| By: |
Mildred Merz |
Phone: (248)
370-2457 E-mail: merz@oakland.edu |
TURN OFF POP-UP Blockers!
Step 1—Create an account New users MUST create an account before getting started. Link above the log-in boxes. (Be sure that you give your OU e-mail account when you register.)
Step 2— Log in to RefWorks. Direct link from the Library’s homepage (http://library.oakland.edu/) (In right hand corner, above black navigation bar.)
Step 3—Export records from database. Follow similar steps for each database. “Mark” items and the either click on RefWorks icon or Export option and choose the Refworks.
(Detailed instructions for exporting from each database can be found on “Databases A to Z” page that you get to from “Find Articles.”)
Step 4—Create folder/folders for your bibliographic records. Click on “Folders” in the toolbar and then “Create New Folder” in the drop down menu. (View “Organizing your references” tutorial from our RefWorks page.)
Step 5—Put your imported references into the appropriate folders. A reference can be placed in more than one folder. It is easiest to do this right after you import the references since they are then in the “Last Imported Folder.”
Step 6—Importing references from the Library Catalog
Step 7—Add references manually. Sometimes you have references that you find in books and bibliographies that you need to add “by hand.” Click on “References” in the tool bar and then on “Add New Reference” in the drop down menu. (View “Manually Adding and Editing References” tutorial from our RefWorks page.)
Step 8— Create a bibliography from your references. Click on “Bibliography” in the tool bar, choose your output style, (APA, MLA) and select a folder of reference you want to use, select the type of file to create (word, html) click “create bibliography”. (View “Creating a formatted bibliography” tutorial from our RefWorks page.)
Step 9—Share folders. Click on “Folders” in the tool bar and then on “Share Folders” in the drop down menu. You can share folders with your fellow students, with your professor, or with anyone. Those with whom you share folders do NOT need to have a RefWorks account. Be sure to click on “Allow users to post comments on references” when you share a folder with your instructor. Every time the person with whom you shared your folder views your folder he/she will see the latest version. (View “Sharing reference lists with collaborators” tutorial from our RefWorks page.)
Step 10—Save a folder shared with you to your own RefWorks account. This involves “exporting” the shared folder to RefWorks.
1. Click on "all in list" on the folder that was shared with you.
2. Click on "export."
3. Click on "Export to RefWorks."
4. If you are doing this from home, you will have to get to the OU RefWorks login first--by typing in an access code (for our web site): RWOakUniv
5. Then you will log into your RefWorks account.
6. Click on "last imported folder."
7. If you have a folder for the items, then click on "all in list" and then "put in folder."
8. If you don't have a folder for them, create a folder first--and then do step 7.
Step 11 – Importing web pages. Download the Refgrab-It plug-in found under TOOLS. Select the right plug-in for the browser you are using. Once installed simply bookmark the page you want to grab and select Refgrab-It from your bookmarks. Refworks will open and prompt you to log-in if you don’t already have it open.
Merz, rev.9.28.08/Rodriguez, rev.10.30.08/mj.10.1.09
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426