Careers (Print Resources)

By: Frank Lepkowski
Associate Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2497
E-mail: lepkowsk@oakland.edu


The following is a selective bibliography of materials in the Oakland University Library containing information on careers. The materials on this list focus on descriptions of various careers and occupations, the education or training required, employment and earnings prospects. Additional information may be found by searching by subject in our online Library Catalog. Do a subject search on any of the headings listed below:

  • Occupations
  • Professions
  • Vocational Guidance
  • the names of specific occupations

For online information, see the Online Resources site Careers.
 


Sources of Career Information


Occupational Outlook Handbook. (Ref. HD 8051.A62 Annual; current ed. kept on reserve at Circulation Desk; also Docs. Ref. L2.3/4 and online http://www.bls.gov/oco/ ).

Gives information on employment trends and outlooks on more than 200 occupations. Indicates nature of the work, qualifications, earnings, working conditions, related careers and sources of further information.
 

Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance. (Ref. HF 5381.E52 2008).

Five volume set containing: 1) overviews of major industries or areas of work that provide general and historical information; 2) information on specific occupations including detailed descriptions of the work, education and special requirements, history, methods of entry, advancement and earnings, employment prospects, social and psychological factors.
 

Dictionary of Occupational Titles. 1991.(Ref. HB 2595 .A5 1991; also Docs. Ref.  L 37.2: Oc 1/2/991).

Standardized detailed descriptions of job duties for over 20,000 occupations.
 

Selected Characteristics of Occupations Defined in the Dictionary of Occupational Titles. 1993 (Docs. Ref. L 37.2: Oc 1/4)

Contains supplementary information relating to the jobs listed in the Dictionary of Occupational Titles. Provides information on the physical demands, environmental conditions, training time and training requirements such as the mathematical, language or specific vocational preparation.
 

Professional Careers Sourcebook: An Information Guide for Career Planning. 2000 (Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 P76)

Profiles 111 professional careers giving job descriptions and sources of information such as career guides, associations, etc. for each.
 

Vocational Careers Sourcebook. (Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 V6 2000)

Provides descriptions of 135 vocations and gives sources of information including career guides, certification agencies, etc. for each.

College Majors and Careers: A Resource Guide for Effective Life Planning. (Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 P445 1993; kept on reserve at Circulation Desk.)

College Majors Handbook (Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 F64 1999; 2004 is e-book)

Best Jobs for the 21st Century. (Ref. HF 5381 .F456 1999; 2004 is e-book)

101 Careers: A guide to Fast-Growing Opportunities. (Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 H37 1999)

Encyclopedia of Career Change and Work Issues. (Ref. HF 5381 .E516 1992)

Specialty Occupational Outlook--Professions. (Ref. HD 8038 .A1 S66 1995)

Specialty Occupational Outlook--Trade & Technical. (Ref. HF 5382.5 .U5 S594 1996)


In addition to the Reference titles listed above there are a number of other titles available in Kresge Library that focus on more specific careers and occupations. A selective list of these titles follows:
 

Career Opportunities in Advertising and Public Relations. (HF 5828.4 .F54 2002)

Career Opportunities in the Retail and Wholesale Industry. (HF 5429 .F434 2001)

Careers in Business. (HF 5382.5 .U5 S66 1991)

Insider's Guide to the Top 20 Careers in Business and Management. (HF 5381 .I55 1993)

Career Opportunities in Computers and Cyberspace. (QA 76.25 .H46 1999)

Career Management for Scientists and Engineers. (Q 180.55 .V6 B67 2000)

How to Become a Professional Engineer. (TA 159 .H68 1997)

How to Make It in Hollywood: All the Right Moves.  (PN 1994.9 .P75 B89 1992)

Media Occupations and Professions: A Reader. (P 60 .M43 2001)

Careers in Journalism. (2005 and 2000 ed. are e-books; print ed., PN 4797 .G58 1995)

Career Opportunities for Writers. (PN 151 .G84 2000)

The Artist's Resource Handbook. (N 6505 .G72 1994)

Career Opportunities in Art. (Ref. N 6505 .H35 2001)

Career Opportunities in Theater and the Performing Arts. (PN 1580 .F5 1999)

Career Opportunities in the Music Industry. (ML 3795 .F497 2004)

Music Business Handbook and Career Guide. (ML 3795 .B33 2006)

Music, Money and Success: the Insider's Guide to the Music Industry. (ML 3790 .B72 1994)

101 Careers in Nursing. (RT 82 .A15 2003)

Nursing Today: Transition and Trends. (RT 82 .N874 1997)

Therapists and Allied Health Professionals Career Directory. 1993. (R 690 .T5)

Mental Health and Social Work Career Directory. 1993. (RA 790.5 .M4)

Career Opportunities in Education. (LB 1775.2 .E33 2001)

What Else You Can Do with a PhD: A Career Guide for Scholars. (HF 5382.5 .U5 S425 2001)

Career Paths in Psychology. (BF 76 .C38 1997)

Great Jobs for Anthropology Majors. (GN 41.8 .C35 2000; 2005 ed. is e-book)

Careers in Sociology. (HM 51 .S8975 2004)

Hi-Tech Jobs for Lo-Tech People, by Bill Schaffer. (HF 5382.5 .U5 S288 1994)

Careers for Foreign Language Aficionados and other Multilingual Types. (P 60.2 .U6 S4 1992)

Guide to Careers in World Affairs. (HF 5549.5 .E45 G79 1993)

Up the Political Ladder: Career Paths in U.S. Politics. (JK 1726 .F66 2000)

Career Opportunities in Politics, Government and Activism. (JK 692 .A94 2003)

Career Opportunities in Law Enforcement, Security and Protective Services. (HV 8143 .E24 2000)

Handbook of Career Planning for Students with Special Needs. (HV 1568.5 .H36 2003)
 

FL:mj.rev.4/2006/careers


Created on 10/98 by Frank Lepkowski, / Last updated on 3/10/09 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions