Biography

By: Linda Hildebrand
Assistant Professor & Archives Coordinator
Phone: (248) 370-2483
E-mail: hildebra@oakland.edu


The purpose of this guide is to acquaint the student with the principal biographical reference sources in Kresge Library. It is not an exclusive listing but it should serve to provide basic information about significant individuals. Its scope includes both American and international persons, living and dead. For information about a person from a specific country or discipline, consult the online Library Catalog using a subject search such as france biography, mathematicians biography, etc., or consult with the Reference Librarian.

AMERICAN

Who's Who in America. 1916-present. Ref. E 663 .W56

Provides basic biographical information on notable, living Americans. Published biennially. Kresge Library also owns Who's Who in the Midwest, Ref. E 747 .W63 and Who's Who in the East, Ref. E 747 .W59 (1959-1992).

Who Was Who in America. Ref. E 663 .W54

Includes biographies formerly in Who's Who in America. Death date and interment location are frequently noted.

Dictionary of American Biography. (DAB). 11 vols. + suppls. Ref. E 176 .D56

Essay length scholarly articles of one-half page to 20 pages on famous Americans. Includes bibliographies. Colonial Period to 1965. Does not include living persons.

American Men and Women of Science. Ref. Q 141 .A47

Provides biographical sketches of prominent scientists in the biological and the social and behavioral sciences. K.L. has 10th (1960) through current editions.

Directory of American Scholars. Ref. LA 2311 .C32 (3rd-8th eds., 1957-82); .D52 (9th ed. 1999)

Covers prominent faculty scholars in the disciplines of history, philosophy, religion, law, foreign languages, linguistics, philology, English, speech and drama.

Who's Who in American Politics. 1967- Ref. E 176 .W6424

Chronicles the laws of 23,566 politically active men and women," including the President and cabinet members, state delegations to Congress, governors, state and local officials.

National Cyclopaedia of American Biography. Ref. E 176 .N27

Most comprehensive American work. The Cyclopaedia is arranged in two parts: A "current" series (latest 1984) which cites living Americans and a permanent series which cites dead Americans. The index covers both series.

Appleton's Cyclopaedia of American Biography. Ref. E 176 .A655

Contains articles, many portraits and signatures. Useful for names not included in the DAB., but some entries are not accurate. Alphabetically arranged in 7 vols. including index.

INTERNATIONAL

The International Year Book and Statesmen's Who's Who. 1961- Ref. JA 51 .I57

Gives biographies of world leaders in government, church, commerce, industry and education. Published annually.

Current Biography. 1940- Ref. CT 100 .C8

Published monthly with annual cumulations. Coverage includes 300-350 biographies annually of persons of different occupations and professions who are prominent in the news. One to two pages with portraits.

Dictionary of International Biography. 1967-1990/91. Ref. CT 101 .D5

150,000 biographies. Includes names not found in the two following entries. Published annually.

The International Who's Who. 1960- Ref. CT 120 .I5

Brief biographical information on people throughout the world. Published annually.

Who's Who in the World. 1971- Ref. CT 120 .W5

Contains over 25,000 entries from 150 countries. Similar to the International Who's Who but includes entries not found there. Published annually.

Dictionary of National Biography. (DNB). Ref. DA 28 .D47

Coverage includes important dead people of the United Kingdom and colonies including Americans of the colonial period. Contains signed articles by specialists. Includes biblio-graphies. Kept current with supplements. Excludes living persons.

Who's Who. 1889- Ref. DA 28 .W6

Biographical information on prominent persons. Primarily British, but includes prominent names from other nationalities. Published annually.

Webster's Biographical Dictionary. Ref. CT 103 .W4

A single volume work containing brief, biographical information on over 40,000 famous persons. Includes pronunciation guide for names.

Who Was Who. 1897- Ref. DA 28 .W65

Original entries from Who's Who are reprinted with death date added. Infrequently, additional information has been added.

Contemporary Authors. 1962- Ref. CT 104 .A1 C58 & C59

". . . a bio-bibliographical guide to authors and their works". International in scope. Provides up to date information on authors in many fields. Sketches cite personal facts, writings and works in progress.

Dictionary of Twentieth-Century World Biography. Ref. CT 120 .D53 1992

New York Times Biographical Service. 1978-98 Ref. CT 120 .N45

Contains "general interest" biographies from NYT.

INDEXES

Biography and Genealogy Master Index. Ref. CT 213 .B56; also available online (see Online Sources below).

Indexes 3,200,000 biographies from 350 current and retrospective biographical dictionaries. Kept up to date with supplements.

Biography Index. 1946-99 Index Ref. CT 100 .A1 B56; July 1984 through current available online through FirstSearch (see Online Sources below).

Index to biographical information appearing in books, periodicals and newspapers.

Personal Name Index to the New York Times Index. 1851-1989. Ref. CT 104 .F28

Cites around 3,000,000 names from the Times index. Refers patron to the year and page number in the New York Times Index. (For more current New York Times articles, see Online Sources link below.)

The New York Times Obituaries Index. 1858-1968. Ref. CT 213 .N47

Includes all names that appeared under the heading Death in the New York Times Index.

ONLINE SOURCES

Listed below are some online sources containing biographical information that may be helpful. Follow the links below. They also may be accessed from the Kresge Library home page (http://library.oakland.edu). Once on the home page, select All Databases from the Express Links drop box for an alphabetical listing.

Biography & Genealogy Master Index

Biography Index

Lexis-Nexis, select Reference, then Biographical Information

New York Times

LH/3/11/85rev.6/26/03.mj/biography/br3


Created on 3/11/85 by Linda Hildebrand, / Last updated on 9/4/08 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions