eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

Industries

By: Linda Hildebrand
Assistant Professor
Reference Coordinator & Archives
Phone: (248) 370-2483
E-mail: hildebra@oakland.edu
Ask A Librarian
Feel free to call, email, chat, or stop by the reference desk if you have questions.


GENERAL  

US Industry & Trade Outlook. Ref. HC 101 .U55
Provides information on recent global and domestic trends and outlooks for industries, domestic production, international trade and market prospects. Does not cover individual companies.
 

WEFA Industrial Monitor. Ref. HC 101 .W44
Reviews recent trends and provides forecasts for major US industries.
 

Encyclopedia of American Industries. Ref. HC 102 .E53 1998
 

Standard & Poor's Industry Surveys. Ref. HC 101 .S72 (Index kept at Reference Desk; latest surveys on reserve at Circulation Desk; others in Ref. stacks.)
Provides basic data on industries with financial comparisons of the leading companies in each.
 

Manufacturing & Distribution USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics and Leading Companies.
Ref. HD 9721 .M3495
A guide to over 400 manufacturing industries providing charts, industry trends, general statistics, indices of change, leading companies, and industry data by state. (Library also has Manufacturing USA for 1992 and 1994, Ref. HC 101 .M3).
 

Value Line Investment Survey. Ref. HG 4501 .V26 (Index and news reports kept at Reference Desk; latest reports on reserve at Circulation; others in Ref. stacks.)
Although primarily an investment advisory tool with a focus on individual companies these issues also contain 1-2 page overviews of around 95 industries. The industry analyses include discussions of current political, economic and technological developments that may affect the outlook for the industry.
 

Forbes. "Annual Report of American Industry." Per. HF 5001 .F6. (4th floor, Periodicals)
The first January issue of each year contains short sections reviewing major industries. Ranks industries and leading companies for profit, growth and stock market performance.
 

Survey of Current Business. Per. HC 101 .A13 (1938-current)   Available online (1994-present). Contains reports on business activity and economic conditions, statistics on industrial production.
 

County Business Patterns.
 

Current Industrial Reports.
 

North American Industry Classification System. (NAICS) Ref. HF 1042 .N6 1997; also available online.
New system replacing SIC Manual (below).
 

Standard Industrial Classification Manual. Ref. HF 1042 .S82 (1987)
Lists products and services with their corresponding standard industrial classification (SIC) codes.
 

INDUSTRY RATIOS
 

The titles listed below provide financial ratios. These measures of corporate performance are useful when compared with similar ratios for earlier years or with ratios for other companies in the same industry.
 

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios. Ref. HF 5681 .R25 T68
 

RMA Annual Statement Studies. Ref. HF 5681 .B2 R6
 

Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios. Ref. HF 5681 .R25 D81     (Current edition kept on reserve at Circulation Desk.)
 

PERIODICAL INDEXES
 

ProQuest ABI- INFORM - (full image)
A database providing indexing, abstracts and full text of articles found in management, marketing and business journals.
 

Business Periodicals Index. Index Ref. HF 5001 .A1 B8 (1958-98); also available online through FirstSearch, database name is Wilson Business (1986 through current)
Indexes general business journals; search under the name of the industry or product.
 

F & S Index - United States. Index Ref. HG 4961 .F8 (1979-2000)
Focuses on trade journals and business newspapers. Provides information by company name or on specific industries and products.
 

Wall Street Journal Index. Index Ref. HG 1 .W26 (1955-98); for 1973 through current, use Lexis-Nexis (select News and then General News).
In the print version, the index to the newspaper covers industry data in the General Section..
 

Lexis-Nexis.

Choose "Business." Provides industry and company news, financial data for companies, SEC filings, etc.
 
 

LH10/91;rev.FL11/98;
rev.MJ2/04


 
 


Created on 10/91 by Linda Hildebrand, / Last updated on 2/4/13 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website