Computer Science

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


GUIDE

Guides are a good place to begin your research as they serve to identify the literature of the field.  The Computing Information Directory (Ref. QA 76 .H54 1995) provides a wealth of information on computing: journals, publishers, dictionaries in addition to the usual sources such as indexes and abstracts.
 

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND DICTIONARIES

First the dictionaries. Webster's New World Dictionary of Computer Terms (Ref. QA 76.15 .S675 1992) lists 5000 computer terms and computer technology. Computer Dictionary (Ref. QA 76.15 .S64 1993) includes the most common terms used by computer scientists and information processing personnel. More comprehensive, at least for a dictionary, is Microsoft Press Computer Dictionary (Ref. QA 76.15 .M54 1994). The IBM Dictionary of Computing (Ref. QA 76.15 .I23 1994) contains more than 22,000 entries selected from IBM's hardware and software products. Dictionary of Computer Words (Ref. QA 76.15 .D5259 1995) has the advantage of including Internet and multimedia terms. See also The Computer Glossary (Ref. QA 76.73 .A8 K38 1993). Some of our newer dictionaries include The Dictionary of Computing & Digital Media ( Ref. QA 76.15 .H318 1999) and The Dictionary of Multimedia  (Ref. QA 76.15 .H32 1999). For biographical essays on important theorists, see the International Biographical Dictionary of Computer Pioneers  (Ref.QA 76.2 .A2 L44 1995).  For quick look ups, consider these online dictionaries: FOLDOC; Webopedia; High Tech Dictionary; Jargon File.  Also look at TechEncyclopedia; Whatis.com offers a search engine and a broad subject approach.

Kresge Library also owns several encyclopedias. The Macmillan Encyclopedia of Computers (Ref. QA 76.15 .M33 1992) is a two-volume work that contains more than 200 articles. The articles are comprehensive and include diagrams and bibliographies. See also the Encyclopedia of Software Engineering (Ref. QA 76.758 .E53 1994). This is also a valuable book, alphabetically arranged, providing articles up to 15 pages with excellent bibliographies. The Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence (Ref. Q 335 .E53 1992) is a two-volume set that contains scholarly articles written primarily for the professional and secondarily for the layman who seeks an overview of the field. Contains bibliographies and diagrams. Older encyclopedias include Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology (Ref. QA 76.15 .E5), a 16-volume set which contains over 2,000 articles, alphabetically arranged. The articles are long, scholarly and include references. Volume 16 is the index. The Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Engineering (Ref. QA 76.15 .E48 1983) is a good single-volume work. It contains 550 articles ranging from short paragraphs to 10 or more pages. The McGraw-Hill Personal Computer Programming Encyclopedia (Ref. QA 76.6 .M414 1985) serves a different purpose than the above titles, its emphasis being on computer languages, their command words and statements, and the languages' capabilities. Includes overview of each language's design and architecture. The Encyclopedia of Integer Sequences (Ref. QA 246.5 .S66 1995) identifies integer sequences and serves as an index to the literature and for "locating references to a particular problem." The Computer Desktop Encyclopedia (Ref. QA 76.15 .F732 1999) provides over 8500 definitions on the computer industry. International Encyclopedia of Robotics (Ref. TJ 210.4 .I57 1988) is a 3-volume set. Each entry is written by an authority in the field and has a bibliography and cross-references to other entries. Contains more than 2000 tables and figures.
 

INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS

ACM Guide to Computing Literature.  Ref. QA 76 .C5854; 1979-1997
Indexes books, journals, proceedings, theses and Computing Reviews. There are separate author, keyword, category and proper noun indexes. Can be searched online, ACM Digital Library.

Computer & Control Abstracts & Index.  Ref. QA 76 .C548; 1969-1992
Indexes all aspects of computers and control. Each issue is arranged by class, e.g., 1200, Systems Theory; 1300, Control Theory. There is also a subject guide which is a bit imprecise. However, there are six-month cumulations of subject and author indexes which refer the reader to an abstract number in the abstract section. Each reference contains a bibliographic citation and abstract. Can be searched online. See the reference librarian.

Applied Science & Technology Index Ref.TA 1 .A1 A5
KL owns 1944 through 1998 in print format. (From 1944-1957, the title was The Industrial Arts Index.) Indexes over 300 titles in such fields as computer technology, physics and engineering. Alphabetically arranged by subject. For 1983 through current, use the online version. Click on Applied Science and Technology Abstracts.

Engineering Index.  Ref. T 351 .E5
KL owns 1950-1991 with scattered volumes for earlier years. More recent format is multi-volume. Indexes 250 international, mostly western European and English publications. In addition to the bibliographic citation, there is an abstract or summary for each citation. It is best to begin with the Ei Thesaurus (Ref. T 351 .E53 1992), and the earlier SHE, Subject Headings for Engineering (Ref. T 351 .E51 1987) which will tell you what terms to look under. Subject coverage is clearly indicated on the spine of each subject volume. There is also an author index. Publication abbreviations can be deciphered in PIE, Publications Indexed for Engineering (Ref. T 351 .E52, 1986-1988).  An online version is available covering 1970 through current--Ei Engineering Village 2.

Web of Science.
This is the online version of Science Citation Index.

Papers First.
Indexes papers presented at conferences.

Proceedings First.
Indexes conference publications.

Computer Data Base
Covers news and reviews. Coverage of journals varies.

Computing Reviews
Covers books and journals.

N.B.: If I missed something that is specfic to Kresge Library, such as another database, take a look at the pathfinder Engineering and Computer Science Resources. It's good for public databases, patents and standards.

 

STANDARDS

IEEE Standards Collection Software Engineering. Ref. QA 76.758 .I57 1997 Presents 32 software engineering standards. Also contains a glossary of software engineering terminology.
 

HANDBOOKS

The Computer Science and Engineering Handbook (Ref. QA 76 .C57315 1997) provides current information on 10 sub-fields of computer science and engineering, among them: algorithms and data structures, architecture, artificial intelligence and robotics, etc. For want of a better place, I have listed Wired Style: Principles of English Usage in the Digital Age (Ref. QA 76.15 .W55 1996) under Handbooks. It is not a style manual but it seems closer to a handbook. It is a dictionary or glossary of "cutesy" terms that you won't find elsewhere, i.e. "wonk". But there is also information that pertains to style manuals, such as "Treating Domain Names in Text."
 

DIRECTORIES

Software Encyclopedia (Ref. QA 76.753 .S67 1998; 2 vols.)
The subtitle "A Comprehensive Guide to Software Packages for Business, Professional or Personal Use, suggests the intent and purpose of this book. Volume 1 is arranged by title; volume 2 by systems compatibility/applications.
 

INTERNET RESOURCES

Web Design

Programmer's Heaven

W3 schools

Web Design References

The Web Developer's Virtual Library

WebDesignHelper

HTML Code Tutorial

Meta Sites

There are several "meta browsers" of varying quality. The Internet Public Library's  Computers and Internet  and Yahoo's Computer Science are best because they are so complete and nicely arranged. The WWW Virtual Library's Computing & Computer Science covers several categories, among them Artificial Intelligence, Cryptography, Computer Aided Design and Logic Programming, to name a few. The Voice of the Shuttle"s Cyberculture is also VERY complete. BUBL LINK has a search engine. Type in Computer Science and you will get 18 sites. There is another from College & Research LibrariesComputer Science:  A Guide to Selected Resources on the InternetIt's to my mind the best out there. I did not find a lot of other sites that I thought would be useful--I believe that you will find what you need through the meta browsers. 

Here is another Computer Science which gives a comprehensive treatment of computer science:

  • Starting Points
  • Search Engines
  • Academic Departments & Institutes
  • Algorithm Collections
  • Associations, Organizations, & Societies
  • Bibliographic Databases & Indexes
  • Bibliographies/Pre-Prints/Technical Reports
  • Biography
  • Book Reviews
  • Calculators
  • Compilers & Interpreters
  • Courses, Tutorials, and Lectures
  • Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
  • Electronic Books & Conference Proceedings
  • Employment
  • Facts & Figures
  • History
  • Journal Abbreviations
  • Journal Directories
  • Journals
  • Meetings & Conferences
  • Microsoft Development
  • News
  • Programming and Programming Languages
  • Software
  • Standards and Specifications
  • Style Guides

Created on 3/21/03 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 9/4/08 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions