Renaissance Art

By: Daniel F Ring
Reference Librarian
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


See Art and Art History for general reference and Internet sites. This pathfinder will focus on reference and Internet sites specific to the Italian and Northern Renaissance Art. The pathfinder Italian Renaissance History might also be useful.

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of the Renaissance. Ref. CB 361 .E52 1999
This six volume set is THE place to begin your research.

LAROUSSE Encyclopedia of Renaissance and Baroque Art. Ref. N 6350 .H813

A Concise Encyclopedia of the Italian Renaissance. Ref. DG 445 .C66

The Encyclopedia of the Renaissance. Ref. CB 361 .B43 1987

 

DICTIONARIES

The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance. Ref. CB 361 .C27 2003

Dictionary of the Renaissance. Ref. CB 361 .S45

 

HANDBOOK

The Handbook of Italian Renaissance Painters. Ref. ND 615 .G3313 1999

 

PERIODICAL INDEXES

Art Abstracts

Art and Humanities Citation Index - Use this to see who cited who.

HumanitiesAbs

WilsonSelectPlus - Full text articles for a college audience.

Project Muse - Indexes full text articles in the humanities.

JSTOR - Full text retrospective coverage of about 42 art journals. Use the ADVANCED feature and click on art and art history.

Academic One File - Use this to find peer reviewed journals.

INTERNET SITES

Overviews

The Civilization of the Renaissance in Italy by Jacob Burkhart.

Backgrounds to the Italian Renaissance

Italian Renaissance

Renaissance Art and Architecture

Italian Renaissance Art

 

Internet Sites for the Italian Renaissance

Overviews

Grove Art Online - This essay is a good place to explore your topic. Covers the Northern Renaissance too.

The Civilization of the Renaissance in Italy by Jacob Burkhart

Early Italian Renaissance

Art of the Renaissance

Italian Renaissance

Renaissance Art and Architecture

Italian Renaissance Art

Renaissance Art and Architecture - Not to be confused with the above site. This one is more extensive.

The High Renaissance and Mannerism - This site is from a "book." Look off to the left and you will see links to the early and high Renaissance.

Renaissance - This is a six-page essay from Encarta. Look off to the left and you will see additional subjects.

The Renaissance 1350 -1550 - This 14-page essay limns the highlights of the Renaissance. Focus is on Italy but other countries are considered.

Resources

Fresco Wall Murals

Art History: Renaissance - This is good for biography and links to galleries.

Examples of Renaissance Works of Art

Renaissance Art in Italy

Italian Renaissance Architecture

Renaissance Art and Architecture

Italian Renaissance

Life in Italy - Look off to the left and you will see several sites on the Renaissance.

Mythology and Ideology in Italian Renaissance Art

Images of Renaissance Art :Italian Art

Renaissance Art Links

Web Gallery of Art - Arranged by artists.

Drawings of Italian Painters

Leonardo Da Vinci Web Site

Renaissance Sculpture

Early Renaissance - Arranged by artist; good for images.

High Renaissance - Ditto.

Renaissance and Baroque Architecture

The Renaissance - Scroll down and you will see a section on art and architecture.

Guided Tours - Covers 14 guided tours of the Italian and Northern European Renaissance.

Digital Michelangelo Project

Leonardo Da Vinci Master Draftsman - This is an interactive site from the Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Michelangelo Buonarroti - This site is good for biography.

Renaissance and Baroque Art Links

Art Images for College Teachers

Images

Camio

"OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online - is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.

CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed."

CAMIO includes ...
  • Photographs
  • Prints
  • Sculpture
  • Paintings
  • Decorative Arts and Utilitarian Objects
  • Drawings and Watercolors
  • Costume and Jewelry
  • Textiles
  • Architecture
  • and more ...

Discussion Groups

H-Italy - Look off to the left and you will see discussion groups for art and architecture.

H-ARTHIST - This site is more general. Use for Northern Renaissance also.

Glossaries

Glossary - Useful for Northern Renaissance


Internet Sites for the Northern Renaissance

Investigating the Renaissance - "Examining material aspects of three early Netherlandish paintings using digital imaging techniques."

European Art in the Renaissance - Scroll down a bit and you will find several essay sites on both Renaissances.

The High Northern Renaissance - This is an essay. Several links at the bottom.

Renaissance Art in Northern Europe - This ia a lengthy essay.

Artists by Movement :The Northern Renaissance

Northern Renaissance ArtWeb - Good for biography and paintings.

 

Writing Resources

Writing Resources for Students - Covers annotated bibliographies, plagarism, etc.

 


Created on 3/23/07 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 9/4/08 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions