Medieval, Byzantine, Romanesque and Gothic Art

By: Daniel F Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 3702498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


This pathfinder will cite only Internet sources. For print sources and periodical indexes the reader is directed to Medieval History and Art History .

RESOURCES

Outline of Art History - Medieval to Early Renaissance Art

Grove Art Online

Art Images for College Teachers

Early Christianity and Late Antiquity

Early Christian Art Images of churches and Sarcophagus.

Gallery of Early Christian and Byzantine Art This is tour of the holdings of the Cleveland Museum of Art.

Medieval

Images of Medieval Art and Architecture Includes 3000 images, mostly religious. Also a glossary.

Medieval Art Links Covers: Early Christian, Byzantine, Islamic, Early Medieval, Romanesque, Gothic

Medieval Art This site is alpha arranged by subject, e.g., Byzantine Art, Medieval Art, etc.

Voice of the Shuttle You might have to scroll up a bit. Includes Byzantine, Romanesque, Gothic and general sources.

Medieval Art This is an encyclopedia site. Scroll down and you will see many links arranged by topics.

Labyrinth This site has links to Gothic and Romanesque resources.

Medieval Art This is a large collection of sites with no arrangement.

Early Medieval Art Links to early Medieval, Romanesque and general resources.

Netserf Covers sculpture, painting, murals.

Metropolitan Museum of Art Use the search feature, i.e., medieval art.

Windows in Church Architecture This is an essay from the Catholic Encyclopedia; many links.

Sources for Medieval Art on the WWW Covers sculpture, stained glass, manuscripts, etc.

Byzantium

Byzantine Art This is an encyclopedia type resource with many links to artists and works of art.

Byzantine Art From the Catholic Encyclopedia, this site is an essay.

The Power of Symbolism in Byzantine Art This site is an essay.

Byzantine and Medieval Links Index This site is a vast collection of resources arranged by topic and country. "This page attempts to track ALL Byzantine material on the Internet, and ALL significant entry points for Medieval studies. Ancient and Classical links, except insofar as they impinge directly on Byzantine and Western Medieval matters, should be sought out via the direct links provided to  ARGOS associates which track and maintain sites devoted to the Ancient world. a vast collection of resources arranged by topic and country."

Early Christian and Byzantine Art This site is good for icons.

Artcyclopedia This site is good for artists.

Early Christian and Byzantine Image Pages

Byzantine Art and Architecture This site is an overview with small bibliography.

Byzantine Art This is an encyclopedia type essay. No links. Some icons off to the right.

Byzantine Art This is a large collection of links arranged in no order. Also includes museums.

Byzantine Art and Architecture This is an encyclopedia type site.

Romanesque

Romanesque Art This site is an essay with many links.

Romanesque Art Resources for Medieval Art

Art History Resources on the Web: Romanesque This site is a large collection of images.

Gothic

Voice of the Shuttle This site lists general links and a few specfic to Italy.

ArtCyclopedia This site is good for artists.

Gothic Art and Architecture From Encarta, this site is an essay or overview of about 10 pages.

Glossary: Gothic Art and Architecture

Gothic Art and Architecture

Art History: Gothic This site is good for artists.

A History of the Gothic Period of Art and Architecture This site is an essay.

Gothic Art and Architecture Another essay with several links.

Artlex on the Gothic Period and Style This site is good for examples of Gothic art.

Gothic Art This essay on Gothic architecture is from the Metropoitan Museum of Art. It has several links and a bibliography.

Gothic Art and Architecture Links to history, painting, sculpture.

Images

Camio

"OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed."

CAMIO includes ...
  • Photographs
  • Prints
  • Sculpture
  • Paintings
  • Decorative Arts and Utilitarian Objects
  • Drawings and Watercolors
  • Costume and Jewelry
  • Textiles
  • Architecture
  • and more ...

 


Created on 7/12/07 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 8/8/08 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions