eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

Literary Criticism

By: Linda Hildebrand
Assistant Professor
Reference Coordinator & Archives
Phone: (248) 370-2483
E-mail: hildebra@oakland.edu
Ask A Librarian
Feel free to call, email, chat, or stop by the reference desk if you have questions.


Finding critical articles on literary works and their authors is made a great deal easier by a variety of bibliographies available in the library. The listing below is selective--a small sampling of some of the titles useful for locating literary criticism. In general the items included in the list below provide quick and easy access to criticism published in journals and books. Annotations have been provided for selected items in the list.

Most of the reference books listed below are arranged in the same manner: the literary authors are listed alphabetically and, under a specific author's name, you will find a list of critical articles or essays relating to that author and/or his or her works.

To find additional information use the online catalog (Voyager) to look up the particular author you are researching. Works about an author frequently have critical discussions of that author's works. Also the library has many bibliographies of individual authors, bibliographies that often have extensive listings of critical articles. To locate works about an author, search the online catalog using a subject search and the author's name, last name first.
 

GENERAL

Magill's Bibliography of Literary Criticism.       Ref. PN 523 .A1 M25
A good starting point. Convenient list of scholarly criticism of over 2500 literary works. Covers fiction, drama, poetry from the classics to the present.

Articles on Twentieth Century Literature: An Annotated Bibliography,1954-1970      Ref. PN 771 .A1 P66
Comprehensive gathering of scholarly critical articles written from 1954-70. Covers 20th century literature and is international in scope.

Literary Criticism Index.      Ref. PN 523 .A1 W44 1994
An index to bibliographies and checklists where lists of critical articles on specific literary works can be found. This indexes most of the titles included in this brochure.

Literary Criticism and Authors' Biographies: An Annotated Index.      Ref. PN 501 .A1 S356
A guide to books containing critical and biographical information on literary figures.
 

GENERAL--AMERICAN LITERATURE

Articles on American Literature, 1900-1950.      Ref. PS 88 .A1 A7

Articles on American Literature, 1950-1967.      Ref. PS 88 .A1 A72

Articles on American Literature, 1968-1975.       Ref. PS 88 .A1 A73
Invaluable compilation of criticism on American authors from colonial times to the present.

American Literature: Poe Through Garland.      Ref. PS 201 .A1 C52

American Literature Through Bryant, 1585-1830.     Ref. PS 185 .A1 D3
 

GENERAL--BRITISH LITERATURE

New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature.      Ref. PR 83 .A1 N45
One of the "standard" reference works. Especially useful for minor and less well known English authors.

Old and Middle English Literature.      Ref. PR 161 .A1 M32
Beowulf, Chaucer, Langland and others are included in this work.

Sixteenth Century: Skelton Through Hooker.         Ref. PR 411 .A1 L5
Includes Spenser, Sidney, More, Marlowe and others

Seventeenth Century: Bacon Through Marvel.       Ref. PR 431 .A1 B3
Includes criticism on the poems of John Donne and his contemporaries.

Eighteenth Century.      Ref. PR 441 .A1 B65
Swift, Pope, Johnson, Boswell and others are listed.

Age of Dryden .      Ref. PR 83 .A1 B74
Dryden, Congreve, Wycherley.
 

DRAMA -- GENERAL

Dramatic Criticism Index: A Bibliography of Commentaries on Playwrights from Ibsen to the Avante-Garde. Ref. PN 1861 .A1 B7

Modern Drama: A Checklist of Critical Literature on 20th Century Plays.     Ref. PN 1861 .A1 A35
 

DRAMA -- AMERICAN

American Drama Criticism: Interpretations 1890-1977.      Ref. PS 332 .A1 P3 1979

American Drama from its Beginnings to the Present.      Ref. PS 332 .A1 L65

American Drama to 1900.      Ref. PS 345 .A1 M45

Drama Criticism, vol. 1: A Checklist of Interpretation since 1940 of English and American Plays.
        Ref. PN 1721 .A1 C65

Modern Drama in America and England, 1950-1970.       Ref. PS 351 .A1 H36
 

DRAMA -- BRITISH
 

Drama Criticism, vol. 1: A Checklist of Interpretation since 1940 of English and American Plays.  Ref. PN 1721 .A1 C65

Modern British Drama.      Ref. PR 736 .A1 C3

Modern Drama in America and England, 1950-1970.      Ref. PS 351 .A1 H36

Twenty Modern British Playwrights: A Bibliography, 1956-1976.       Ref. PR 736 .A1 K47

The Essential Shakespeare: An Annotated Bibliography of Major Modern Studies.      Ref. PR 2894 .A1 C53 1993

Tudor and Stuart Drama.      Ref. PR 651 .A1 R5 1978
Beaumont and Fletcher, Marlow, Webster and others.
 

DRAMA -- EUROPEAN

Drama Criticism, vol. 2: A Checklist of Interpretations Since 1940 of Classical and Continental Plays.     Ref. PN 1721 .A1 C65 v.2

European Drama Criticism, 1900-1975.      Ref. PN 1721 .A1 P2 1977
 

FICTION -- NOVELS -- AMERICAN

American Novel: A Checklist of Twentieth Century Criticism.       Ref. PS 362 .A1 G4

Contemporary Novel: A Checklist of Critical Literature on the British and American Novel Since 1945.    Ref. PN 3503 .A1 A34

American Novel Through Henry James.         Ref. PS 371 .A1 H64 1979

American Novel: Sinclair Lewis to the Present.       Ref. PS 369 .A1 N4
 

FICTION -- NOVELS -- BRITISH

English Novel Explication.      Ref. PR 821 .A1 P26

English Novel, 1578-1956: A Checklist of Twentieth-Century Criticism.     Ref. PR 821 .A1 B4

English Novel: Twentieth Century Criticism.      Ref. PR 821 .A1 E53

British Novel: Scott Through Hardy.       Ref. PR 861 .A1 W37

British Novel: Conrad to the Present.      Ref. PR 881 .A1 W54

English Fiction, 1900-1950.      Ref. PR 881 .A1 R5
 

FICTION -- NOVELS -- EUROPEAN

Continental Novel: A Checklist of Criticism in English, 1900-1966.       Ref. PN 3353 .A1 K427

Continental Novel: A Checklist of Criticism in English, 1967-1980.      Ref. PN 3353 .A1K428
 

FICTION -- SHORT STORIES

Twentieth-Century Short Story Explication.      Ref. PN 3373 .A1 W33, W332, W35

American Short Fiction Criticism and Scholarship      Ref. PS 374 .S5 A1 W43
 

POETRY

Poetry Explication: A Checklist of Interpretation) since 1925 of British and American Poems Past and Present.
       Ref. PR 502 .A1 K8 1980

Modern Poetry.        Ref. PS 323.5 .A1 A5

Index to Criticisms of British and American Poetry.       Ref. PR 89 .C5

English Poetry, 1900-1950.     Ref. PR 610 .A1 A54 1982

Romantic Poets and Prose Writers.       Ref. PR 457 .A1 F6

Guide to American Poetry Explication.     Ref. PS 303 .A1 G8
 

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Humanities Index/Humanities Abstracts.      Index Ref. AI 3 .R492 (to 1998 in print format; 1984 through current available on FirstSearch--click on link above)
Provides subject access to literary criticism appearing in journals. Critical articles are listed under the literary author's name.

MLA International Bibliography of Books and Articles on the Modern Languages and Literatures.    Index Ref. PB 1 .A1 M64 (1921-1995); 1963 through current available through FirstSearch--click on link above
A little complicated to use but invaluable for its extensive listing of articles dealing with literature and languages. Arrangement of print volumes is by nationality, then time period, then individual author. Volumes since 1982 have subject indexes.

InfoTrac SearchBank, General Reference Center Gold
A select number of literary journals are indexed on this system. It is useful for recent articles but should be used in conjunction with the MLA. Contains some full text articles.

Wilson OmniFile. (available through FirstSearch)
A full text database covering a broad spectrum of disciplines, including some literary sources.
 
 

FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION OR FOR ASSISTANCE
ASK AT THE REFERENCE DESK.

LH/4.85/rev.1.92/rev.11/99
 


Created on 4/85 by Linda Hildebrand, / Last updated on 2/4/13 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website