Death and Dying

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying (Ref. HQ 1073 .M33 2003) 2 vols. This is the best place to begin your research as the entries are all written by scholars and topics are treated in depth. Also look at Encyclopedia of Death (Ref. BD 444 .E54 1989); also scholarly but briefer in scope. Death and the Afterlife (Ref. GT 3150 .T25 2000). This is a scholarly book that looks at such things as funeral customs, the afterlife, burial clothes and other topics such as Good Death in different cultures and religions.


DICTIONARIES

Death Dictionary (Ref. HQ 1073 .Q 54 1994)

SOURCE BOOKS

Sourcebook on Death and Dying (Ref. HQ 1073.5 .U6 .S68 1982) This book is getting a bit dated but has not been updated in a newer edition. It consists of topics like Defining Death, Estate Planning or The Right to Die and within these topics several chapters.


INDEXES

1. Social Science Abstracts. 1983 through current. Indexes English language journals in sociology, anthropology, economics, political science.

2. Sociological Abstracts. 1963 through current.

3. PsycINFO. 1887 through current. Indexes journals, book chapters, dissertations and technical reports.

4. WilsonSelectPlus. 1994 through current. Provides full text articles in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, education and business.

5. Academic OneFile 1980 - current. Good for full-text peer reviewed journals.


INTERNET SITES

Meta Sites

Death Related Weblinks -this is a very important source. It is arranged by broad topics like American Way of Dying, Understanding the Social Meaning of Dying and Death, Children and Death Attitudes, Religion and Death Attitudes and many more.

Resources (Associations, Organizations, Support Groups)

Health and Disability Resource Center - grief counseling, end of life, hospice. Can limit by country.

Links for Caregivers - final arrangements, like how to build your own casket, grief hospice and even pet loss.

Death, Grief and Mourning Resources

Growthhouse - there is a drop-down menu covering various aspects of death such as children, cancer, AIDS, palliative care, grief, etc.

Association for Death Education and Counseling - conferences, certification. Pay attention to Resources on the Web, off to the left at the bottom.

Evidence-Based Interventions to Improve the Palliative Care of Pain, Dyspnea, and Depression at the End of Life: A Clinical Practice Guideline from the American College of Physicians

Home Care for Advanced Cancer

End of Life: Exploring Death in America - includes transcripts from All Things Considered, Resources, which lists organizations, and readings, such as books and poems.

Project on Death in America - information on grants, newsletters and bibliographies.

BUBL LINK'S Death This is a collection of resources varying from the Tibetan Book of the Dead to funeral customs.


Oddities

Yahoo's Death and Dying - Covers suicide, palliative care, funeral etiquette and many other topics.

Sociology of Death and Dying -This site is something of a meta site but the organization is a bit lousy. Tab down a bit and you will see an Outline: General Resources, How We Die, Death against Culture and Time, etc. Within these topics there are further subdivisions.


Created on 12/12/06 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 9/4/08 by Daniel F. Ring,
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions