French Art

By: Daniel F Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-0000
E-mail: ring@oakland.eduail@oakland.edu


This pathfinder will consider only Internet resources. For other reference sources such as online indexes or encyclopedias see Art and Art History or French History.


ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND OVERVIEWS

Grove Art Online This is the place to begin our research. It has a search engine or you can browse by subject.

Encarta This entry is less important for for the information than for the links to people and art forms.

Encarta Here is another entry from Encarta that offers extensive overviews of periods.


RESOURCES

ArtCyclopedia You can search by name, nationality, art movement and a few other categories.

French Art This is an extensive listing of artists and movements. Contains basic information.

L'Histoire par L'Image 1789-1939 (en Francais) Good for chronologies, includes a search engine.

French Art Alpha arranged. Good for art, artists and culture.

Web Museum Artist Index Good for biography and examples of the artist's works.

Art History Resources on the Web No separate headers for France so search within the broad movements.

Voice of the Shuttle This site has links for the 18th century.

French Painting and Sculpture in the 15th-18th Centuries

19th and 20th Century Art Links This is an extensive collection arranged by artists and movements.

French Art Good for cultural institutions and museums.

ArtLex French Art Good for images and definitions of art terms and mediums.

Art Images for College Teachers

Images

Camio

"OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed."

CAMIO includes ...
  • Photographs
  • Prints
  • Sculpture
  • Paintings
  • Decorative Arts and Utilitarian Objects
  • Drawings and Watercolors
  • Costume and Jewelry
  • Textiles
  • Architecture
  • and more ...

 


Created on 12/12/06 by Dan Ring / Last updated on 8/8/08 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions