African Art

By: Daniel F Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


This pathfinder will list only web resources. For print sources and online periodical indexes see Art and Art History and African History.

Encyclopedia articles and overviews

Grove Art Online - This is the place to explore your topic. You can search by topic or browse. Log off when done.

African Art - Short essays on several topics; probably more useful for the links. Covers:

 

Museums and Galleries (not noted in other aggregations)

The Jembetat Gallery of African Art

Museum of Fine Arts Houston

African Art.com - Items for sale but you can search by tribe or topic.

Authentic Africa - This is a commercial site covering many art forms.

African Art Gallery - Commercial site with links to many art forms.

African Contemporary Art Gallery - Commercial site covering paintings, sculpture and ceramics.

 

Images

Google Images - This site will have more images than what you can look at in a lifetime. You can narrow it down by putting another word or phrase in the Google search box.

Traditional African Art - Covers masks, clothing, furniture, sculpture.

African Art Western Eyes - This site presents both images and narrative.

Art of West Africa - This site is divided into two parts: Museum Quality Collection and Decorative Collection.

Art Images for College Teaching

Camio

"— OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed. "

CAMIO includes ...
  • Photographs
  • Prints
  • Sculpture
  • Paintings
  • Decorative Arts and Utilitarian Objects
  • Drawings and Watercolors
  • Costume and Jewelry
  • Textiles
  • Architecture
  • and more ...

Masks

The Art of the African Mask - Covers spirits, ancestors and rulers.

Magical Faces of Africa

African Art, Crafts and Masks

Resources

African Studies - This is an outstanding collection of sites, alpha arranged. The range of topics is encyclopedic, everything from museums, exhibits to art forms.

The Arts of Africa - Extensive listing of sites. Arranged by chronology and by topic.

The Art of Africa - Use this for general resources such as timelines and online museum collections and exhibits. There is also a large collection of images.

Collecting African Art - This site covers museums and galleries specializing in African art, books and journal articles, and other online resources.

African Art - This site is a gallery and covers masks, bronze and a few other categories.

African Art on the Internet - This is an extensive collection of sites, alpha arranged.

African Art and History Links - This site covers university, museum and gallery sites and other esoteric links to masks, etc.

Modern African Art A Basic Reading List

Africancolours.net - This site is good for information on African Artists.

Art and Life in Africa - This is an extensive listing of sites and here are some of the topics covered:

DVDs on African art

Photos of Ghana and Burkina Faso

Music of Burkina Faso

Streaming video of Ghana and Burkina Faso

Peoples of Africa

African countries

Search the Stanley Collection database

Resources for Art and Life CD-ROM

Links to related sites

Traditional and Contemporary African Art - This is a short essay with many links to topics like masks, textiles, etc.

Tribal African Art - Use the navigation bar to the left to locate a tribe.

Contemporary African Art from the Harmon Foundation - Good for country and artist information.

Warren M Robbins Library, National Museum of African Art - Covers:

Artlex - Contains many examples of African Art.

Voice of the Shuttle - This site is an extensive listing of general and specfic sites.

Virtual Museum of Contemporary African Art - Links to artists, events, publications, museums, etc.

 


Created on 8/1/07 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 9/4/08 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions