eBill | Webmail | SAIL
 

Dictionaries

By: Linda Hildebrand
Assistant Professor
Reference Coordinator & Archives
Phone: (248) 370-2483
E-mail: hildebra@oakland.edu
Ask A Librarian
Feel free to call, email, chat, or stop by the reference desk if you have questions.


ENGLISH LANGUAGE DICTIONARIES

1. General

Webster's New World College Dictionary. Ref. PE 1628 .W5629 1999

Webster's Third New International Dictionary of the English Language. Ref. PE 1625 .W36 1993

Random House Webster's Dictionary of American English. Ref. PE 1628 .R2943 1997
(For learners of English as a second language)

Unabridged English language dictionaries are also kept on the dictionary stands located on the 2d, 3d, and 4th floors of Kresge Library as well as in the Reference stacks.

 

2. Etymology-Word Origins

Oxford English Dictionary. Ref. PE 1625 .O87 1989

Origins of English Words. Ref. PE 1571 . S46 1984

Barnhart Dictionary of Etymology. Ref. PE 1580 .B35 1988

3. Pronunciation

English Pronouncing Dictionary. Ref. PE 1137 .J55 1997

Pronouncing Dictionary of Proper Names. Ref. PE 1137 .P82 1993

4. Synonyms and Antonyms

Roget's International Thesaurus. Ref. PE 1591 .R73 1992

Webster's Collegiate Thesaurus. Ref. PE 1591 .W38

Bartlett's Roget's Thesaurus. Ref. PE 1591 .B35 1996

5. Rhymes

Penguin Rhyming Dictionary. Ref. PE 1519 .P4 1985

New Comprehensive American Rhyming Dictionary. Ref. PE 1519 .Y68 1991

6. Slang

A Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English. Ref. PE 3721 .P322

Picturesque Expressions: A Thematic Dictionary. Ref. PE 1689 .P5

Random House Historical Dictionary of American Slang. Ref. PE 2846 .H57 1994

Trash Cash, Fizzbos and Flatliners: A Dictionary of Today's Words. Ref. PE 1630 .L44 1993

7. Usage

Webster's New World Guide to Current American Usage. Ref. PE 2835 .R36 1988

Harper Dictionary of Contemporary Usage. Ref. PE 1680 .M59 1985

Usage and Abusage: A Guide to Standard American English. Ref. PE 1460 .P17 1995

FOREIGN LANGUAGE DICTIONARIES

1. French

Collins-Robert French-English, English-French Dictionary. Ref. PC 2640 .C69 1998

Cassell's French-English, English-French Dictionary. Ref. PC 2640 .C3 1981

2. German

Collins German-English, English-German Dictionary. Ref. PF 3640 .H28 1998

Cassell's German-English, English-German Dictionary. Ref. PF 3640 .B453 1978

3. Spanish

Collins Spanish-English, English Spanish Dictionary. Ref. PC 4640 .C53 2002

Macmillan Visual Dictionary. Ref. PC 4629 .M36 1997

Random House Latin-American Spanish Dictionary. Ref. PC 4822 .G65 1997

The titles listed above are some of the most frequently requested items. The Library owns dictionaries in many other languages. To see if the library owns a dictionary for another language search in the Library Catalog, using the pattern illustrated below:

Choose a subject search, then type [name of language] dictionaries

EXAMPLES:

chinese language dictionaries
russian language dictionaries english
(retrieves Russian/English English/Russian dictionaries)
swahili language dictionaries

SPECIALIZED SUBJECT DICTIONARIES

The following is a list of subject-oriented dictionaries which provide definitions for the specialized vocabulary of that discipline. The list is selective and you will frequently find other dictionaries and encyclopedias in the same shelf area. To find dictionaries for subjects not listed below search in the online catalog for the subject as shown below.

Choose a subject search, then type: [specific subject] dictionaries

EXAMPLES:

nutrition dictionaries
buddhism dictionaries

 

Accounting

Dictionary of Accounting. Ref. HF 5621 .D53 1999
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Accounting and Finance. Ref. HF 1001 .S525 1989

Archaeology

Dictionary of Terms and Techniques in Archaeology. Ref. CC 70 .C48 1980b
Oxford Companion to Archaeology. Ref. CC 70 .O96 1996

Architecture

Dictionary of Architecture and Construction. Ref. NA 31 .H32 1993

Art

Illustrated Dictionary of Art Terms. Ref. N 33 .R49 1984
Oxford Dictionary of Art . Ref. N 33 .O93 1997
Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Art and Artists. Ref. N 33 .T4 1994

Astronomy

Dictionary of Astronomy. Ref. QB 14 .D52 1997
Facts on File Dictionary of Astronomy. Ref. QB 14 .F3 2000

Banking & Finance

Dictionary of Finance and Banking. Ref. HG 151 .D7 1997

Biochemistry

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Ref. QD 415 .A25 O94 2000
Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Ref. QP 512 .S73 1989

Biology

Henderson's Dictionary of Biological Terms. Ref. QH 302.5 .H65 1995
Oxford Dictionary of Natural History. Ref. QH 13 .O9 1985

Botany

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Botany. Ref. QK 9 .C67 1992
Plants and Their Names. Ref. QK 96 .P35 1995

Chemistry

Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary. Ref. QD 5 .C5 1997

Computers

Dictionary of Computing. Ref. QA 76.15 .D526 1996

Drugs

Merck Index. Ref. RS 51 .M4 2001

Economics

Dictionary of Economics. Ref. HB 61 .S466 1995
Dictionary of Economics. Ref. HB 61 .B554 2002

Education

Dictionary of Education. Ref. LB 15 .G6 1973
Language of Learning: A Guide to Educational Terms. Ref. LB 15 .M32 1997
Cyclopedic Education Dictionary. Ref. LB 15 .S73 1998

Electronics

New IEEE Standard Dictionary of Electrical and Electronics Terms. Ref. TK 9 .I478 1993
Illustrated Dictionary of Electronics. Ref. TK 7804 .G497 2001

Feminism

Feminist Dictionary. Ref. HQ 1115 .K73 1985

Geography

Dictionary of Geography. Ref. G 63 .M39 1997

Geology

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Earth Sciences. Ref. QE 5 .C66 1990
Dictionary of Earth Sciences. Ref. QE 5 .D54 1999
Glossary of Geology. Ref. QE 5 .G37 1974

History

World History: A Dictionary. Ref. D 9 .W47 1994

Investment

Wall Street Words: An A-Z Guide to Investment Terms for Today's Investor.
Ref. HG 4513 .S37 2003

Law

Black's Law Dictionary. Ref. KF 156 .B53 1990
Real Life Dictionary of the Law. Ref. KF 156 .H55 1995

Linguistics

Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics. Ref. P 29 .C65 1997

Literature

Dictionary of Literary Terms. Ref. PN 44.5 .S46
Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory. Ref. PN 41 .C83 1998

Management

Dictionary of Administration and Management. Ref. HD 30.15 .B36 1986
Dictionary of Business and Management. Ref. HF 1001 .R79 1993

Marketing

Dictionary of Marketing and Advertising. Ref. HF 5415 .R577 1995
Marketing: The Encyclopedic Dictionary. Ref. HF 5412 .M47 1999

Mass Media

NTC's Mass Media Dictionary. Ref. P 87.5 .E45 1990
Webster's New World Dictionary of Media and Communications. Ref. P 87.5 .W45 1996

Mathematics

Dictionary of Mathematics. Ref. QA 5 .D4988 1999
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics
. Ref. QA 5 .I8313 1987

Medicine

Stedman's Medical Dictionary. Ref. R121 .S8 1995
Mosby's Medical, Nursing & Allied Health Dictionary. Ref. R 121 .M89 2002

Microbiology

Dictionary of Microbiology. Ref. QR 9 .S56

Military Terms

Dictionary of Military Terms. Ref. U 24 .D87 1986

Music

Oxford Dictionary of Music. Ref. ML 100 .K35 1994

Mythology

Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols. Ref. GR 35 .J6 1962
Concise Dictionary of Classical Mythology. Ref. BL 715 .G713 1990
Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion. Ref. BL 715 .O94 2003

Nursing

Dictionary of Nursing. Ref. RT 21 .D537 1994
Duncan's Dictionary for Nurses. Ref. RT 21 .D85 1989

Philosophy

Dictionary of Philosophy and Religion. Ref. B 41 .R43 1996

Physics

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Physics and Mathematics. Ref. QC 5 .M23

Political Science

Dictionary of 20th Century World Politics. Ref. JA 61 .S53 1993
Dictionary of Political Thought. Ref. JA 61. S37 1982
American Political Dictionary. Ref. JK 9 .P55 1993
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Marxism, Socialism and Communism. Ref. HX 17 .W54

Psychiatry

Psychiatric Dictionary. Ref. RC 437 .H5 1996

Psychology

International Dictionary of Psychology. Ref. BF 31 .S83 1996
Student's Dictionary of Psychology. Ref. BF 31 .S69 1993

Religion

Continuum Dictionary of Religion. Ref. BL 31 .C67 1994
New Dictionary of Religions. Ref. BL 31 .P48 1995

Science

McGraw Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. Ref. Q 123 .M34 1994

Sign Language

Random House American Sign Language. Ref. HV 2475 .C66 1994

Social Sciences

Dictionary of the Social Sciences. Ref. H 41 .D53 2002
Dictionary of Critical Social Sciences. Ref. H 41 .Y68 1999

Sociology

Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology. Ref. HM 17 .J64 2000
Dictionary of Sociology. Ref. HM 17 .C66 1998

Space Technology

Dictionary of Space Technology. Ref. TL 788 .W55 1990; 1999 edition available online through NetLibrary or follow Internet link from Voyager online catalog record.

Surnames

Dictionary of Surnames. Ref. CS 2385 .H27 1989

Technology

McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms. Ref. Q123 .M34 1994

Telecommunications

Communications Standard Dictionary. Ref. TK 5102 .W437 1996
Dictionary of Communications Technology. Ref. TK 5102 .H453 1995

Virology

Dictionary of Virology. Ref. QR 358 .R69 1997

Zoology

Concise Oxford Dictionary of Zoology. Ref. QL 9 .C66 1991; 1999 edition available online through NetLibrary or follow Internet link from the online catalog record.

LH/mj 7.91;rev.8.2001

 


Created on 12/12/06 by Linda Hildebrand / Last updated on 2/4/13 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Check out Kresge Library on Facebook Follow Kresge Library on Twitter Check out the Kresge Library mobile website