Middle Eastern History and Politics

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East. (Ref. DS 43 .E53 2004) This is a multi-volume title that contains scholarly articles.

Encyclopedia of the Palestinians. (Ref. DS 113.6 .E53 2000)

Concise Encyclopedia of the Middle East. (Ref. DS 43 .H47)


DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of the Middle East. (Ref. DS 43 .H57 1996)

The Middle East Political Dictionary. (Ref. DS 61 .Z58 1984)

The United States in the Middle East: A Historical Dictionary. (Ref. DS 63.2 .U5 S384 1998)

A Popular Dictionary of Islam. (Ref. BP 40 .N48 1992)

The Oxford Dictionary of Islam. (Ref. BP 40 .O95 2003)


CHRONOLOGIES

Gulf Crisis Chronology. (Ref. DS 79.72 .G818 1991)

Persian Gulf War Almanac. (Ref. DS 79.72 .S862 1995)

Political and Diplomatic History of the Arab World, 1900-1967: A Chronological Study. (Ref. DS 62.8 .M35)


COMPANIONS

The Longman Companion to the Middle East since 1914. (Ref. DS 62.4 .O94 1998) This book is good for factual information like short biographies, chronologies, glossaries, rulers, etc.

The Arab-Israel Dispute. (Ref. DS 119.7 .P4497 1996)


COUNTRY INFORMATION

The Europa World Year Book. (Ref. JN 1 .E85) For each country there is a lengthy survey and then statistical information on the economy, etc.

Political Handbook of the World. (Ref. JF 37 .P6)

The Statesman’s Year-book. (Ref. JA 51 .S7 2004)


ATLASES

Atlas of the Middle East. (Ref. G 2205 .K33 1988)

Atlas of the Middle East. (Ref. G 2205 .A853 2003)

Historical Atlas of Islam. (Ref. G 1786 .S1 R9 2004)


INTERNET RESOURCES

Meta Sites - The following four sites are a great place to begin as they provide a tour d' horizon of the field: associations, libraries, news and much more.

The Near East Collection at Yale University

Middle East Resource Guide

Internet Resources for Middle East and Islamic Studies

Middle East Studies Internet Resources

Middle Eastern History

 

Periodical Indexes

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

JSTOR Full text backfiles of scholarly journals. Be sure to click on Middle Eastern Studies.

Social Sciences Abstracts (SocSciAbs) Indexes scholarly articles in the social sciences.

WilsonSelectPlus Indexes full text articles for a college audience.

Social Sciences Citation Index


Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of the Orient

Encyclopedia :Middle Eastern History

Encyclopedia :Middle Esatern History Biography


Resources

Middle East History

The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources
This site will provide gateways for specific countries.

100 Questions and Answers about Arab Americans

Center for Contemporary Arab Studies This site has a number of "hot" topics.

Palestinian Refugee ResearchNet

The Middle East Information Network Information on countries, religion, business, news.

Islam

H-Mideast Politics This is a discussion forum; book reviews, too.

Area and Regional Studies Scroll down to Middle Eastern Studies.

History in the News: The Middle East

Middle East Studies Resources

An Open Door to the Arab World

Ottoman Web Site

Modern History of the Middle East-Current Political Issues

The Islamic World to 1600

Islam and Islamic History in Arabia
and The Middle East


Maps and Atlases

Other Maps Relating to Islam’s Historical Development

Maps and Views

Middle East Maps From the University of Texas.

N.B.: There are other map sites in the Meta Sites above.


Country Information

CIA World Factbook

Country Studies/Area Handbooks

BBC Country Profiles

Arab.Net

Background Notes From the US State Department.

Bureau of Near Eastern Affairs Also from the State Department. Click on the country for more information.


Chronologies

Islam Chronology

Middle East Timeline

History of the Middle East

Timeline of Middle Eastern History


Dictionaries


Glossary of Islamic Terms and Concepts

Glossary This site is more secular.


Sources

Internet Islamic History Sourcebook

The Middle East 1916-2001: A Documentary Record

 


Created on 6/22/04 by Name / Last updated on 8/9/08 by mj
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions