| Future Students | Current Students | Faculty & Staff | Alumni | Visitors | Help / Search | OAKLAND UNIVERSITY |
| About OU | Academics | Research | Arts | Athletics | Library | IT | Administration | Jobs | News |
| By: |
Daniel F. Ring Assistant Professor |
Phone: (248)
370-2498 E-mail: ring@oakland.edu |
This pathfinder will consist mostly of Internet sources. Since it crosses two other major disciplines, Religion and Sociology, the reader is directed to these pathfinders for a listing of print sources and the appropriate print sources and indexes.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
There are a few "encyclopedia" type articles which introduce the reader to the concept of the Sociology of Religion. They include: Sociology of Religion which encapsulates the ideas of Durkheim, Marx and Malinowski; The Sociology of Religion, which has a Durkheimian emphasis and Sociology of Religion (what else?). And here is another one with the same title and it is the best in this genre. Sociology of Religion. Look off to the left and you will see "Other Sites of Interest " and definitions.
DICTIONARIES
Concise Dictionary of Religion
The Max Weber Dictionary. Ref. HM 425 .S94 2005
META SITES
SOSIG - This is the best meta site that I found -- very clear organization: journals, full text and contents; organizations; papers; books; research centers; resource guides.
RESOURCES
Hartford Institute for Religion Research - I like this resource the best. It covers online articles, bibliographies and syllabi, sociologists of religion, associations and research resources. In the latter, I found research methodology sites.
Anthropology of Religion Links and Lists. Picks up discussion lists, journals, bibliographies, organizations, etc.
YAHOO'S Sociology of Religion - There are a couple of sites that you will find interesting, especially those with full texts on the Sociology of Religion (auf Deutsch) and some related to Max Weber.
Sociology of Religion - This is an English source with no organization; it's a hodge-podge of organizations, meta sites and anything that seemed to strike the fancy of the writer who prepared the site. Look at it carefully--I found one site where you can purchase term papers on the sociology of religion.
Religious Movements Page (from the University of Virginia) - This is an outstanding source for encyclopedic scope of different religions. The essays are long and contain links to other subjects.
Center for Studies of New Religions
H- AmRel - This is a discussion site.
Weberian Sociology of Religion - Includes his texts, an Introduction and other sites on Weber.
Center on Religion and Democracy - Students will find the library useful as it has links to such source material as the Salem witch trials, legal documents and other reference works.
Anthropology of Religion - Covers various religions.
Google Directory: Sociology of Religion
Pew Forum on Religion and Public Life - Covers research news and discussion.
STATISTICS and MODELS
American Religion Data Archive - provides data on churches, church membership and religious groups.
Adherents.com - This site would answer "How many Methodists live in Indiana?" or " What percentage of Jews are Reformed?"
Real International Statistics on Religion
Church Growth Modeling - This site does have some resources encountered elsewhere on this page but the modeling and statistical information are off to the left.
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426