Roman Art


By: Daniel F Ring
Assistant Professor

Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


For print sources see the pathfinder Art and Art History. Pay particular attention to the encyclopedias.

Subject Heading in the online catalog: Art, Roman

ENCYCLOPEDIA ARTICLES AND OVERVIEWS

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture. Ref. N 5610 .G76 2007

MSN Encarta: Roman Art and Architecture

Roman Art and Architecture

Grove Art Online This is an excellent place to begin your research. Note the search engine at the top right.

IMAGES

Camio

"CAMIO ® — OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.

CAMIO includes ...

Artlex

Images of Roman Art and Architecture

Galleries, Myth in Classical Art

Greek and Roman Art in the Ancient World

Greek and Roman Art - From the Metroplitan Museum of Art.

Ancient Rome - This site consists of images and narrative.

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Databases in Art

RESOURCES

Roman Art and Architecture - This site is at the bottom of Ancient Rome.

Classical Art Research Centre The Beazley Archive - This site is especially good for images but there is also a searchable database. and a dictionary.

TIMELINES

Timelines/Regions - Click on the time period you want and then "Italian Penninsula."

GLOSSARIES

Roman Art and Architecture


Created on 1/07/09 by ;Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 3/10/09 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions