Decorative Arts

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ringl@oakland.edu


ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND OVERVIEWS

Wikipedia

Oxford Art Online Includes biographies, images and subject entries; an excellent place to begin your research.

Encarta Links to many subjects in decorative arts.

The New Georgia Encyclopedia

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Here are the subject indexes for Art and Art History

IMAGES

Camio Art Museum Images

OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.

CAMIO includes ...

RESOURCES

Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture Includes documents, images and facsimiles.

ArtLex Definitions and several cross references to related field such as enamels, metals and museums.

The Decorative Arts Their Relation to Modern Life and Progress. An address delivered by William Morris.

Internet Resources Decorative Arts Some of these sites do not pertain to the subject but most do.

American Decorative Arts From the Metropolitan Museum. There is also a search engine off to the left.

European Sculpture and Decorative Arts Metropolitan Museum.

Museums Here are the web pages from about 20 museums.

Decorative Arts in the Web Gallery of Arts

GLOSSARIES

A Glossary of Modern Terms Some of these sites do not pertain to the subject but most do.

 


Created on 2/25/09 by Daniel F. Ring / Last updated on 3/27/09 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions