Education
| By: |
Kristine
Condic
Associate Professor &
Reference Coordinator
|
Phone: (248)
370-2469
E-mail: salomon@oakland.edu |
Ask A Librarian
Feel free to call, email, chat, or stop by the reference desk if you have questions. |
ONLINE EDUCATION HANDBOOKS:
- Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research, 2010
- International Research Handbook on Values Education and Student Well-being, 2010
- Handbook of Technical and Vocational Education and Training Research, 2009
- International Handbook of Comparative Education, 2009
- Handbook of giftedness in children: psychoeducational theory, research, and best practices, 2008
- Praeger handbook of Latino education in the U.S., 2007
- Handbook of research on the education of young children, 2006
- International handbook of higher education, 2006
- International handbook of virtual learning environments, 2006
- Ourselves, why we are who we are : a handbook for educators, 2006
- International handbook of educational policy, 2005
- Learning design a handbook on modelling and delivering networked education and training, 2005
- Handbook of research on educational communications and technology, 2004
FIND ARTICLES
ERIC = Educational Resource Information Center. ERIC is the standard resource for finding articles in education. Additionally, you'll find ERIC documents including sources like books, research reports, government documents, conference papers, bibliographies, curricula and lesson plans. ERIC contains over 1,100,000 items covering 1966 through the present.
PsycINFO -
This source helps you find articles in psychology and related disciplines such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. PsycINFO is a department of the American Psychological Association (APA) and contains over over 2.5 million items. Coverage: 1806 - present.
Education Full Text - Here you'll find articles from English-language journals and yearbooks. There's some duplication with ERIC, but it's worth looking in Ed. Abstracts if you need more information.
Web of Science - Need scholarly articles? Use the Web of Science, aka Web of Knowledge, aka Social Sciences Citation Index, 1977-present. Here you'll also find who has cited whom.
ONLINE DICTIONARIES & ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development
This is an is an authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development. Written by an international team of experts, it adopts an interdisciplinary approach and covers everything from prenatal development to education, pediatrics, neuroscience, theories and research methods to physical development, social development, cognitive development, psychopathology and parenting.
Encyclopedia of Counseling
"By covering all of the major theories, approaches, and contemporary issues in counseling, the encyclopedia includes close to 600 entries. To enable the reader to understand the major approaches and themes within the field of counseling, the current encyclopedia has been divided into four volumes: (1) changes and challenges facing counseling, (2) personal and emotional counseling, (3) cross-cultural counseling, and (4) career counseling."
Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research
This annual ebook provides an overview of the latest research in the field of higher education.
Key Concepts in Early Childhood Education and Care
Cathy Nutbrown, a leading academic in early childhood education, identifies and explains key terms and practices central to the work and study of early childhood in this accessible reference text.
Philosophy of Education
The encyclopedia is designed to show the diversity of topics that contribute to the study of the philosophy of education. The core of the encyclopedia is its coverage of philosophical points of view that have had the greatest influence on educational thinking, from ancient Greece to the present.
PRINT ENCYCLOPEDIAS
- International
Encyclopedia of Education. Ref. LB 15 .I569 1994
- Encyclopedia
of Education. Ref. LB 15 .E47 2003
- Encyclopedia
of American Education. Ref. LB 17
.U54 2001
- Encyclopedia of Education and Human Development. Ref. LB 15 .E473 2005
- Encyclopedia
of Educational Research. Ref. L 901 .E57 1992
- Encyclopedia
of Special Education. Ref. LC 4007 .E53 2000
- International
Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Education. Ref. LC 191
.I49 1997
- Women in
Higher Education. Ref. LC 1569 .W66 2002
- Higher
Education in the United States. Ref. LA 225 .H54 2002
- Education
and Technology: An Encyclopedia. Ref. LB 1028.3 .E17
2004
STATISTICS
& REPORTS
- Digest of
Education Statistics. Docs. ED 1.140: (Latest edition
in Docs. Ref. and online)
- American
Education, 1870-1991: A Statistical Handbook. Ref. LA
205 .A44 1993
- Almanac of
Higher Education. Ref. LA 226 .A556 1991, 1994, and 2005
- Condition
of Education. Docs. ED 1.109: (1980-- ; latest ed. in
Docs. Ref. and online)
BIOGRAPHICAL
GUIDES
- Biographical
Dictionary of American Educators. Ref. LA 2311 .B54
- Biographical
Dictionary of Modern American Educators. Ref. LA 2311
.O55 1997
- Directory
of American Scholars. Ref. LA 2311 .D57 2002
- Pioneers
of Early Childhood Education. Ref. LB 1139.23 .P45 1998
- Pressing
Onward: The Women's Historical Biography of the National Education
Association. Ref. L 13 .N49 B88 1996
- Reflections:
Personal Essays by 33 Distinguished Educators. 3rd
floor, LA 2311 .R44 1991
- Women
Educators in the United States, 1820-1993. Ref. LA 2311
.W65 1994
TEST
ASSESSMENT
Note: The Library
does not have copies of tests.
OTHER USEFUL
TITLES
Requirements
for Certification. Ref. LB 1771 .W6
A list of state
certification requirements for teachers, administrators, counselors
and librarians for elementary and secondary schools and junior
colleges.
Patterson's
American Education. Ref. L 901 .P3
Information on
state departments of education, public school systems, superintendents,
public junior and senior high schools, principals; also private
schools, public and private colleges, professional, vocational
and prep schools. Annual.
WEB SITES
RESEARCH
CONSULTATIONS
If you need help
using these resources, fill out this webform to request a research consultation. You and a librarian can
spend thirty minutes to an hour using these resources to find
information on your topic.
EDUCATIONAL
RESOURCES LABORATORY
The Educational Resources
Lab, located in Room 350 Pawley Hall, contains a variety of
printed materials, such as pamphlets, curriculum guides, and
manuals for research and instructional purposes. Multi-media
instructional devices are also available. Special collections
in the Resource Lab include the test file mentioned above,
a children's literature collection and a collection of elementary/secondary
education texts. Most of the books in the ERL collection are
included in the Library Catalog.