Geriatrics and Gerontology

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of Aging (Ref. HQ 1061.E53 2006)

Encyclopedia of Gerontology (Ref. HQ RC 952.5 .E58 1996)

Graying of America: An Encyclopedia of Aging, Health, Mind, and Behavior (Ref. HQ 1064.U5 K39 2001)

Encyclopedia of Elder Care (Ref. RC 954 .E53 2001)

Encyclopedia of Alzheimer’s Disease. (Ref. RC 523 .T87 2003)

Encyclopedia of Home Care for the Elderly (Ref. HV 1461 .E5 1995)

Inventory of Longitudinal Studies in the Social Sciences (Ref. H 62 .Y667 1991)

The Nurse Practitioner in Long-Term Care: Guidelines for Clinical Practice. (Ref. RC 954 .N87 2007)

Encyclopedia of Health and Aging. (Ref. RA 777.6 .E534 2007)

 

HANDBOOKS, YEARBOOKS AND ALMANACS

Older Americans Almanac (Ref. 1064 .U5 O416 1994)

Johns Hopkins Medical Handbook: The 100 Major Medical Disorders of People over the Age of 50 (Ref. RC 952.55 .J64 1992)

Sourcebook on Aging (Ref. HQ 1064.U5 S63)

Aging in America, A to Z (Ref. HQ 1064.U5 B379 2001)

Statistical Handbook on Aging Americans (Ref. HQ 1064.U5 S695 1994)

Americans 55 & Older (Ref. HQ 1064 .U5 A6455 1997)

Demographic Yearbook (Ref. HA 17 .D45)

Aging: Lifestyles, Work and Money (Ref. HQ 1064 .U5 V493 2005)

INDEXES

Social Sciences Abstracts - indexes social science journals, 1983-current

PsycINFO - indexes psychological literature from 1887-current. It uses a controlled vocabulary, meaning that your first stop is The Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. If you do a search without this tome you might be satisfied with the outcome but you can do better. Ask the librarian how to use it when you do a search.

WilsonSelectPlus - indexes full text articles, 1993-current

CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) - indexes nursing literature, 1982-current.

Sociological Abstracts - indexes sociological literature, 1963-current.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines as well as abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.

Social Services Abstracts – 1960-current.

Social Work Abstracts  - 1977-current.

INTERNET SITES
Meta Sites

Sociology of the Elderly - this is an important site and includes journals and papers, both collections and individuals, books, government documents, journals, educational materials, data, research guides, and organizations.

Social Gerontology and the Aging Revolution - tab down a bit and you will get an outline of the site: biology of aging, psychology of aging, old age and religion, old age and the economy, etc.

Worldwide Resources in Ageing - British site but links to American ones, with search engine.

 

Resources (mostly organizations, associations and foundations)

Administration on Aging

Social Work in Aging: Internet Resources - links to organizations plus topics like Death, Caregiving and Elder Abuse.

Mid-America Congress on Aging: Internet Resources for the Aging

NMAP - this is a British site. It consists mostly of links to associations and organizations but there are links to journals that provide abstracts and contents and there are some policy papers. Each site has subject headings that are searchable.

Center on Aging: Web Resources

MEDWEB - includes tables of contents for journals and links to foundations and organizations.

United States Department of Health and Human Services: Aging - this site covers many topics such as caregivers, data and statistics, health insurance, diseases and nursing care facilities.

Seniors and Aging - this site lists organizations, plus topics like "Do We All Lose Our Minds When We Age?" or "Negative Emotions Mellow with Age."

Yahoo's Senior Health - organizations, plus topics like Senior Health. See also Yahoo's Seniors.

National Institute on Aging

Older People - this British source is an extensive collection of organizations, topics and online journals (abstracts and tables of contents). International in coverage.

Aging Issues - this site comes from the American Psychological Association with links to publications and organizations within APA that deal with aging.

What Practitioners Should Know about Working with Older Adults - this is a "book" from the APA.

Global Demography of Aging

 

Statistics

Agingstats.gov

National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging

Older Americans Update: Key Indicator of Well Being

A Profile of Older Americans: 2002

Health and Retirement Study

Age Data - from the Census Bureau

 


Created on 9/25/03 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 9/4/08 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions