| Future Students | Current Students | Faculty & Staff | Alumni | Visitors | Help / Search | OAKLAND UNIVERSITY |
| About OU | Academics | Research | Arts | Athletics | Library | IT | Administration | Jobs | News |
| By: |
Daniel F. Ring Assistant Professor |
Phone: (248)
370-2498 E-mail: ring@oakland.edu |
Science Citation Index. Ref. Q 1 .A1 S2
This computer-generated index is an invaluable title as it allows the researcher to combine one or two concepts from an article's title. Index covers 2000 international journals and monographic series. Arranged in three parts: Permuterm Subject, Source, and Citation. Consult with a librarian on how to use it. Searchable by computer on Web of Science. Also take a look at MathDatabase which searches journals 1931-.Mathematical Reviews Ref. QA 1 .M76
Provides comprehensive coverage of pure and applied math literature. International in scope. Arranged by subject. Each entry contains a bibliographic citation with a signed, critical abstract. Includes cumulated author and subject indexes. Searchable online as MathSciNet, 1940-. The WWW Virtual Library also has a nice site on electronic journals: Mathematics Electronic Journals.Mathematics on the Web : Abstracting Review and Database Services.
Provides abstracts of papers and monographs, access to papers in electronic format, reviews and more.
ENCYCLOPEDIAS
AND DICTIONARIES
Encyclopedic Dictionary of Mathematics. 4 vols. Ref. QA 5 .I8313 1987
"Intended to be a compact, up-to-date source of information comprising... all significant results in all fields of science, pure and applied, from the elementary to the advanced level." First three volumes are alphabetically arranged. Volume 4 contains tables of formulae, names and subject indexes. KL also owns the 2-volume first ed., Ref. QA 5 .N5 1977.The Prentice-Hall Encyclopedia of Mathematics. Ref. QA 5 .P7 1982
This encyclopedia is a "comprehensive resource in mathematics for students, teachers and non-professionals" (p. vii). Consists of 80 articles on general mathematical topics. Its scope includes definitions, formulae, explanations, historical information and even puzzles and projects. Appendices include tables, symbols and a biographical list.CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics. Ref. QA 5 .W45 1999
This book is a compendium of formulas, definitions, figures, tabulations and references.MathWorld
This is an online encyclopedia. Covers algebra, applied mathematics, history and terminology, etc.The International Dictionary of Applied Mathematics. Ref. QA 5 .I5
"Defines the terms and describes the methods in the applications of mathematics to thirty-one fields of physical science and engineering" (preface). Both practical and general terms and definitions are utilized. The foreign language indices list the French, German, Russian, and Spanish equivalent of English words.Dictionary of Logical Terms and Symbols. Ref. QA 9 .G698
Presents "compactly, concisely, and side by side a variety of alternative notational systems currently used by logicians, computer scientists, and engineers" (preface). Also includes a glossary and a bibliography.The Facts on File Dictionary of Mathematics. Ref. QA 5 .G52 1981
Provides succinct definitions of basic concepts in math.
Here are some online dictionaries:
TABLES AND HANDBOOKS
CRC Standard Mathematical Tables and Formulae. Chemical Rubber Co.30th ed. Ref. QA 47 .M315 1996
Contents include octal-decimal conversion tables, the extensive set of integral tables, tables for differential equations, trigonometry, algebra, vector analysis, statistics and finance.Handbook of Mathematical Tables. Ref. QA 47 .H32 1964
This book contains not only the unusual kind of tables now present in the CRC Standard Mathematical Tables but also specially selected ones that serve the particular purposes for the applied mathematician, physicist, and engineer. Includes section on Spherical Hormones, the Binomial and Poisson Distributions and Elliptic Planetary Charts.Handbook of Mathematical Formulas and Integrals. Ref. QA 47 .J38 2000
Table of Integrals, Series and Products. Ref. QA 55 .G6613 2000
New Cambridge Statistical Tables. Ref. QA 276.25 .L56 1995
Handbook of Mathematics and Computational Science. Ref. QA 40 .S76 1998
Handbook of Discrete and Combinatorial Mathematics. Ref. QA 164 .H36 2000
Mathematical Handbook for Scientists and Engineers. Ref. QA 40 .K598 1968
This book is designed as a "comprehensive reference collection of mathematical definitions, theorems, and formulae for scientists, engineers and students" and also as a means of presenting surveys of mathematical methods for non-reference applications. "Each chapter is arranged so as to permit review of an entire mathematical subject." Includes glossary of symbols and notations and tables.
Other titles include: Trigonometric Tables, Ref. QA 55 .P443 1965; An Index of Mathematical Tables, Ref. QA 47 .F55 1962 (2 vols.); New Manual of Logarithms, Ref. QA 55 .B92. See also Mathematics Tables and Formulas or Math Reference Tables.
STATISTICS
Selected Tables in Mathematical Statistics. Ref. QA 276.25 .H372
Guide to Tables in Mathematical Statistics. Ref. QA 276.25 .A1 G7
CRC Standard Probability and Statistics Tables and Formulae. Ref. QA 273.3 .Z95 2000
Yahoo's Mathematics
Utilizes a directory format along with "most popular" sites.Internet Public Library's Mathematics
No directory arrangement--sites are arranged alphabetically.Mathematics WWW Virtual Library
Looks are deceiving as only 15 categories are listed in a directory format but each of these sites opens to a rich collection of Internet sites.Mathematics on the Internet
This site kind of hurts the eye as nothing seems to be arranged. The sites, however, are annotated.Mathematics on the Web
This site is nice because all the topics are alphabetically arranged, e.g., algebra, chaos, etc.MathSearch
Searches over 200,000 documents on English language servers across the United States.Mathematics Web Sites
Covers a vast collection of sites including pre-prints, software and math sites around the world.Mathematics Department Web Servers:
For Gopher servers see the excellent lists at
Mathematics Archives and Lake Forest CollegeCatalog of Mathematics Resources on the WWW and Internet
American Mathematical Society Homepage
This site is good for online journals, books and anything having to do with the AMS.Mathematics Resources on the Internet
This site is from College & Research Libraries. It's probably the best one here.Math Archives
Good for teaching materials, software; Topics in Mathematics has a searchable database.MathDL
Composed of four parts: The Journal of Online Mathematics, which includes essays on teaching strategies; Digital Classroom Resources, which "provides a select collection of free online learning materials which are available through the site. These materials have been classroom tested and peer reviewed"; Convergence, which is an online history magazine; and MAA Reviews, which is a database of books and book reviews. Must be an MAA member to use.Multi-Repository Mathematics Collection
"From the Multi-Repository Mathematics Collections site you will gain access to three of the most significant mathematics collections digitally available: The Mathematics Collection from Cornell, the Mathematics Collection from Göttingen, and the University of Michigan's Historical Math Collection." Can do basic, Boolean and bibliographic searches.Mathematical Functions
Contains 37,000 functions.The Virtual Classroom
An odd arrangement of different sites and not in any order. Some are interesting, like Ask Dr. Math, which answers math problems online; Mathematics Archives, which has tutorials; and links to other meta sites.Cornell University Historical Math Monographs
Covers 512 math monographs.Links to Web sites on the history of mathematics
The Mathematical Atlas: A Gateway to Modern Mathematics
Arranged according to the Mathematics Subject Classification. Each subject covers an introduction, bibliography and other links.EquMath.net
"EquMath is resource for math lessons from Algebra to Differential Equations!It's study site for high school, college students and other learners.
Make your homework, refresh your memory, prepare for a test, etc.Browse more than 3,700 Math pages filled with short and easy-to-understand explanations.
Choose one of the following subject areas: Algebra , Trigonometry , Calculus , Differential Equations , Complex Variables , Matrix Algebra , or Mathematical Tables .You can also easy find topics ranging from simplifying fractions to the cubic formula , from the quadratic equation to Fourier series , from the sine function to systems of differential equations ."
The Prime Pages
This site ie devoted exclusively to prime numbers.QuickMath
"QuickMath is an automated service for answering common math problems over the internet.Think of it as an online calculator that solves equations and does all sorts of algebra and calculus problems - instantly and automatically!
When you submit a question to QuickMath, it is processed by Mathematica, the largest and most powerful computer algebra package available today. The answer is then sent back to you and displayed right there on your browser, usually within a couple of seconds. "
The Math Forum: Ask Dr Math
Allows you to ask math problems for students from grade school through college.
ONLINE JOURNALS
ONLINE BOOKS
ONLINE PREPRINTS
ONLINE BIBLIOGRAPHIES
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426