Journalism
Encyclopedias
International Encyclopedia of Communications, v1-4
– Ref. P 87.5.I5 1989 – Covers a range of topics
in journalism and mass communications. Includes signed entries
with bibliographies, helpful cross-references, illustrations
and an index (v4).
Writer’s Encyclopedia – Ref. PN 141.W72
1996 – Includes terms, techniques, procedures and trade
expressions used in publishing, broadcasting, public relations
and related fields.
Mass Media and the Constitution: An Encyclopedia of Supreme
Court Decisions – Ref. KF 2750.A7 H58 1989 –
Summarizes U.S. Supreme Court cases that involve mass communications.
Entries are arranged thematically in broad headings, such
as copyright, censorship, free speech, libel and privacy.
Aimed at the layman.
World Press Encyclopedia: A Survey of Press Systems Worldwide,
v1-2 – Ref. PN 4728. Q53 2003 – Covers the
history of the press in more than 200 countries. Essays are
arranged alphabetically by country and vary in length.
Concise Encyclopedia of Ethics in Politics and the Media
– Ref. PN 4756.C645 2001 – Offers a collection
of essays on ethics in news, entertainment and politics. Coverage
ranges from freedom of the press to objectivity in reporting
to pornography. Includes many updated articles that originally
appeared in Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics (Ref.
BJ 63.E44 1998), plus new entries.
The Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of
Radio, v1-3 – TK 6544.M84 2004 – Includes
histories of major radio stations, biographies of radio personalities
and assorted topics. Provides 600 signed entries with bibliographies.
Emphasis on U.S. broadcasting.
Dictionaries
NTC’s Mass Media Dictionary – Ref. P
87.5.E45 1990 – Defines more than 20,000 terms used
in radio, television, newspapers, publishing and related areas.
Includes useful cross-references.
The Media Law Dictionary – Ref. KF 2750.A68
M87 – Includes words and phrases that routinely appear
in media law. A useful reference, but not all-inclusive, according
to the editor.
The Oxford Dictionary of New Words: A Popular Guide to
the Words in the News – Ref. PE 1630.O94 1997 –
Covers words that surfaced between the early 1980s and the
mid-1990s. Emphasis on terms used in politics, business, computing,
communications and the environment. Includes cross-references.
Webster’s New World Dictionary of Media and Communications
– Ref. P 87.5.W45 1996 – Defines more than 35,000
terms used in journalism, publishing, broadcasting, public
relations, television and advertising. Includes jargon and
technical terms alike.
Biographical Sources
Use these sources to locate biographical information on leading
journalists:
Journalist Biographies Master Index: A Guide to more
than 90,000 Sketches of and References to Historical and Modern
Journalists in over 200 Biographical Directories and other
Sources (superseded by Biography
and Genealogy Master Index online) – Ref. PN
4820.J58
Biographical Dictionary of American Journalism –
Ref. PN 4871.B56 1989
Biographical Dictionary of American Newspaper Columnists
– Ref. PN 4871.B57 1995
American Newspaper Journalists, 1873-1900 (Dictionary
of Literary Biography, v23) – Ref. PN 4871 .A49
1983
American Newspaper Journalists, 1901-1925 (Dictionary
of Literary Biography, v25) – Ref. PN 4871 .A5
1984
American Newspaper Journalists, 1926-1950 (Dictionary
of Literary Biography, v29) – Ref. PN 4871 .A52
1984
American Newspaper Journalists, 1690-1872 (Dictionary
of Literary Biography, v43) – Ref. PN 4871 .A48
1985
American Magazine Journalists, 1741-1850 (Dictionary
of Literary Biography, v73) – Ref. PN 4871 .A47
1998
American Magazine Journalists, 1850-1900 (Dictionary
of Literary Biography, v79) – Ref. PN 4871 .A474
1988
American Magazine Journalists, 1900-1960, first
series (Dictionary of Literary Biography, v91) –
Ref. PN 4871.A475 1990
American Magazine Journalists, 1900-1960, second
series (Dictionary of Literary Biography, v137) –
Ref. PN 4871.A475 1994
Directories
Use these comprehensive sources to find media contacts, circulation
statistics and related information:
Burrelle’s Media Directory. Broadcast Media. Radio
– Ref. HF 6146. R3
Burrelle’s Media Directory. Broadcast Media. Television
and Cable – Ref. HF 6146.R3 B865
Burrelle’s Media Directory. Daily Newspapers
– Ref. PN 4867.B3 B866
Burrelle’s Media Directory. Magazines and Newsletters
– Ref. PN 4867.B3 B84
Burrelle’s Media Directory. Newspapers and Related
Media. Non-daily Newspapers – Ref. PN 4867. B3
B82
Bacon’s Newspaper Directory – Ref. PN
4867.B32
Bacon’s Magazine Directory – Ref. PN
4867.B3
Bacon’s Radio Directory – Ref. HF 6146.R3
B721
Bacon’s TV/Cable Directory: Directory of TV/Cable
Stations Programming Contacts – Ref. HF 6146.T42
B72
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, v1-5
– Ref. PN 4867.A97
Editor & Publisher International Year Book, v1-3
– Ref. PN 4709.E34 – Lists dailies, including
foreign newspapers (v1), weeklies and specialty publications
in the U.S. and Canada (v2) and media contacts (v3).
Style Manuals
Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law:
With Internet Guide and Glossary – Ref. PN 4783.A83
2002 – Called “the reporter’s bible,”
this widely used manual provides guidelines on spelling, usage,
grammar and punctuation. Also covers libel, privacy and copyright.
Includes special sections on business and sports.
The New York Times Manual of Style and Usage: A Desk
Book of Guidelines for Writers and Editors – Ref.
PN 4783.J6 1976 – The New York Times writers, and other
journalists, use this respected stylebook. Covers style and
usage, including abbreviations, city names, capitalizations,
compound forms and numbers.
Garner’s Modern American Usage – Ref.
PE 2827.G37 2003 – This comprehensive reference/usage
manual is aimed at all serious writers. Includes succinct
word entries and essays on problematic style issues.
A Broadcast News Manual of Style – Ref. PN
4784.B75 M24 1994 – A succinct manual that covers the
radio script format, word usage and legal aspects of broadcast
news.
The Elements of Style – Ref. PE 1408.S772
2000 – William Strunk, Jr.’s timeless little text
covers basic principles of composition, grammar, word usage
and writing style.
Titles Worth Browsing
Taking Their Place: A Documentary History of Women and
Journalism – PN 4888.W65 B45 1993 – This
brightly-written text presents the history of women journalists
in the U.S. from Colonial times to the early 1990s. Includes
bibliographies and original documents.
American Journalism: A History of Newspapers in the United
States through 260 years: 1690 to 1950 – PN 4855.M63
– This classic traces the history of journalism from
the Colonial era to the 1950s. Covers the development of reporting,
printing and distribution methods. Includes an extensive bibliography
for each time period.
The American Journalist: A Portrait of U.S. News People
and their Work – PN 4871.W4 1986 – This engaging
text covers the backgrounds and characteristics of U.S. journalists
working in the early 1980s.
The New Journalism – PN 4867.W6 – Tom
Wolfe’s classic defines “the new journalism”
and includes timeless examples.
The Pulitzer Prize Archive: A History and Anthology of
Award-winning Materials in Journalism, Letters and Arts, v1-3
– AS 911.P8 P85 1987 – This worthy set lists prize
winners and includes selected articles (v1 international reporting,
1928-1985; v2 national reporting, 1941-1986, v3 local reporting,
1947-1987).
Online Indexes
Lexis-Nexis
– Many full-text journal and newspaper articles from
sources worldwide. Covers Columbia Journalism Review,
American Journalism Review, Presstime and others. Includes
major newspapers, including The New York Times, The Washington
Post, The (London) Times and others.
America:
History and Life – Covers the history and culture
of the U.S. and Canada. Provides more than 450,000 entries
from 2,000 journals, including many full-text articles. Covers
Journalism History, American Journalism,
Journalism & Mass Communication Quarterly and
others.
Biography
& Genealogy Master Index – Indexes biographical
sources.
HumanitiesAbs
– Includes abstracts and some full-text articles from
more than 2,000 journals dating from 1987 to the present.
Covers The Quill, Journalism and Mass Communication
Quarterly, Written Communication and others.
Readers' Guide Full Text
– Indexes more than 300 general interest periodicals.
Covers World Press Review, Television Quarterly,
Columbia Journalism Review and others.
Wilson OmniFile
– Full-text articles from more than 1,400 sources dating
from 1994 to the present. Includes U.S. and international
publications, academic titles and trade magazines. Covers
American Journalism, Journalism History
and others.
Academic OneFile – Many full-text articles from scholarly
and general interest periodicals. Covers Editor &
Publisher, Columbia Journalism Review, Journalism
History, Journalism Quarterly and others.
Print Indexes
Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature –
Ref. AI3.R4 – Indexes articles that appeared from 1890
to 1998 (superceded by Readers' Guide Full Text
via FirstSearch).
Humanities Index – Ref. AI3.R492 – Indexes
articles that appeared from 1974 to 1998 (superceded by Humanities
Abstracts via FirstSearch).
Detroit News Index – Ref. AI 21.D4D45 –
Indexes articles that appeared from 1987 to 2002.
The New York Times Index – Ref. AI 21.N45
– Indexes articles that appeared from 1851 to 2001.
Internet Sources
Power Reporting
– Pulitzer Prize winning reporter Bill Dedman and The
Columbia Journalism Review launched this site for journalists.
Links to hundreds of valuable reference sources. Also lists
internships, journalism associations and much more.
Missouri
School of Journalism – This comprehensive site
links to excellent reference sources. (Select “research”
on left-hand side, then “J-school library” and
“reference section”).
American Journalism Review
– This important site links to several thousand newspapers,
reference sources and selected articles from American Journalism
Review.
Journalism.org
– The Project for Excellence in Journalism and the Committee
of Concerned Journalists launched this site for journalists,
students and general readers. Links to additional journalism
sites, job openings, research and other sources.
A Journalist’s
Guide to the Internet – The University of Maryland
School of Journalism maintains this valuable site for journalists
and students alike. (For reference sources, select the “journalism”
icon).
CNN – The
Atlanta-based cable giant’s impressive site includes
breaking news stories.
The New York Times
– Search the online edition of America’s “newspaper
of record.”
Source consulted for reference books: Cates,
J.A. (1997) Journalism: a guide to the reference literature.
Englewood, CO: Libraries Unlimited