eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

Literary Research Sources

By: Frank Lepkowski
Associate Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2497
E-mail: lepkowsk@oakland.edu
Ask A Librarian
Feel free to call, email, chat, or stop by the reference desk if you have questions.


Literary research in the library can take many forms besides looking for criticism. It may include looking for background information on an author's life and times, or the historical setting of a novel or poem; finding out the meaning of a literary allusion; or something as mundane as looking up a word in the dictionary. This short guide is intended to lead you to some of the most useful and interesting literary reference sources in Kresge Library.
 

THE AUTHOR'S WORDS

Language is the medium in which the author works. Therefore the essential reference book for literary research is the dictionary. Here's a short list of some of the best we have:

The Oxford English Dictionary. Second Edition. Ref.. PE 1625 .O87 1989

Known as the OED, this is the most complete historico-lexical study of any language in the world. It covers 616,500 word forms in English, providing complete etymological, morphological and historical information, including 2,400,000 quotations illustrating usage. To know what sense a word had during the era when an author used it, this is your source.

Dictionary of American English. Ref. PE 2835 .C72

This DAE was conceived as one of several supplements to the OED; it covers specifically American usages and meanings, and is historical in scope.

Dictionary of American Regional English.  Ref. PE 2843 .D52 1985

The DARE is a new project which aims to survey the full range of regional word use and meaning in the United States; two volumes have been published thus far. The best resource for words from regional or local dialects.

Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English. Ref. PE 3721 .P322

Covering primarily British slang this perennial favorite by the late Eric Partridge has gone through many editions, and is commonly referred to by his surname.

Dictionary of American Slang. Ref. PE 2846 .W4 1975

Does for America what Partridge does for England.
 

If, on the other hand, your question is not what did a particular word mean to the author, but rather, where does this word occur in the work, concordances exist for most major authors that will enable you to find it. Two extremely significant concordances for literature in English are:

Strong, James. Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible. Ref. BS 425 .S8 1963

Spevack, Marvin.   The Harvard Concordance to Shakespeare. Ref. PR 2892 .S62

To search for concordances in the library's online catalog, Voyager, search the author's name as a subject and then look for the subheading "concordances."
 

THE AUTHORS' LIVES

Biographical information about an author serves many uses not the least of which is simple curiosity. Knowing about the writer's life and times may help put his or her works in context. One way to find biographies is to look under the author's name as a subject in the library catalog (e.g., subject search: marvell andrew). For more concise information the following sources will help:

British Writers. Ref. PR 85 .B688
American Writers. Ref. PS 129 .A55
European Writers. Ref. PN 501 .E9 1983

Each of these gives a thorough account of important writers of the geographical area covered, including information on the life, discussion of the works, and a bibliography.

Dictionary of Literary Biography. Various call numbers in Reference.

This series is like the previous ones in covering authors' lives and works, with bibliographies, while including less famous figures, genre writers, and writers from specific ethnic and cultural groups. To find the entries in this series, search it as a title in Voyager.

Contemporary Authors. Ref. CT 104 .A1 C58-65

An exhaustive guide, international in scope, to writers currently living or recently deceased, including many who are not particularly literary in their aims or works. It gives summary biographical information and a list of works.
 

THE CRITIC'S WORDS

Often when reading literary criticism or history, we may come across terminology that is foreign to us. Just what is "synecdoche?" What was "Romanticism?" The following handbooks are good places to find the meaning of critical terminology:

Abrams, M. H.   A Glossary of Literary Terms. Ref. PN 41 .A184

The latest edition includes an added section defining "modern theories of literature and criticism," as well as the main section defining important terms. For the student.

Cuddon, J. A.   A Dictionary of Literary Terms. Ref. PN 41 .C83 1998

Much longer and more extensive in scope than Abrams, Cuddon includes specific terms from different national literatures, rhetorical figures, verse forms, genres, etc.

Harris, Wendell V.   Dictionary of Concepts in Literary Criticism and Theory. Ref. PN 41 .H36 1992

A detailed and scholarly guide to concepts of importance to current literary criticism; instead of a variety of terms, Harris concentrates on in-depth discussion of 70 concepts of special importance, each accompanied by a selective bibliography.

Dictionary of the History of Ideas. Ref. CB 5 .D52

This interdisciplinary guide to the history of thought is an excellent resource for particular ideas which may not be literary in nature but are involved in the discussion of literature.
 

HANDBOOKS

Many sources exist to give quick, summary information about authors, famous works, forms, genres, characters and other items useful to the reader of literature. All of the following handbooks have strengths and weaknesses and it is a good idea to try several if you have difficulty finding what you're looking for.

Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia. Ref. PN 41 .B4 1996

A fine handbook to world literature listing authors, works, characters, national literatures, classical allusions and other useful information.

The Oxford Companion to English Literature. Ref. PR 19 .D73 1998

The Oxford Companion to American Literature. Ref. PS 21 .H3 1995

Both of these works identify authors, works, characters and publications important to the respective national literatures.

Cyclopedia of Literary Characters. Ref. PN 44 .M3 1998

As the title implies, chiefly a guide to characters, arranged by literary work, indexed by author and character name.

Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable. Ref. PN 43 .B65 1995

A decidedly idiosyncratic and frequently delightful hodge-podge of characters, allusions, phrases, idiomatic expressions and sundry lore.
 

LITERARY HISTORY

The following sources give detailed, authoritative and thoroughly indexed access to literary figures, movements, and works produced during a particular period:

Cambridge History of English Literature. Ref. PR 83 .C224

Literary History of the United States. Ref. PS 88 .L522 1994
 

SOURCES ON PARTICULAR AUTHORS

Many authors, particularly the most famous, have reference books devoted to them. Bibliographies will list their writings and writings about them. Sometimes whole encyclopedias may be devoted to a single author as in A Milton Encyclopedia  (Ref. PR 3580 .M5) or   The Spenser Encyclopedia  (Ref. PR 2362 .A6 S69 1990). And extremely specific handbooks may exist as well; for a dictionary of sexual language in Shakespeare, see Shakespeare's Bawdy  (Ref. PR 2892 .P27 1961a). To find these, as with bibliographies and concordances, search the Library Catalog by subject using the author's name, and look for the appropriate subheading, e.g., choose Subject search, type in milton john and look for "dictionaries, indexes, etc." or austen jane and look for "bibliography."
 

FL:mj. 12/10/92;rev.11/8/99
 


Created on 12/10/92 by Frank Lepkowski, / Last updated on 2/4/13 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website