eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

Early American Imprints

 

Contents

Featuring the full text of all known existing books, pamphlets, broadsides, almanacs, scores and other materials published in what is now the United States from 1639-1819, Early American Imprints comprises about half of Kresge Library’s Microcard Collection.

Some examples of what can be found in Early American Imprints include…

  • Writings by past Presidents including John Adams, John Quincy Adams and Thomas Jefferson
  • Multiple versions of Daniel Defoe’s Robinson Crusoe
  • Thousands of sermons
  • Various essays and other writings by Ben Franklin
  • Trial documents, orations and sermons in reaction to the Boston Massacre
  • Almanacs co-authored by Captain John Smith
  • …and a whole lot more!

Using & Searching Early American Imprints
This collection is organized into two series and each entry is given a corresponding number (Evans number). The boxes are clearly labeled Series I or II and indicate the number range held within.

The most effective way to search the collection is by searching WorldCat . When doing so, add “Early American Imprints” to the search string as a Series Title.

WorldCatScreen

 

The search result states whether the work is in Series I or II and also gives the Evans Number. The work can then be found by locating the box containing that Evans number.

WorldCatScreen

 

Print Resources and Indexes to the Collection
All of the titles listed here can be found in the 2nd floor Reference Section

Listed below are the print indexes to the collection, which are also an option for searching the contents. If an item is found in the print sources, record the provided Evans Number and locate the coordinating series and box in the Microcard Collection.

American Bibliography (Evans) (Z 1215 .E92), on which Series I is based, is ordered chronologically. Within each year, the entries are listed alphabetically by author’s last name. If the author is not known, the work is listed by title, alternate title or first line. Each entry is assigned an Evans Number in order of appearance. Volume 14 of the series is an Index, which with Series I of the Microcard Collection.

Supplement to Charles Evans' American Bibliography (Bristol) (Z 1215 .E92334), completes Evans’s work through 1800 and is included in Series I of the Microcard Collection as well. The supplement also has its own alphabetical author-title index: Index to Supplement to Charles Evans’ American Bibliography (Z 1215 .E923342).

National Index of American Imprints through 1800; the Short-title Evans (Shipton & Mooney) (Z 1215 .E92335) serves as an index to both American Bibliography and Bristol’s Supplement (Series I of the Microcard Collection).

American Bibliography, a preliminary checklist for 1801-1819 (Shaw & Shoemaker) (Z 1215 .S48) on which Series II is based, is organized just like the Evans text and continues to assign Evans numbers, but restarts the numbering at 1 and coordinates with Series II of the Microcard Collection. Volume 21 of the series is a Title Index and Volume 22 is an Author Index.

American Music 1698-1800: an Annotated Bibliography (Heard) (ML120.U5 H4) is a guide to all of the entries in Series I pertaining to music. The listings in the resource are chronological by year and provide the corresponding Evans Number. There is also an alphabetical index in the back of the text for easy searching.


Created on 10/22/08 by Heidi Steiner/mj / Last updated on 2/4/13 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website