eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

Three Centuries of Drama

Contents
Three Centuries of Drama includes every important play published in the English language in England from 1500-1800 and in the United States from 1741-1830. The collection is divided into six divisions: English 1500-1641, English 1642-1700, English 1701-1750, English 1751-1800, the Larpent Collection and American.

What can be found in Three Centuries of Drama
Plays, often in multiple differing versions, by the following playwrights among many others:

  • Christopher Marlowe
  • Constantia
  • George Farquhar
  • Thomas Heywood
  • James Shirley
  • William Shakespeare

Using & Searching Three Centuries of Drama
This collection is organized by division (for example: English 1642-1700) and then alphabetically by author within each division. The outsides of the boxes only indicate the division; they do not provide an alphabetical range of what is inside, so it is necessary to look at the cards in the box to determine which one is needed.

The best option for searching the contents of the collection is to use WorldCat and add “Three Centuries of Drama” to the search string as a Series Title.

WorldCatSearch2

 

The search result record indicates which division of the collection the item is held in. The play can then be located in the microcards by going to the correct division and finding the author’s last name (or the play title when the author is not known) within the alphabetical organization.

 

WorldCatResults

 

Index to the Collection
Listed below is the print index to the collection, which can also be used for searching the contents.

Three Centuries of English and American Plays, A Checklist (Bergquist) (PN 6110.5 .W3 Index) is arranged alphabetically by author’s last name and by title within the author. If the playwright is unknown, the play will be listed alphabetically by title or alternate title. Further, cross references are provided for variant names, titles and spellings. The Checklist provides the division in which the title will be found.


Created on 10/22/08 by Heidi Steiner/mj / Last updated on 2/4/13 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website