History of Science
| By: | Daniel
F Ring Assistant Professor |
Phone: (248)
3702498 E-mail: ring@oakland.edu |
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
The Gale Encyclopedia of Science. (Ref. Q 121 .G35 2001)
Encyclopedia of Science, Technology and Ethics. (Ref. Q 175.35 .E53 2005)
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science &Technology
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology. (Ref. Q 123 .E497 2002)
Encyclopedia of Medical History. (Ref. R 133 .M34 1985)
DICTIONARIES
Dictionary of the History of Science. (Ref. Q 125 .D45)
A Dictionary of the History of Medicine. (Ref. R 121 .S398 1999)
INDEXES
Historical Abstracts (Index and abstracts of scholarly publications in history except for the U.S. and Canada)
JSTOR Back files of journals. Full text. Click on "advanced" and then click on History of Science and Technology.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine
BIOGRAPHIES
Cambridge Dictionary of Scientists. (Ref. Q 141 .C128 1996)
Dictionary of Scientific Biography. (Ref. Q 141 .D5)
Dictionary of Scientists If link is dead click on home and type in title.
Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science (Ref. Q 141 .B5285 2000)
American Women in Science. (Ref. Q 141 .B254 1998)
Biographical Encyclopedia of Scientists. (Ref. Q 141 .B53 1994)
Notable Women Scientists. (Ref. Q 141 .N736 1999)
Encyclopedia of World Scientists. (Ref. Q 141 .O25 2001)
Notable Twentieth Century Scientists. (Ref. Q 141 .N73 1995)
Notable Black American Scientists. (Ref. Q 141 .N726 1999)
The History of the Afro-American in Medicine. (Ref. R 695 .M6 1976)
CHRONOLOGIES
Breakthroughs: A Chronology of Great Achievements in Science and Mathematics. (Ref. Q 125 .P327 1985)
INTERNET RESOURCES
Encyclopedias and Overviews
History of Science and Technology (from Wikipedia)
Metasites
Internet Resources for the History of Science and Technology Ignore this site at your own risk. Here is what you get: Starting Points | Topics in the History of Science and Technology (General, Astronomy, Biology, Biotechnology, Cartography, Chemistry, Computing, Engineering, Geology, Mathematics, Medicine, Physics) | Bibliographies and Research Guides | Databases and Information Sources | Museums | Libraries and Archives | Exhibits | Societies, Associations, and Other Organizations | University Departments, Programs, and Centers | Regional Resources
Resources
History of Science and Mathematics
Voice of the Shuttle Covers: Kuhn, Galileo, medieval science, astronomy and physics history, science and technology.
Yahooligans Covers:
* Cars
* Flight
* History of Computers
* Inventions
* Medicine
* People
* Timelines
* World Wide WebHistory of Science and Medicine Covers: natural science; physical science; medical history, evolution and history of technology.
Christianity and the Rise of Science This is an essay with links on topics such as Aristotle, the Dark Ages.
History of Science Links Covers: biological science, physical science, astronomy and general links.
Centre for the History of Science Covers:
* General
* Biographies
* Bibliographies
* Topics
* Scientific Instruments, globes and maps
* Musea, Institutes and Societies
* E-texts
* Persons
* Journals
* Libraries
* The Low CountriesResources for the History of Science on the Internet This is an eclectic assortment of links. Resources for the History of Science is especially interesting as the sites are annotated.
Resources for Research in the History of Science This is fantastic site. It has a tutorial for the history and philosophy of science, lists, gateways, images, museums, resources on specific topics and individuals and historiography.
History of Science No focus here; a collection of links on many topics.
Google Directory Covers:
* Agriculture
* Archaeology
* Astronomy
* Biology
* Chemistry
* Engineering and Technology
* Geology
* Historians of Science
* Institutions
* Journals
* Math
* Medicine
* Paleontology
* People
* Physics
* PsychologyHistory of Science and Technology This is a pathfinder from the Internet Public Library. Sites are annotated.
History of Chemistry, History of Science, and Scientific Biography Covers:
* Collections of short biographies
* Sites devoted to the life and work of an individual of importance to chemistry
* Historical developments in chemistry
* Original texts
* Reference materials and directories in history of science
* Exhibits and museums
* Current chemistry sitesOpen Directory Project Covers:
* Agriculture
* Archaeology
* Astronomy
* Biology
* Chemistry
* Engineering and Technology
* Geology
* Math
* Medicine
* Paleontology
* Physics
* Psychology
* Historians of Science
* Institutions
* Journals
* PeopleThe Medieval Science Page Covers:
* Alchemy
* Animals
* Astrolabe
* Astronomy--see also Cosmology
* Botany
* Calendars
* Cartography
* Cosmology
* Horology
* Instruments
* Mathematics
* Medicine
*Museums (topic-specific museums are indexed under topic headings)
* Physics
* Societies and Programs
* Technology (general)
* Time
* Weights and Measures
* Renaissance Materials
* MiscellaneousYahoo's Science Directory, History of Science Covers:
* Agriculture
* Ancient Greek Science
* Astronomy
* Aviation
* Biology
* Chemistry
* College and University Departments and Programs
* Computers and Internet
* Mathematics
* Organizations
* People
* Philosophy of Science
* Physics
* Research
* Science, Technology, and Society Studies
* Space Exploration
* Telecommunications
* Timelines
* Web DirectoriesEcho Research Center "Echo's research center catalogues, annotates, and reviews sites on the history of science, technology, and industry. You can browse our database of over 5,000 sites by topic, time period, publisher or content using the links to the right, use the box below to search the center directly or use our advanced search functions to narrow things down even further." Covers:
Topics
* Earth Sciences
* Physical Sciences
* Life Sciences
* Medicine/Behavioral Science
* Aviation/Space Exploration
* Engineering
* Computers/Information Technology
* Consumer Technology
* Industrial/Military Technology
* Philosophy of ScienceHistorical Period
* Ancient (BCE-400 CE)
* Middle Ages (5th-15th Century)
* Early Modern (15th-18th Century)
* Modern (18th-20th Century)
* Contemporary (Post-WWII)Content
* Links
* Images
* Audio
* Exhibit
* Educational
* Video
* Primary Source
* Secondary Source
* Biographical
* ArtifactsHistory and Philosophy of Science Covers:
* Academic Libraries / Archives / Museums
* Ancient History of Science
* Archives
* Archives Collections Finding Aids
* Audiovisual / Specific Media Collections
* Digital Repositories
* Epistemology of Science
* Ethics of Science
* Ethics of Technology
* Historiography of Science
* History of Astronomy
* History of Biology
* History of Chemistry
* History of Libraries
* History of Mathematics
* History of Medicine
* History of Philosophy of Science
* History of Physics
* History of Science
* History of Technology
* Introduction to History of Science
* Introduction to Philosophy of Science
* Libraries
* Library Collections Finding Aids
* Metaphysics of Science
* Museum Collections Finding Aids
* Museums / Art Galleries
* Museums, Libraries, Archives
* National Libraries / Archives / Museums
* Philosophy of Biology
* Philosophy of Mathematics
* Philosophy of Physics
* Philosophy of Science
* Philosophy of Social ScienceTransistorized: the history of the invention of the transistor
Chronologies
Chronology of the History of Science
This is History Page A few of the links are not relevant to the History of Science.
Timeline for the History of Science and Social Science
Chronology of Science in the United States 1790-1910
Sources
A History of Science Vol. 1
A History of Science Vol. 2
A History of Science Vol. 3
A History of Science Vol. 4
Internet History of Science Sourcebook
History of Science Title Pages "The University of Oklahoma has digitized the title pages of 8,300 books in the History of Science Collections. Many of these books are rare and/or fragile. The purpose of the digitization project was to offer author/title access to all the items in the History of Science Collections, a small portion of which had not yet been cataloged. It also allows scholars the opportunity to study printer’s devices, author’s autographs and other provenance which occur on these title pages. Access to the Collections is now available for all materials through the letter P of their classification scheme in materials from the 15th century through the current year. However, some materials from the 18th century onward have been scanned through the letter X. Plans for completion of the title page project are in progress."
History of Science and Technology. "The History of Science and Technology Collection brings together in digital facsimile two categories of primary and secondary publications: writings about scientific research at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and unique or valuable titles in science and technology held by the UW-Madison libraries."
Linus Pauling Research Notebooks
The Race for DNA: A Documentary History
Discussion Groups
H-Sci-Med-Tech Good for reviews and discussions.
Bibliographies
Reading the History of Western Science: A List of Good Places To Start
History of Science in the United States: Colonial Period to the 21st Century - Subject Bibliography of Books and Dissertations "The bibliography is derived from the compilation since 1980 of new books and dissertations listed in History of Science in America: News and Views, the newsletter of the Forum for the History of Science in America. Currently there are nearly 6,500 citations in the database (citations for the nineteenth-century are at this site as a web document)."
Organizations
History and Philosophy of Logic Mathematics and Science "We are a Doreen B. Townsend Center for the Humanities Working Group devoted to the discussion of historical and philosophical issues in symbolic logic, mathematics, and science. We meet on occasional Wednesday evenings for a talk and a lively discussion."
History of Science SocietySociety for the History of Technology
Style Manuals
Citing Electronic Information in History Papers
Sundry
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426