| By: | Daniel
F Ring Assistant Professor |
Phone: (248)
370 2498 E-mail: ring@oakland.edu |
This pathfinder will list Internet sites only. For print sources in anthropology and archaeology and periodical indexes, see Anthropology.
Gateways and Meta Sites
Internet Resources for Archaeology - Covers:
Starting Points | Archives, Databases, and Information Sources | Exhibits | Museums | Societies, Associations, and Other Organizations | University Departments, Programs, and Centers | Mailing Lists and News Groups | Regional Resources | Other Sites of Interest. This is a good place to begin your research.New Testament Gateway - Good for biblical archaeology.
Archaeology Gateway - Covers topics regions and see the Table of Contents, especially digital collections and general links.
Archaeology Resources on the Internet- Covers regions, topics, networking, documentation, academic departments. Great source.
Voice of the Shuttle - Covers:
Yahoo - Covers many topics such as garbology, mummification, Egyptology, to name a few.
Encyclopedia Entries and Overviews
Encyclozine - Several links in this short entry.
Christian Archaeology - Many links in this lengthy essay from the Catholic Encyclopedia.
Dictionaries and Glossaries
Alphadictionary.com - There are several dictionaries on this site.
General Resources
ArchAtlas - Provides satellite imagery of the spread of agriculture, trade and urbanism.
Archnet Homepage - This site has a number of great features: a search that allows basic and advanced searches; regional views whereby you can click on a continent and be taken to a number of links; and Topical Selections, that takes you to a number of alpha arranged sites.
Bubl Link - Covers:
- Ancient Near East and the Mediterranean World
- Archaeolink.com
- Archaeometallurgical Links
- Archaeometallurgy in Archaeological Projects
- Asian Historical Architecture: Photographic Survey
- BBC History: Archaeology
- I Dig Sheffield
- Iraq: The Cradle of Civilization at Risk
- Roma Sotterrane
Online Archaeology - Look off to the left and you will see links to articles, books, jobs, blogs, etc.
Archaeology Links - Good for societies and esoteric topics.
Historical Archaeology on the 'Net - Covers:
Bibliographies | Reference Books | Companies Doing Historical Archaeology | Funding Sources |
| Library | Historical Archaeology Links | Historical Archaeology Discussion Lists | Other Stuff | Email |
Archaeology Data Service - "The Archaeology Data Service (ADS) supports research, learning and teaching with high quality and dependable digital resources. It does this by preserving digital data in the long term, and by promoting and disseminating a broad range of data in archaeology. The ADS promotes good practice in the use of digital data in archaeology, it provides technical advice to the research community, and supports the deployment of digital technologies." You can search by maps, resources or do basic and advanced searches.Internet Archaeology - This is an e-journal.
The Comparative Archaeology Web - Covers news, articles, books, bibliographies, chronologies, site reports and other resources.
Archaeology Interactive Dig- Sites change; here are some recent ones.
Black Sea Shipwreck Research Project
Join Benjamin Goetsch and his team and their international colleagues as they finish excavation of the Pisa Wreck and begin a survey off the coast of Crimea.Unlocking a Civil War Prison
Join archaeologist David Bush beyond the "dead line" at Johnson's Island, Ohio. This season, investigation of the prison hospital continues.City in the Clouds
We take you back to Sagalassos, a classical city perched high in the mountains of southwestern Turkey.About Archaeology
Look at the navigation bar at the left and you will find topics including ideas for term papers.
Resources by Area
A Mesoamerican Archaeology Web Site
Chronological Table of Mesoamerican Archaeology
Pre-Columbian Archaeology Sites
Archaeological Resource Guide for Europe
Other regional sources:
Aerial & Remote Archaeology - Africa Archaeology - Archaeoastronomy - Asia Archaeology - Australia / Oceania Archaeology - British Archaeology - Canada Archaeology page 1 - Canada Archaeology page 2 - Central America / Caribbean Archaeology - Egypt Archaeology - Europe Archaeology Page 1 - Europe Archaeology Page 2 - Greece / Aegean Archaeology - Archaeology General Resources - Marine Archaeology - Mexico Archaeology - Middle-East Archaeology - North America Archaeology General Res. - Roman Empire Archaeology - South America Archaeology - US Archaeology General Resources - Zooarchaeology
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426