Japanese Art

By: Daniel F Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND OVERVIEWS

Here is where you will want to begin your research. The Groves title is especially important. See also Japanese History. For general sources and indexes see Art History.

Grove Art Online - This is the best place to begin your research.

Thematic Essays - There are about 25 essays here.

Japanese Art - This is 4-5 page overview.

Japanese Art History 2001:The State and Stakes of Research - Lengthy essay with extensive bibliography.

Early Japanese Visual Art


RESEARCH GUIDES

Japanese Art Research Guide - Covers dictionaries, handboooks, bibliographies, overviews and more.


RESOURCES

Japanese Art - This is an extensive listing arranged by cities.

Asia Society - Links to musems, publications, videos.

Japanese Art History Resources

Voice of the Shuttle: Art History Japan - Scroll down a bit and you will see about 6 resources on Japan.

The Pictures of the Floating World - "The art of ukiyo-e ("pictures of the floating world"), originated in the metropolitan culture of Edo (Tokyo) during the period of Japanese history, when the political and military power was in the hands of the shoguns, and the country was virtually isolated from the rest of the world. It is an art closely connected with the pleasures of theatres, restaurants, teahouses, geisha and courtesans in the even then very large city. Many ukiyo-e prints by artists like Utamaro and Sharaku were in fact posters, advertising theatre performances and brothels, or idol portraits of popular actors and beautiful teahouse girls. But this more or less sophisticated world of urban pleasures was also animated by the traditional Japanese love of nature, and ukiyo-e artists like Hokusai and Hiroshige have had an enormous impact on landscape painting all over the world."

Artists by Movement Images from the Floating World - Includes images and museums where works are exhibited.


IMAGES

Camio Art Museum Images

"OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online - is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed."

CAMIO includes ...
  • Photographs
  • Prints
  • Sculpture
  • Paintings
  • Decorative Arts and Utilitarian Objects
  • Drawings and Watercolors
  • Costume and Jewelry
  • Textiles
  • Architecture
  • and more ...

Large Image Collections


TIMELINES

Chronology of Japan's Fine Arts

Timeline of Art History Japan

Japanese Art History


DICTIONARIES

Glossary of Japanese Art Terms

ArtLex


BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Art of Japan Reading List

A Readers Guide to the Arts of Japan

MUSEUMS

Asian Art Museum

Museums in Japan

 


Created on 1/25/08 by Daniel F. Ring; / Last updated on 8/8/08 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions