eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

Encyclopedias

By: Linda Hildebrand
Assistant Professor
Reference Coordinator & Archives
Phone: (248) 370-2483
E-mail: hildebra@oakland.edu
Ask A Librarian
Feel free to call, email, chat, or stop by the reference desk if you have questions.


Encyclopedias are excellent sources of quick, ready reference information. You can locate biographies, verify dates, find out how something works or get a general overview of a topic or subject. The library has a variety of encyclopedias to choose from. The list of selected titles below is divided into three sections:



I. General encyclopedias--basic information on all subjects

II. Specialized subject encyclopedias--more in-depth information on specific topics related to that subject.

III. National encyclopedias--encyclopedias published in other countries. These may include more specific information about that country or may provide a different perspective on a particular subject.


I. GENERAL

Encyclopedia Americana. Ref. AE 5 .E333
New Encyclopaedia Britannica. Ref. AE 5 .E363
World Book Encyclopedia. Ref. AE 5 .W55
Collier's Encyclopedia. Ref. AE 5 .C683
Academic American Encyclopedia. Ref. AE 5 .A23


II. SPECIALIZED SUBJECT ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Art & Architecture

Dictionary of Art. Ref. N 31 .D5 1996
McGraw Hill Dictionary of Art. Ref. N 33 .M23
Encyclopedia of World Art. Ref. N 31 .E533
Encyclopedia of Visual Art. Ref. N 25 .E53 1983a
Encyclopedia of Architecture. Ref. NA 31 .E59 1988

Artificial Intelligence

Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence. Ref. Q 335 .E53 1992
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Robotics and Artificial Intelligence. Ref. TJ 210.4 .G53 1994

Biology

Encyclopedia of Human Biology. Ref. QP 11 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology. Ref. QH 506 .C74 1999
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology and Molecular Medicine. Ref. QH 506 .E534 1996
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. Ref Q 121 .M3
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia. Ref QL 3 .G7813
Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Mammals. Ref QL 701 .G7913 1989

Business

Encyclopedia of Busine$$ and Finance. Ref. HF 1001 .E467 2001
International Encyclopedia of Business and Management. Ref. HF 1001 .I53 1996

Careers

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance. Ref. HG 5381 .E52 1997

Chemistry

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry. Ref. QD 4 .M33 1997
Encyclopedia of Analytical Chemistry. Ref. QD 71.5 .E52 2000
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry. Ref. QD 148 .E53 1994
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. Ref. TP 9 .E685 1991

Classics

Paulys Realencyclopadie der Classischen Altertumwissenschaft. Ref. DE 5 .P33 1958

Communications

International Encyclopedia of Communications. Ref. P 87.5 .I5 1989

Computers

Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology. Ref. QA 76.15 .E5
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. Ref. Q 121 .M3
Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence. Ref. Q 335 .E53 1992
Desktop Encyclopedia of the Internet. Ref. TK 5105.5 .M85696 1999
Encyclopedia of Networking & Telecommunications. Ref. TK 5102 .S48 2001

Economics

New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics. Ref. HB 61 .N49 1987
Encyclopedia of American Economic History. Ref. HC 103 .E52

Education

Encyclopedia of Education. Ref. LB 15 .E47
International Encyclopedia of Education. Ref. LB 15 .I569 1994
International Encyclopedia of Higher Education. Ref. LB 15 .I57
Encyclopedia of Educational Research. Ref. L 901 .E57 1992
Encyclopedia of Special Education. Ref. LC 4007 .E53 2000

Geography

Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. Ref. G 63 .W65 1988

History

Dictionary of American History. Ref. E 174 .D52 1976
Dictionary of the History of Ideas. Ref. CB 5 .D52
Dictionary of the Middle Ages. Ref. D 114 .D5 1982
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust. Ref. D 804.3 .E53 1990
Encyclopedia of Asian History. Ref. DS 31 .E53 1988
Encyclopedia of American Economic History. Ref. HC 103 .E52
Encyclopedia of American Business History and Biography. Ref. HD 2721 .E5

Law

Guide to American Law. Ref. KF 156 .G77 1983 & suppls.
Corpus Juris Secundum. Ref. KF 101 .C53
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice. Ref. HV 6017 .E52 1982
Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System. Ref. KF 154 .E53 1987
Historic U.S. Court Cases: An Encyclopedia. Ref. KF 385 .A4 J64 2001

Literature

Cassell's Encyclopaedia of World Literature. Ref. PN 41 .C3 1973
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama. Ref. PN 1625 .M3 1984
Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century. Ref. PN 771 .E5 1999
Encyclopedia of the Novel. Ref. PN 41 .E487 1998

Mathematics

CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics. Ref. QA 5 .W45 1999
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics. Ref. QA 5 .I8313 1987

