracy Mark's Native American Art Bookmarks - This is large collection of sites with some organization, such as museums, native art, northern, southern, etc.
Native American Art Links - Covers:
Native American Art Sites Native American Artists Trading Posts Products Music Personal homepages General Interest General art Language, geneology & tribal Cowboy & Western Political Spiritual WWW Virtual Library American Indians Index of Native American Art Related Exhibits on the Internet - Search engine allows you to search by state, tribe or key word.
Native American Indian Art - Covers:
- Definition of Indian, Native, Indigenous Artist; Native American Arts and Crafts Act; Philosophy of Inclusion Here
- Beads and Beadworking techniques -- Honoring elder Maud Kegg
- Norval Morrisseau, Daphne Odjig, Legend Painting -- Canadian Ojibwe, Woodland painters
- Pottery, Clay Sculpture --Honoring Nora Naranjo-Morse
- 3 Pottery Books Review-essay that's self-guided Internet student research project -- or trip
- American Indian Artists (U.S. Tribes) -- Honoring Oglala Lakota Vic Runnels
- Minnesota Indian Artists -- Honoring Patrick DesJarlait
- Indigenous Textiles, Clothing and Regalia
- Young People's Art (local) and BIA Young People art gallery
- History in Poster & Button Art
- Texts: Essays and Book Reviews about Native Art
- Web Galleries Featuring Indigenous People's Art for Sale
- Photography -- old historic and current news photos as well as Art Photography by Native People
- Basketry -- history, environmental problems, plants, galleries
- Picture stories -- ledger, robe, comix art by Native artists
- Indigenous Art Resources on the Internet --Compiled by Karen Strom on the Hanksville server
- Native American Fine Arts Movement (Heard Museum) --Complete text, curriculum guide, illustrations, special offers for teachers
- Index of Southwestern Indian artists whose work and writeups reside on Hanksville
- Native Art Museums and Museum Exhibits -- web pages from real, physical institutions you can visit
- Links to non-Indian museums and Galleries for Comparison and Studying Techniques; the indefatigable Bill Henderson's elegant presentation is linked-to for this. Be sure to check out the huge Virtual Louvre.
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426