eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

Library Profile

By: Frank Lepkowski
Associate Dean of the Library
Phone: (248) 370-2471
E-mail: lepkowsk@oakland.edu
Ask A Librarian
Feel free to call, email, chat, or stop by the reference desk if you have questions.


Homepage: http://library.oakland.edu
Use this as your starting point for accessing the Library Catalog, FirstSearch, Lexis-Nexis, Web of Science and other databases. The KL homepage is also your customized gateway to the vast array of resources on the Internet.
 
Catalog: Voyager System
Oakland University Library’s automated online catalog may be used to find books, journals, sound recordings, government documents and other materials in our collections as well as course reserve materials. You can also use it to place holds and to check your personal library account.
 
Collections:

765,000 volumes
1.1 million microforms
Approximately 625 current print journal subscriptions and electronic access to more than 50,000 titles.
Electronic full-text collections include e-books from NetLibrary, ACLS History Project and Springer and e-journals in Project Muse, JSTOR, Springer/Kluwer, Oxford University Press, Sage, Wiley/Blackwell, PsycArticles, IEEE, ACM, ACS, IOP, History Cooperative and ScienceDirect.
Expenditures for library materials (2010/11): over $2.1 million

 
Special Collections:
Springer Collection of Lincolniana
Hicks Collection of Early Books by Women
James Collection of Books on Folklore and Witchcraft
Bingham Collection of Children’s Literature
University Archives
 
Databases:

Available via the library home page are a multitude of databases, including multidisciplinary databases such as Academic OneFile and Wilson OmniFile; America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts; CINAHL; ERIC; Humanities Abstracts; MathSciNet; Medline; MLA Bibliography; PsycINFO; PsycARTICLES; WilsonWeb; WorldCat; business databases ProQuest ABI-INFORM, Global Market Information Database, Marketline, Mergent, Morningstar; Web of Science, a comprehensive citation database to the arts and humanities, social sciences, sciences and technology; Engineering Village 2, an interdisciplinary engineering database, plus IEEE Xplore and SAE Digital Library; Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe; and NAXOS Music and Video Libraries.  For a complete list, click on Find Articles from the library homepage.

 
Documents: Selective Federal and State depository library since 1964.
Over 248,000 government publications in print, microform, CD-ROM and online.
 
Services:

Wireless Network throughout library with laptops available for library use
Proxy server for remote access to electronic collections
Circulation of library materials
Course Reserve--print materials at Circ. Desk, e-reserves via the Library website
Reference Desk, telephone, e-mail, and instant messaging reference service
Research Consultations
Computerized database searching
Library and Internet instruction
Interlibrary Loans
Assistive technologies

 
Staff:

10 Library Faculty
4 Part-time Faculty
2 Academic Library Administrators
4 Administrative Professionals
17 Clerical/Technical Staff
4 Part-time Staff
30 (est.) Part-time Student Assistants

 
Size: 115,000 net square feet
 
Seating: For 1700, including carrels, individual study rooms, group study rooms, open tables and seats
 
Study Areas: 100 study rooms, some with audiovisual equipment
7 meeting rooms
Second floor student lounge
 
Computer Labs:

Information Commons (Main level, north wing) - 37 PC and 8 Apple workstations; 33 laptops available at Circulation Desk for in-library use.

Instruction Labs (222 and 225A) – Each with 25 student workstations networked to 1 instructor station (for library instruction/teaching purposes only).

 
Telephone: (248) 370-2471
 
Regular Hours, Fall/Winter
Day Library Reference
Monday-Thursday

Open 24 hours

8:00AM - 10:00PM
Friday

Open until 2:00AM

8:00AM - 5:00PM
Saturday

8:00AM – 2:00AM

9:00AM - 5:00PM
Sunday

Open 8:00AM

1:00PM - 9:00PM
Access during the night is restricted to OU members only.
OU IDs are needed for access from midnight to 7am on Sunday-Thursday and from 8pm to 2am on Friday and Saturday.

Created on 11/21/02 by Julie Voelck, / Last updated on 2/4/13 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website