Medicine

American Medical Association Encyclopedia of Medicine. Ref. RC 81 .A2 A52 1989
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. Ref. RC 41 .G35 1999
Miller-Keane Encyclopedia & Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Allied Health.
Ref. R 121 .M65 1997
Physics in Medicine and Biology Encyclopedia. Ref. R 895 .A3 P47 1986
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology & Molecular Medicine. Ref. QH 506 .E534 1996

Music

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians. Ref. ML 100 .N48 2000

Philosophy

Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Ref. B 41 .E5
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy. Ref. B 51 .R68 1998
Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics. Ref. BL 31 .E4
Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Ref. QH 332 .E52 1995


Physics

Encyclopedia of Applied Physics. Ref. AC 5 .E543 1991
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Physics. Ref. QC 5 .M15 1996
McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. Ref. Q 121 .M3
Q is for Quantum: An Encyclopedia of Particle Physics. Ref. QC 793.2 .G747 1998

Political Science

International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Ref. H 40 .A2 I5
World Encyclopedia of Political Systems & Parties. Ref. JF 2011 .W67 1999
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution. Ref. KF 4548 .E53 2000

Psychology

Encyclopedia of Psychology. Ref. BF 31 .E52 2000
International Encyclopedia of Psychiatry, Psychology, Psychoanalysis and Neurology.
Ref. RC 334 .I57 & RC 334 .I573 1983
Encyclopedia of Occultism & Parapsychology. Ref. BF 1407 .E52 1996
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions. Ref. BF 531 .E55 1999

Religion

Encyclopedia of Religion. Ref. BL 31 .E46 1987
New Schaff Herzog Encyclopedia of Religious Knowledge. Ref. BL 31 .S34
Encyclopaedia of Religion and Ethics. Ref. BL 31 .E4
New Catholic Encyclopedia. Ref. BX 841 .C25 1967
Encyclopaedia Judaica. Ref. DS 102.8 .E65
Encyclopaedia of Islam. Ref. DS 37 .E523
Encyclopaedia of Buddhism. Ref. BQ 128 .E5
Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience. Ref. BL 2525.E53 1988

Robotics

International Encyclopedia of Robotics. Ref. TJ 210.4 .I57 1988

Science & Technology

McGraw Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. Ref. Q 121 .M3 2002
Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology. Ref. TP 9 .E685 1991
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology. Ref. QA 76.15 .E5
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology. Ref. TP 1110 .E5
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology. Ref. Q 123 .E497 1987
Systems and Control Encyclopedia. Ref. QA 402 .S968 1987 & suppl.
Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering. Ref. TA 402 .E53

Sociology/Social Sciences

Encyclopedia of Sociology. Ref. HM 17 .E5 2000
International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences. Ref. H 40 .A2 I5
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice. Ref. HV 6017 .E52 1983
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior. Ref. HV 6017 .E53 2001


Statistics

International Encyclopedia of Statistics. Ref. HA 17 .I63
Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences. Ref. QA 276.14 .E5 1982 & update 1997


III. NATIONAL ENCYCLOPEDIAS

The encyclopedias below are arranged by country. The language of the text is indicated in parentheses after the title.

Australia: Australian Encyclopaedia. (English) Ref. DU 90 .A82 1977

Brazil: Grande Enciclopedia Portuguesa e Brasileira. (Portuguese) Ref. AE 37 .G72

Canada: Encyclopedia Canadiana. (English) Ref. F 1006 .E625 1977

China: Information China. (English) Ref. DS 706 .I5 1989

France: Grand Larousse Encyclopedique. (French) Ref. AE 25 .G64
La Grande Encyclopedie. (French) Ref. AE 25 .G7

Germany: Brockhaus Enzyklopadie. (German) Ref. AE 27 .G672
Meyer's Enzyklopadisches Lexikon. (German) Ref. AE 27 .M6

Israel: Encyclopedia of Zionism and Israel. (English) Ref. DS 149 .E597

Italy: Enciclopedia Italiana. (Italian) Ref. AE 35 .E5

Japan: Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan. (English) Ref. DS 805 .K633 1983
Dai Nihon Hyakkajiten. Encyclopedia Japonica. (Japanese) Ref. AE 35.2 .D3

Lithuania: Encyclopedia Lituanica. (English) Ref. DK 511 .L2 E5

Mexico: Enciclopedia de Mexico. (Spanish) Ref. F 1204 .E5 1978

Philippines: Encyclopedia of the Philippines. (English) Ref. DS 655 .G323

Portugal: Grande Enciclopedia Portuguesa e Brasileira. (Portuguese) Ref. AE 37 .G72

Soviet Union: Great Soviet Encyclopedia. (English) Ref. AE 5 .B5813
Bol'shaia sovetskaia entsiklopediia. (Russian) Ref. AE 55 .B62
Entsiklopedicheskii slovar'. (Russian) Ref. AE 55 .E6

Spain: Enciclopedia Universal Ilustrada Europeo-Americana. (Spanish) Ref. AE 61 .E6


LH:mj.rev.2/04


Created on 2/27/04 by Linda Hildebrand, / Last updated on 2/4/13 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website