Russian Art

By: Daniel F. Ring
Reference Librarian
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


This pathfinder will focus exclusively on Internet sites. For print sources, such as encyclopedias, or online indexes such as Art Abstracts, see the Art and Art History pathfinder. You may also want to consult Russian History.

META SITES

World Wide Web Virtual Library: Russian History Index, Cultural History
Here you will find listings of sites on photography, museums, some of which are covered below, and other cultural sites.

Russian Studies: Sites to Link You to History, Politics and Culture
Most of the art sites are already noted in this pathfinder below. This site will give you a more global view of Russian Internet sites.

SEELRC Webliographies: Russian Webliography
Many sites here. See especially Russian History and Culture.

ONLINE ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Grove Art Online This is the best place to begin your research.

Hutchinson's Encyclopaedia
This is a searchable encyclopedia. The entries for Russian art are short and arranged by century and there are some links to artists.

Encyclopedia.com
Short entries from antiquity to the 20th century.


DISCUSSION SITES

ArtHist: H-Net Information Network for Art History


ICONS AND ICONOGRAPHY

Russian Icon Painting
This is narrative and explains what icons are, how they are made and famous icon paintings.

Olga's Gallery
This too is mostly narrative with links to famous iconographers and icons.

Novgorodian Icon Painting
Narrative.

Russian Icons: Index
Arranged alphabetically by title.

Russian Iconography on the Internet
This is a complete listing of iconography sites.

Icon Painting: Grand Masters and Major Schools

Andrei Rubilov Museum

Novgorod Online There are sites on icons here.

Evolution of Style in the Muscovite Icons

Miscellaneous Icons


RESOURCES

Russian Painting
This is great site, one of the best that I have come across. It covers icons, 18th-20th centuries.

Resources for Russian Art
Lists the major reference books in this field such as guides, encyclopedias, etc. Assumes a knowledge of Russian and a few other languages but some titles are in English.

A Brief Overview of Major Movements in Russian Art after 1850

Russian Art: 19th and 20th Centuries
Arranged by name of artist.

Olga's Gallery
Arranged by artist.

Google Directory
Here are some of the sites you will find:
I vazovsky, Ivan (4)
Briullov, Karl (5)
Chagall, Marc (14)
Contemporary (3)
Galleries (2)
Kandinsky, Wassily (5)
Korovin, Konstantin (7)
Levitan, Isaac (7)
Lissitzky, El (1)
Malevich, Kasimir (3)
Personal Pages (13)
Photography (8)
Repin, Ilya (9)
Serov, Valentin (7)
Shopping (5)
Soviet Era (4)
Virtual Galleries (15)

Online Art Gallery
Arranged by movements and painters.

Sher's Russian Index
A listing of art and cultural sites.

Saint-Petersburg Official Web Site
This is a collection of painting sites in the city's environs.

The Picture Gallery of I K Aivazovski

New Gallery
This is an online gallery; focus is on modern art.

Russian Empire, 1895-1910: Keystone-Mast Collection
Photographs.

Russian Art
Arranged by artists with links to works.

Introduction to Russian Civilization
This is course syllabus. Here are some of the topics covered:
* Course Syllabus
* Web Resources
* The Orthodox Church: history, doctrine, art, and architecture
* The last years of "Old Russia" and the advent of Peter the Great
* Portrait Painting Under Elizabeth and Catherine
* Russian Painting during The Age of Romanticism
* Russian Thought in the Nineteenth Century
* Russian Realist Art
* The Slavic Revival and the World of Art (Mir iskusstva)
* Russian Art of the Avant-Garde
* Link to PowerPoint Lecture Slides
* Link to Research Guide (NEW!)

Russian Art
Good for the 20th century.

From Russia with Art
Click on Visual Arts. Arranged by artists, works and a searchable database.

Russian Paintings
Emphasis on 20th century. Links to articles and gallery areas, among others.

Russian Cultural Life
Scroll to the bottom and you will find links to painters and some other sites already covered in this pathfinder.

Russian Art . Russian Artists . Russian Culture
This is good for some online journals and links to artists.

Resources on Russian Art
Scroll down to III, "Selected Resources on Individual Russian Painters" and you will fnd sites on specific painters.

Famous Russian Museum Paintings

Russian Art and Architecture
This is mostly narrative covering icons, modern art and architecture.

Virtual Museum of Russian Primitive

Web Gallery of Art
This site picks up about four Russian artists. I have preset the index to Russian but it may not stay there. Short bios with links and paintings.

Stalinka: Digital Library of Staliniana

Russian Studies: Art/Architecture History

Images

Camio

OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.

CAMIO includes ...
  • Photographs
  • Prints
  • Sculpture
  • Paintings
  • Decorative Arts and Utilitarian Objects
  • Drawings and Watercolors
  • Costume and Jewelry
  • Textiles
  • Architecture
  • and more ...

ART GALLERIES AND MUSEUMS (you will get virtual tours and/or exhibits of collections)

Museums in Russia
This is a listing of 515 museums in Russia. Some of the more prominent ones, whose links work, are below.

Ekaterinburg Museum of Fine Arts

The State Russian Museum

The State Hermitage Museum

The Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts

Yaroslavl Museum of Fine Arts

The Sergiev Posad Museum-Reserve

The National Museum of Russian Fine Art

TIMELINES

Russian Visual Arts 1750-1900

SUNDRY

Why Study History?

What are Primary Sources

STYLE MANUALS

History: Documenting Sources

Citing Electronic Information in History Papers

 


Created on 6/10/05 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 8/8/08 by MJ
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions