| Future Students | Current Students | Faculty & Staff | Alumni | Visitors | Help / Search | OAKLAND UNIVERSITY |
| About OU | Academics | Research | Arts | Athletics | Library | IT | Administration | Jobs | News |
| By: | Daniel
F. Ring Assistant Professor |
Phone: (248)
370-2498 E-mail: ring@oakland.edu |
See also Health Sciences and Nursing
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. (Ref. RC 41 .G35 2002; 5 volumes) Contains 1500 full length articles on common medical disorders.
The American Medical Association Family Medical Guide. (Ref. RC 81 .A543 2004) This user-friendly encyclopedia answers common questions about diseases and their symptoms. It also offers charts, instructions and essays concerning common medical considerations that would interest members in a typical family setting.
Magill's Medical Guide: Health and Illness. (Ref. RC 41 .M34 1995; 3 volumes) Three hundred seventy-five essays of varying length on major disorders of the human body.
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. (Ref. RC 46 .H333 2005) This is the best place to go when needing information on a disease or malady-it's what internists use when diagnosing a disease. The index is in the second volume.
The Merck Manual. (Ref. RC 55 .M4) Lists the diagnoses and therapies of several disorders in the medical field.
Encyclopedia of Cancer. (Ref. RC 262 .E558 2002; 4 volumes) One hundred sixty-three articles on different aspects of cancer including its "epidemiology, its treatment, and its molecular and genetic treatment.
The Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine. (Ref. R 733 .E496 1997) See also DK Encyclopedia of Healing Therapies (Ref. R 733 .W65 1997) and The Alternative Medicine Handbook (Ref. R 733 .C375 1998). See also IPL's site on Alternative Medicine.
Alternative Medicine, the Definitive Guide. (R 733 .A46 2002; 3rd floor)
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine. (Ref. R 733 .G34 2001) Four volumes in length, it provides 750 articles on therapies, diseases and herbs.
Encyclopedia of Nutrition and Good Health. (Ref. RA 784 .R646 2003) Follows an encyclopedia/dictionary format. Discusses eating disorders, obesity, addiction, dieting and weight loss, etc.
Encyclopedia of Mental Health. (Ref. RA 790 .E53 1998; 3 volumes) Lengthy articles. Considers the molecular, biological, social and cultural aspects of mental health.
Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation. (Ref. R 856 .A3 E53 2006) Six volumes of information on the subject.
Encyclopedia of Neuroscience. (Ref. RC 334 .E53 1987)
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology & Molecular Medicine. (Ref. QH 506 .E534 1996; 6 volumes) See also Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology (Ref. R 121 .J86 2002).
Encyclopedia of Immunology. (Ref. QR 180.4 .E56 1992)
Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders. (Ref. RC 552 .E18 C37 2006)
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Sleep Disorders. (Ref. RC 547 .Y34 2001)
Encyclopedia of Phobias, Fears and Anxieties. (Ref. RC 535 .D63 2000)
Encyclopedia of Depression. (Ref. RC 537 .R63 2001)
Encyclopedia of Alzheimer's Disease. (Ref. RC 523 .T87 2003)
Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and other Psychotic Disorders. (Ref. RC 514 .N63 2007)
Encyclopedia of Psychotherapy. (Ref. RC 475.7 .E55 2002)
Human Diseases and Conditions. (Ref. RC 81 .A2 H75 2000)
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology. (Ref. RA 418 .E354 2004)
Encyclopedia of Women's Health. (Ref. 778 .E5825 2004)
Encyclopedia of Senior Health and Well Being. (Ref. RC 952.5 K357 2003)
Encyclopedia of Men's Reproductive Cancer. (Ref. RC 280 .G52 T876 2005)
Encyclopedia of Women's Reproductive Cancer. (Ref. RC 280 .G5 T78 2005)
Encyclopedia of Breast Cancer. (Ref. RC 280 .B8 T876 2005)
Encyclopedia of Addictions and Addictive Behaviors. (Ref. RC 564 .G95 2006)
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology: Health and Illness in the World's Cultures. (Ref. RA 418 .E534 2004) Volume 1 is arranged by topics and volume 2 by cultures.
DICTIONARIES
Black's Medical Dictionary. (Ref. R 121 .B598 2006; also available electronically through the Library Catalog) A British dictionary to medical terminology.
Health Care Terms. (Ref. RA 423 .S55 2008)
Stedman's Medical Dictionary. (Ref. R 121 .S8 2008) Includes terms of essential value to the field of medicine. Comparative temperature scales, weights and measures, temperature equivalents, laboratory reference range values.
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary. (Ref. R 121 .T18 2005; also available electronically through the Library Catalog) Includes medical terminology and tables and illustrations relevant to the medical world. Also, a unique "Feature Finder" that helps the reader locate a particular anatomical part. It also explains what the use of the particular feature is in a separate section.
Oxford Dictionary of Sports Science and Medicine. (Ref. RC 1206 .O94 1994)
International Dictionary of Medicine and Biology. (Ref. R 121 .I58 1986)
Lexikon: Dictionary of Health Care Terms, Organizations and Acronyms. (Ref. RA 423 .L49 1998)
Current Med Talk. (Ref. R 121 .S4287 1995) "A dictionary of medical terms, slang and jargon."
Miller-Keane Encyclopedia and Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Allied Health. (Ref. R 121 .M65 1997)
Concise Dictionary of Biomedicine and Molecular Biology. (Ref. R 121 .J86 2002)
Yahoo has several dictionaries. Life Science Dictionary, On-Line Medical Dictionary, and Medical Dictionary are a few other choices.
PERIODICAL INDEX
Cumulated Index Medicus. (Ref. R 100 .A1 I422; available online via FirstSearch - database name: Medline) Published by the National Library of Medicine, indexes approximately 2,700 titles. The NLM List of Subject Headings is available and recommended for precise search. 1960-1994. The articles indexed in Medline are written by and for doctors. For more layman-type articles, use the Health Reference Center on InfoTrac Searchbank.
MEDICAL ABBREVIATIONS
Medical Abbreviations & Eponyms. (Ref. R 123 .S569 1997)
Davis Book of Medical Abbreviations. (Ref. R 123 .M54 1991)
Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations. (Ref. R 123 .J24 2001)
REVIEWS
Bibliography of Medical Reviews. (2nd Floor North Wing, Documents HE 20.3610/2:) This compilation of reviews of medical literature is arranged by subject for quick access to desired references. It offers multilingual coverage, and is good for perusal or immediate findings of reviews.
DIRECTORIES
The AHA Guide to the Health Care Field. (Ref. RA 977 .A1 A46) A directory to some of the leading health care institutions in the United States. AHA statistics are also a part of this directory.
Mosby's Medical, Nursing and Allied Health Dictionary. (Ref. R 121 .M89 2002) This directory includes units of measure, symbols, prefixes and suffixes, and history common knowledge to the disciplines of medicine.
See also AMA Physician Select.
HANDBOOKS
American Handbook of Psychiatry. (Ref. RC 435 .A562) Six volumes of information pertaining to important characteristics of psychiatry.
Poisoning and Toxicology Handbook. (Ref. RA 1215 .P65 2008)
Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens. (Ref. RA 1215 .S58 2008)
Handbook of Analytical Toxicology. (Ref. RA 1221 .H36 1975) Though older, may be helpful for gaining background information on the subject.
Lippincott's Cancer Chemotherapy Handbook. (Ref. RC 271 .C5 B37 2001)
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment 2000. (Ref. RC 71 .C8 2005)
Professional's Handbook of Complementary & Alternative Medicine. (Ref. R 733 .F477 2004) More than 325 common herbal medicines.
Merck Manual of Medical Information.
STATISTICS
Atlas of United States Mortality.
AHA Hospital Statistics. (Ref. RA 981 .A2 A6234 2005)
Statistical Record of Health and Medicine. (Ref. RA 407.3 .S83 1995)
Medical Statistics from A to Z. (Ref. RA 407 .E943 2006) This book provides definitions related to medical statistics.
DIAGNOSTIC TESTS
Laboratory Tests & Diagnostic Procedures. (Ref. RB 38.2 .L33 2008)
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference. (Ref. RB 38.2 .P337 2007)
Patient's Guide to Medical Tests. (Ref. RC 71 .P38 1997) Two parts. Part 1 contains references on patients' rights, role of screening, etc. Part 2 is arranged by disease or organ affected.
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders: DSM-IV; DSM-IV-TR. (Ref. RC 455.2 .C4 D54 1994; Ref. RC 455.2 .C4 D536)
DRUG INFORMATION
USP DI, Advice for the Patient. (Ref. RM 300 .U83)
Cancer Chemotherapy Handbook. (Ref. RC 271 .C5 K58 2003)
The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals. (Ref. RS 51 .M4 2006)
Physician's Desk Reference: PDR. (Ref. RS 75 .P5)
USP DI, Drug Information for the Health Care Provider. (Ref. RM 300 .U833)
Physician's Desk Reference for Nonprescription Drugs and Dietary Supplements. (Ref. RS 250 .P52; most recent ed. on reserve at Circulation Desk)
Handbook of Clinical Drug Data. (Ref. RM 301.12 .H36 2002)A to Z Drug Facts. (Ref. R 301.12 .A2 2001)
Encyclopedia of Addictive Drugs. (Ref. RM 316 .M555 2002)
Oncology Nursing Drug Handbook. (Ref. RC 271 .C5 W54)
DISEASES
Human Diseases and Conditions. (Ref. RC 81 .A2 H75 2000)
Professional Guide to Diseases. (Ref. RT 65 .P69 2005)
The Cambridge World History of Human Disease. (Ref. R 131 .C233 1993)
SYMPTOMS
Professional Guide to Signs & Symptoms. (Ref. RC 69 .P77 2007)
Complete Guide to Symptoms, Illness & Surgery. (Ref. RC 81 .G834 2006)
The Common Symptom Guide. (Ref. RC 69 .C76 1997)
STYLE MANUAL
American Medical Association Manual of Style. (Ref. R 119 .A533 2007) Details the AMA format for citing works and setting up papers.
MEDICAL SCHOOLS & MCAT
Medical School Admission Requirements. (Ref. R 745 .A8) Provides information useful for going through the process of applying for and getting accepted to medical school.
MCAT Premier Program. (R 838.5 .M323 2007; book, 3rd floor; CD, kept at Circ. Desk)
New MCAT Medical College Admission Test . (Ref. Reserve R 838.5 .B36 2007; may be checked out for 1 week period)
McGraw-Hill's New MCAT. (Ref. Reserve R 838.5 .M36 2007; book and CD; may be checked out for 1 week period)
Barron's Guide to Medical & Dental Schools. (Ref. R 690 .W558 2006)
Graduate Medical Education Directory. (Ref. R 840 .D56 2007-2008)
INTERNET SOURCES
Resources
The WWW Virtual Library: Medicine and Health
Internet Public Library's Health & Medical Science Resources
Hardin Meta Directory Provides links to diseases.
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426