Microcard Collection
| By: |
Heidi Steiner
MLIS Intern |
Phone: (248)
370-4426
E-mail: ref@oakland.edu |
What are Microcards?
Microcards are a type of microform, just like microfiche and microfilm, which feature reproductions of resources including pamphlets, brochures, plays, newspapers and even entire books in condensed scale.
When would Microcards be useful for research?
The resources reproduced on microcards can be extremely useful primary source documents. The types of documents made available in most of these collections cannot be found anywhere else in the library or online.
Where can I find the Microcard Collection in Kresge Library?
The Microcard Collection is located on the 1st floor in room 143. The microcards are housed in boxes on the east wall next to the microfilm cabinets. Organizations of the microcards vary by collection. Examining the outside of a box will indicate a date range of what is held within and each collection has some sort of internal organization, whether it be chronological or alphabetical by author.
How do I use Microcards?
Microcards cannot be read without the aid of microform readers, which magnify the image on the card and project it onto a screen. The readers are located on the 1st floor in room 143. For instructions on how to use the Microcard readers, click here.
Kresge’s readers are not hooked up to printers, however, so the microcards can also be examined and printed by using a scanner. This then allows users to scan a microcard, zoom in on the desired image and print, save or e-mail the document. Click here for instructions on how to use the scanner in the Kresge Library Computer Lab for scanning microcards.
If you need help searching the contents of any of the collections, remember you can always ask a reference librarian for assistance. If you need assistance using the readers, scanning or printing, you can seek help from librarians or ask at the Circulation Desk.
The Collection
This is just a miniscule portion of the U.S. Government Publications available through Kresge Library. Visit the Government Documents Research Guide for more information.
Created on
10/22/08 by
Heidi Steiner/mj
/ Last updated on
2/4/13 by
mj