| By: |
Daniel F. Ring Assistant Professor |
Phone: (248)
370-2498 E-mail: ring@oakland.edu |
GUIDE
Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide. Ref. QH 303.6 .D38 1995
A good place to begin your research. Organized by broad categories, this book provides a guide to the literature including abstracts and indexes, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks as well as electronic resources.
BIBLIOGRAPHY
History of the Life Sciences: an Annotated Bibliography. Ref. QH 307.2 A1 S55
Lists 4,000 entries providing complete bibliographical information and summaries of important subjects in the life sciences. Chapter 1 covers General References and Tools and chapter 2 covers Historiography of the Life and Medical Sciences.
STYLE MANUAL
Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors and Publishers . Ref. QH 304 .S386 1994
Covers the technicalities of preparing a manuscript for publication although it could also be used for term papers. Includes the usual things we would find in a style manual, such as footnoting, and also covers grammar and word usage.
INDEXES AND ABSTRACTS
Biological & Agricultural Index. Ref. QH 1 .A1 B56 (1966-1997 in print format; 1983 through current available online through FirstSearch)
A subject index to over 200 English language journals in agriculture and biology. This is perhaps the best place to begin to look for journal articles as Kresge Library owns more of the journals indexed as compared to Biological Abstracts. And it's easy to use.Web of Science.
Online version of Science Citation Index covering articles from 1990 through current.GenSciAbs
General science literature from the US and Europe.JSTOR
Provides full text coverage of backflies. Go to advanced and click on biology.Science Direct
Provides full text coverage to 90 Elsevier journals to which we subscribe.Environment Index. Ref. TD 1 .A1 E58 (1971-1989)
The Index cumulates the author, subject, industry and accession indexes of the Environment Abstracts. The Index lists both print and non-print materials and also includes dates of annual conferences and a directory of state and federal agencies. The Abstracts provide a summary of the citation found in the Index.Biological Abstracts. Ref. QH 301 .B37 (1926-1992)
This is the place to go for a more definitive search for journal articles as it is international in coverage. A manual search can be a bit cumbersome but it is searchable on line for a fee.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology. Ref. QH 506 .E53 1994
Explains the "methods, concepts and findings of molecular biology" for the amateur and the professional. Includes diagrams and cross-references.Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology. Ref. QH 540.4 .E52 1995
Three volumes alphabetically arranged by subject. Each entry contains an outline, a glossary, cross-references and a bibliography. There is a 10,000 entry subject index at the end of volume 3.Magill's Survey of Science: Life Science Series. Ref. QH 307.2 .M34 1991
Six volumes. Includes 370 articles from 28 areas of the life sciences. Each article adheres to a common format, including definition of term, its relationship to other fields of study, a summary and a bibliography. There is an index at the end of volume 6.Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology. Ref. QH 506 .C74 1999
Molecular Biology and Biotechnology: A Comprehensive Desk Reference. Ref. QH 506 .M66155 1995
Encyclopedia of Genetics. Ref. QH 427 .E53 2002 (4 vols.)
Contains more than 1650 essays on people and topics related to genetics.Encyclopedia of Bioethics. Ref. QH 332 .E52 2004 (5 vols.)
Articles are comprehensive and include cross-references and bibliographies. An "Alphabetical List of Article Titles" is in volume 1, p. xvii.Grzimek's Encyclopedia of Evolution. Ref. QE 711.2 .G79
Not really an encyclopedia, more of a monograph with chapters by leading authorities on topics such as "The Origin of Mammals," "The Jurassic," "The Origin of Life."Encyclopedia of Evolution. Ref. QH 360.2 .O83 2002
Includes 365 articles for a varied audience that include overviews, technical and topical reports, biographies and composite articles that group two or more related topics.Encyclopedia of Biostatistics. Ref. RA 409 .E53 1999 (6 vols.)
Contains 1208 articles on statistical methods in biology and medicine.Encyclopedia of Microbiology. Ref. QR 9 .E53 2000
This four-volume set attempts to survey the field and it does a very able job of doing that. Each article includes a glossary, a lengthy summary of the subject and a bibliography of recent research.Encyclopedia of Human Biology. Ref. QP 11 .E53 1997
Encyclopedia of Microscopy. Ref. QH 211 .C54
Covers 26 kinds of microscopy, alphabetically arranged. Articles include diagrams and references.Encyclopedia of Microscopy and Microtechnique. Ref. QH 203 .G8
Comprises signed and referenced articles arranged alphabetically on instruments, techniques, descriptions, reagents and individual subjects intended for examination.Encyclopedia of Immunology. Ref. QR 180.4 .E56 1992
Encyclopedia of the Biological Sciences. Ref. QH 13 .G7 1970
Includes 800 signed and referenced articles covering the broad field of the biological sciences.
TAXONOMY
Synopsis and Classification of Living Organisms. Ref. QH 83 .S89
Consists of 8200 "synoptic articles" which provide an overview of the characteristics, biology, ecology, and distribution of the taxon.
DICTIONARIES
Dictionary of Cell & Molecular Biology. Ref. QH 575 .L24 2007
Dictionary of Biology. Ref. QH 302.5 .D5 2000
Dictionary of Biology. Ref. QH 302.5 .I534 1999
Henderson's Dictionary of Biological Terms. Ref. QH 302.5 .H65 1995
Concise Encyclopedia Biology. Ref. QH 302.5 .A2313 1996
Dictionary of Microbial Taxonomy. Ref. QR 9 .C66
Includes words for the general reader and for those seeking the usage of a word outside their discipline. Many cross-references.Biological Nomenclature. Ref. QH 83 .J43 1977
Serves as an introduction to the codes or nomenclature and as a guide to the use of the nomenclatural parts of taxonomic literature.Dictionary of Microbiology. Ref. QR 9 .S56
Includes over 1000 entries, mostly short, but some longer articles.Dictionary of Theoretical Concepts in Biology. Ref. QH 302.5 .R63
Cites 1,116 concepts and the journal articles, monographs and reviews where these concepts are explained.Facts on File Dictionary of Biology. Ref. QH 13 .T66 1981
Includes over 3,000 of the most common and important biological terms.A Dictionary of Virology. Ref. QR 358 .R69 1997
Dictionary of Immunology. Ref. QR 180.4 .R67 1989b
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Genetics, Genomics and Proteins. Ref. QH 427 .R43 2003
Life Science Dictionary
Contains 8300 definitions in biology, botany and cell biology.On-line Medical Dictionary
Useful for cell, molecular and plant biologyBiology Dictionaries
This site contains a whole slew of specialized biological dictionaries.Glossarist
Several dictionaries here, too.
HANDBOOKS
Biology Data Book. Ref. QH 310 .A392
This three-volume set consists largely of quantitative data. Volume 1 covers genetics, cytology, reproduction, development and growth. Volume 2 covers biological regulators and toxins. Volume 3 covers nutrition; digestion and excretion; metabolism; respiration and circulation; blood and other body fluids.Environmental Biology. Ref. QH 310 .A395
Contains tabular data of the effects of light, temperature, radiation, etc. on living organisms.Cell Biology. Ref. QH 581.2 .C39
Presents tabular data on various aspects of the cell including general cell characteristics; cell environment; cell periphery; mitochondria; lysosomes, peroxisomes, granules and microbodies; and the nuclei.CRC Handbook of Microbiology. Ref. QR 6 .C2 1977
Seven volumes divided as follows: Volume 1, bacteria; Volume 2, fungi, algae, protozoa, and viruses; Volume 3, microbial compositions: amino acids, proteins, and nucleic acids; Volume 4, microbial compositions: carbohydrates, lipids, and minerals; Volume 5, microbial products; Volume 6, growth and metabolism; Volume 7, microbial transformation.Statistical Tables. Ref. QH 323.5 .R63 1995
Statistical Tables for Biological, Agricultural and Medical Research. Ref. QH 324 .F52 1970
Handbook of Microbiological Media. Ref. QR 66.3 .A85 1997
Bergey's Manual of Systemic Bacteriology. Ref. QR 81 .B46 1984
Four volumes in length, this set deals with the classification of bacteria into families, tribes, and genera. It is currently being updated but only volume one has been released. The call number for it is Ref. QR 81 .B46 2001.Atlas of Virus Diagrams. Ref. QR 363 .A25 1995
Molecular Biology and Biotechnology: A Comprehensive Desk Reference Ref QH 506 M66155
INTERNET RESOURCES
Meta sites
Internet Resources for Biology
This is publication of College and Research Libraries and to my mind one of the most comprehensive sites out there. It includes meta sites, list serves, electronic journals and resources. Since this bibliography was developed in 1996, some of the links might be dead.Resources
Internet Public Library's Life Science
Online Biology Book
This is a textbook.Internet Resources for Biology
Biology Gateway
Directory of Online Biological & Life Sciences ResourcesBIOME
This is a catalog of hand selected and evaluated Internet sources.Biology Links
From Harvard UniversityInternet Resources in the Biological Sciences
Coverage includes: Anatomy & Physiology | Biographies | Biology | Botany | Dictionaries/Glossaries | Ecology/Environmental Science | Evolution | Forestry | Genetics | Government Agencies | Microbiology | Research Stations/Institutes | Societies/Organizations |Resources for Biology
Coverage includes: Anatomy, Biochemistry, Biomedical Engineering, Biophysics, Biotechnology, Botany, Companies, Developmental Biology, Employment, Evolution, Immunology, Institutes, Journals, Magazines, Marine Biology, Medicine, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Organizations, Paleontology, Physiology, VisionInternet Resources for Cell Biology
BioTech: Life Sciences Resources and Reference Tools
The Tree of Life
Contains over 4000 web pages on organisms written by experts.Kimball's Biology Pages
Contains an alpha list of terms with definitions and essays.IUCN Red List of Threatened Species
Biodiversity Hotspots
Covers 25 threatened ecosystems.
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426