| By: | Daniel
F Ring Assistant Profssor |
Phone: (248)
3702498 E-mail: ring@oakland.edu |
SUBJECT HEADING
Art Germany in the Library Catalog.
PERIODICAL INDEXES
See the variety of indexes in Art and Art History.
IMAGES
"Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed."
CAMIO includes ...
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Grove Art Online - This is a good place to explore your topic; notice the search engine. Think of topics like Bauhaus, DaDa, Expressionism, German Art or of people like Klee. Don't forget to logout.
RESOURCES
German Artists - Arranged by century.
German Art - This is a large collection of sites, people and movements in German art.
German Art and Culture - This site has many links to people, museums and movements in German art.
Cartoonists and Illustrators - 1930-1945.
German Galleries - Good for galleries and current art exhibitions. Other sites for galleries include Museums and Galleries.
German Expressionism - This site is an essay with several links.
Art in Germany through the Centuries
Arts - This site is from the German Embassy. There are links to visual arts such as photography, design and graphic arts.
Expressionism Artists - Covers these arttists:
Max Beckmann
Frits van den Berghe
Hans Bohler
Heinrich Campendonck
Henk Chabot
Cinzia Cremonesi
Tom Curtis
Otto Dix
Albin Egger-Lienz
Magdi El-Din
Anton Falstauer
Conrad Felixmuller
Robert Firestone
John Fitzsimmons
Richard Gerstl
George Grosz
Marcus Antonius Jansen
Alexej von Jawlensky
Judy Jones
Asger Jorn
Bela Kadar
Wassily Kandinsky
Ernst Ludwig Kirchner
Paul Klee
Cesar Klein
Oskar Kokoschka
Anton Kolig
Kathe Kollwitz
Wilfredo Lam
August Macke
Franz Marc
Martha Marshall
Joseph Matar
George McNeil
Paula Modersohn-Becker
Edvard Munch
Emil Nolde
Anton Raderscheidt
Ottone Rosai
Roderick Sauveur
Karl Schmidt-Rottluff
Georg Scholz
Dianna Simms
Gustave de Smet
Joseph Solman
Chaim Soutine
Georg Tappert
Wilhelm Thony
Heinz Trokes
Erato Tsouvala
Emilio VedovaExpressionism Bibliography - This site is a bibliographic essay.
German Art in Its Nazi Expression - Several examples of the "romantic" "blood and soil" pictures favored by the Nazis.
20th Centurty Art - Many links to DaDa and Expressionism with images.
Deutschsprachige Museen und Kuenstler - Several links to museums and artists, some in German.
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426