Companies

By: Frank Lepkowski
Associate Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2497
E-mail: lepkowsk@oakland.edu


This is a brief, selective list of some of the most important business reference sources available in the Library. For additional information ask at the Reference Desk or consult the related Business & Economic Statistics Sources, Corporate Annual Reports and Industries brochures and the web resources page Companies.
 
 

GENERAL DIRECTORIES--UNITED STATES


D & B Million Dollar Directory. Ref. HF 5035 .M5 (also available online; logoff after using!)

LexisNexis Corporate Affiliations. Ref. HG 4057 .A219

Reference Book of Corporate Managements. Ref. HG 4057 .D85

Dun's Directory of Service Companies. Ref. HF 5035 .D88

Standard Corporation Descriptions. Ref. HG 4501 .S76636

Standard & Poor's Corporation Records. Ref. HG 4501 .S7664 (also available online through LexisNexis, 1989-present)

Mergent Complete Corporate Index. Ref. HG 4961 .M66

Mergent Industrial Manual. Ref. HG 4961 .M67 (1956-68, 1960-2003) **

Mergent Bank And Finance Manual. Ref. HG 4961 .M65 (1960-2003)**

Mergent Municipal and Government Manual. Ref. HG 4931 .M58 (1968, 1971-74, 1976-2004) **

Mergent Transportation Manual. Ref. HG 4971 .M74 (1954-2002) **

Mergent Public Utility Manual. Ref. HG 4961 .M7245 (2003) **

Mergent OTC Industrial Manual. Ref. HG 4961 .M673 (1970, 1974-2003) **

** Weekly News Reports for these titles available online (on campus only)

Ward's Private Company Profiles. Ref. HG 4057 .A58 1994

Hoover's Handbook of American Business. Ref. HG 4057 .A28617 2006

Hoover's Handbook of Private Companies. Ref. HG 4057 .A28616 2006

Hoover's Handbook of Emerging Companies. Ref. HG 4057 .A28618 2006
 

GENERAL DIRECTORIES--MICHIGAN


Michigan Manufacturers Directory. Ref. T 12 .M53 (On reserve at Circulation Desk)

Harris Michigan Industrial Directory. Ref. T 12 .M55

Dun's Regional Business Directory - Detroit. Ref. HF 5068 .D48 D8

Dun's Regional Business Directory - Michigan Metros Ref. HF 5069 .M5 D86

Michigan Business-to-Business Sales & Marketing Directory. Ref. HF 5065 .M3 M32 (2001/02)
 
 

GENERAL DIRECTORIES--INTERNATIONAL


Hoover's Handbook of World Business. Ref. HG 4009 .H6 2006

Mergent International Manual. Ref. HG 4009 .M66 (1982-2003) (Weekly News Reports available online, on campus only)

International Directory of Corporate Affiliations. Ref. HD 2741 .I57 (1988/89-1991)

Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries. Ref. HG 4538 .A1 D5 (1994)

Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States.Ref. HG 4538 .A1 D52 1995

Directory of Foreign Manufacturers in the United States. Ref. HG 4538 .A1 D57 (1990)
 
 

LISTS OF LARGEST COMPANIES


Dun's Business Rankings. Ref. HG 4057 .A237

Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies. Ref. HF 5035 .W38 (2003)

Business Rankings Annual. Ref. HG 4061 .B9 (1989--)
 
 

DIRECTORIES OF SPECIFIC INDUSTRIES OR TRADES


Fairchild's Financial Manual of Retail Stores. Ref. HG 4961 .F3 [1978-79, 1981, 1984, 1997]

Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory. Ref. HD 69 .C6 W37 (2003)

Directory of Franchising Organizations. Ref. HF 5429 .D5 (1998/99)

Advertising Red Books. Advertiser, Business Classifications. Ref. HF 5805 .S7

Advertising Red Books. Agencies. Ref. HF 5805 .S785
 
 

STOCK MARKET


Mergent's Handbook of Common Stock. Ref. HG 4905 .M815 (1968-Fall 2003)

Standard and Poor's Stock Reports. American Stock Exchange, New York Stock Exchange, NASDAQ and Regional Exchanges. Ref. HG 4905 .S72

Value Line Investment Survey. Ref. HG 4501 .V26 (Index kept at Reference Desk; latest reports on Reserve at Circulation; others, Ref. stacks)

Morningstar. (Mutual funds database. Limited to one user at a time. Please log off when done.)
 
 

PERIODICAL INDEXES & ONLINE DATABASES


ProQuest ABI-INFORM. Full image business and management articles.

Business Periodicals Index. Ref. HF 5001 .A1 B8 (1958-1997/98 in print format); available online through FirstSearch, database name: WilsonBusiness.

Predicast's F & S Index - United States. Ref. HG 4961 .F8 (1964-2000)

Wall Street Journal Index. Index Ref. HG 1 .W26 (1955-1999 in print format); available through Lexis-Nexis

Lexis-Nexis - Business. Full-text company news and financial information.

Hoover's Online

Business Source Premier, Enhanced Business Searching Interface provides access to company profiles.

 

See also the Business and Economic Resources website. 
 

INDUSTRIES


Please see separate brochure: Industries
 
 

CORPORATE ANNUAL REPORTS

Annual reports from the years 1978 to 1997 for companies listed on the New York and American stock exchanges, plus selected ones from the OTC market, are available in the Corporate Microfiche Collection. This microfiche collection is located in the southwest corner of the 2nd floor. Copies can be made in Microforms Reading Room. Printed copies for many Fortune 500 and some Michigan companies for the years 1997 through 2003 are also located in the southwest corner of the Reference area. (We no longer acquire these print reports.) For more recent annual reports, consult the companies’ websites or online databases, such as Mergent Online or EDGAR. More information is available on the separate brochure: Corporate Annual Reports.
 
 

GENERAL SOURCES OF FURTHER INFORMATION


Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources. Ref. HF 5353 .E52 2002

Strauss's Handbook of Business Information. Ref. HF 1010 .S7796 2004

Business Research Sources: A Reference Navigator. Ref. HF 54.52 .U5 B88 1999 (Also available online)

The Business Library and How to Use It. Ref. HF 5351 .B8 B87 1996

International Directory of Company Histories. Ref. HD 2721 .I63

4/7/97fl;rev.mj.11/2/06


Created on 4/7/97 by Frank Lepkowski, / Last updated on 8/8/08 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions