Buddhist Art

By: Daniel F Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


See also Art and Art History for a complete list of print sources. Other pathfinders that you might find useful include Chinese Art and Japanese Art

SUBJECT HEADING

Art Buddhist

PERIODICALS

See Databases in Art

ENCYCLOPEDIAS AND OVERVIEWS

Oxford Art Online An excellent place to begin your research. Includes biographies, images and search engine.

Summary of Recent Research in Buddhist Art

The Contribution of Buddhism to the World of Art and Architecture

METASITES

Buddhist Studies WWW Virtual Library

IMAGES

Camio Art Museum Images

OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.

CAMIO includes ...

 

Buddhist Art and Buddhism

Buddhism and Shintoism in Japan: A-Z Photo Dictionary: Japanese Sculpture and Art

Buddhist Art in Asia (from the Johnson Museum)

Introduction to Buddhist Art

Himalayan Art Resources Covers 35,000 images from several museums

Huntington Archive of Buddhist and Related Art See especially the black and white photograph collection.

Search the Database.

Funded by a National Endowment of the Humanities Preservation and Access Grant, this digital collection includes approximately 30,000 black and white photographs of art and architecture throughout Asia.  This body of material represents invaluable photographic field documentation conducted by John C. and Susan L. Huntington from 1969-1984, and the countries included in this collection are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma) Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand.   The goal of the digital project was to provide web access to the original images and accompanying text database for educator, scholars, and students interested in the visual arts and culture of Asia.  The photographs are copyrighted to John C. and Susan L. Huntington.

 

RESOURCES

Buddhist Art and Architecture

Tibetan Buddhist Art Good for essays; some images

Buddhist Art: Directory of Online Resources

Research in Buddhist Art Includes papers, photographs and interviews

Dunhuang Buddhist Art from the Silk Road Includes pictures and text

 

 


Created on 2/24/09 by Daniel F. Ring / Last updated on 3/10/09 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions