Islamic Art

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Oxford Art Online. Use for biographies, subject entries and images; a good place to begin your research.

Oxford Islamic Studies Online

Nearly 3,500 articles and chapters by leading scholars and specialists, primary source documents with editorial introductions, Learning Resources, and more

Qur'anic studies resources, including two Oxford World's Classics translations of the Qur'an, linked to the first online version of A Concordance of the Qur'an by Hanna Kassis

Timelines covering major events in the Islamic world and corresponding events in general world history for context

Images and Maps provide visual perspectives on global Islam and its historic development

Islamic Art and Architecture This is a lengthy overview from Encarta.

 

IMAGES

Islamic Art

Discover Islamic Art Can search by country

Islam and Islamic Art

Camio

OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.

CAMIO includes ...

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Art History Indexes

RESOURCES

Islamic Art Network Covers articles, books, archives and images.

Islamic Art Museums

Islamic Art Arranged by topics and periods.

Arabic Calligraphy

Islamic Arts and Architecture This site is useful for a glossary and bibliographies, off to the right.

The Islamic World to 1600 Look off to the left and you will see links for the arts.

Islamic Art This is a collection of sites, many on calligraphy.

 


Created on 2/2/09 by Daniel F. Ring / Last updated on 3/10/09 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions