Public Administration

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

International Encyclopedia of Public Policy and Administration. (Ref. H 97 .I574 1997)

DICTIONARIES

Biographical Dictionary of Public Administration. (Ref. JA 61 .W54 2001)

Public Administration Dictionary. (Ref. JA 61 .F69 1995)

Public Administration Dictionary. (Ref. JA 61 .C47 1988)

The Dictionary of Public Policy and Administration. (Ref. H 97 .S483 2004)

 

GUIDES (We have several Guides, some of them getting to be dated but they have not been revised.)

Information-Finding and the Research Process: A Guide to Sources and Methods for Public Administration and the Policy Sciences. (Ref. JF 1351 .A1 S53 1993)

Public Administration in American Society: A Guide to Information Sources. (Ref. JK 421 .R63)


SOURCES

Basic Documents of American Public Administration, 1776-1950. (Ref. JK 411 .B3)

Basic Source Materials in Public Administration. (Ref. HT 167 .A1 C6 no.603)



ALMANACS (both of the titles below are good for information on US Senators and Representatives)

Almanac of American Politics. (Ref. JK 1012 .A44)

Politics in America. (Ref. JK 1012 .P64)

ADDRESSES AND PHONE NUMBERS

Congressional Directory. (also available at Ref. Desk JK 1011)

United States Government Manual. (also available at Ref. Desk JK 421 .A3)

Washington Information Directory. (Ref. Desk F 192.3 .W33)


STATISTICS

Statistical Abstract of the United States. (also available at Ref. Desk HA 202 .S7)

HANDBOOKS

Handbooks are not traditionally reference books. I include a few nonetheless. They are on the 3rd floor.

Handbook of Public Administration. (JF 1351 .H276 1996)

Handbook of Research Methods in Public Administration. (JF 1338 .A2 H34 1999; also available online. Search by title in the Library Catalog and choose the Electronic Resource record. Click on the Internet link.)


ONLINE INDEXES

Social Science Abstracts. (SocSciAbs)

Sociological Abstracts (SocAbs)

Papers First - Indexes papers presented at conferences worldwide

LexisNexis - Law, current affairs, congress

JSTOR - Provides full-text back files for 26 political science journals; be sure to click on Political Science or Public Policy and Administration

Index to Legal Periodicals

WilsonSelectPlus
- Full text coverage of academic journals

Social Science Citation Index

Political Science:Sage Full Text

PAIS International

PAIS International Archives

Academic OneFile Peer reviewed full text articles.



INTERNET

Meta Sites

Public Administration Metasites From the University of Syracuse, here is a comprehensive list of meta-sites.

Resources

Internet Resources for Political Science and Public Administration Students
This is an outstanding source: federal and foreign governments, public interest groups, political parties, think tanks. A good place to begin your research.

State and Local Government on the Net: A Directory of Official State, County and City Websites

Statistics

Statistical Sources

United States Government Information: Statistics

Organizations, Associations, Research Centers, Foundations, Institutes

Yahoo’s Public Administration: Organizations

Yahoo’s Public Administration: Institutes

Public Administration: Information Sources
This site is for professional associations and nongovernmental associations.

Public Affairs Links
This site is good for public affairs websites and institutions.

Public Administration and Policy
From the University of Albany, some of this site is New York specific but there are many associations, etc. plus Think Tanks.

Public Administration Professional Associations

H-PUBADMIN
This is a discussion group.

Selected Public Administration Sites on the Web

 


Created on 12/12/06 by Daniel F. Ring; / Last updated on 9/4/08 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions