| Future Students | Current Students | Faculty & Staff | Alumni | Visitors | Help / Search | OAKLAND UNIVERSITY |
| About OU | Academics | Research | Arts | Athletics | Library | IT | Administration | Jobs | News |
| By: | Daniel
F Ring Assistant Professor |
Phone: (248)
370-2498 E-mail: ring@oakland.edu |
Periodical indexes and reference books are listed in the pathfinder Art and Art History. You might also find the pathfinder Mythology to be useful.
Encyclopedia Articles and Overviews
Grove Art Online This site should be the first place to go to explore your subject. Note the search bar in the upper right hand corner. Can also search for images and subjects. The articles can be lengthy and are written by scholars. Entries include bibliographies.
Greek Art and Architecture This essay is from Encarta.
Greek Art From the Columbia Encyclopedia; provides a brief overview of the various periods. Some links.
Greek Sculpture This is a lengthy essay.
A History of Ancient Greek Art Essay type links to topics such as Pottery, Ionic and Doric Orders.
Classical Greek Sculpture Links to the Parthenon, Methods of Sculpture.
Greek Art in the Archaic Period From the MMOA Several links and bibliographies.
Roman Copies of Greek Statues From the MMOA. Ditto.
Dictionaries
Dictionary (from the Beazley Archive)
Timelines and chronologies
Timeline Related to Ancient Greek Art
Ancient Greece From the MMOA; many links within the periods.
Images
Greek Art and Architecture Links to sculpture, jewelry and vases.
Greek Art This site has a few images but on the left you will see links to various topics and people in ancient Greece.
Museum of Antiquities Collection Links to several figures in Greek mythology.
Ancient Greece Links to a very large collection of images. Some of the links don't work.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Links to 359 images with narrative.
Greek Architecture Explanation and examples of Ionic, Doric and Corinthian Architecture. See links at bottom of page.
Greek Art Large number of images. No particular order.
Greek Art This Google site will take you to an awesome number of images. You will be here forever.
Art and Architecture And here is another large site of coins, vases, buildings and architecture.
The Beazley Archive Slides shows for pottery, gems and sculpture. This site also contains a database: "By 2004 the Beazley Archive had more than twenty databases of different types of objects in different formats. To manage data more efficiently they were merged into one 'extensible' database system (XDB) between 2004 and 2005. Merging datasets also enabled the 'benefits' of one database to be transferred to another. For example, a database of inscriptions on Athenian vases was merged with the Pottery Database, and the latter was merged with Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum."
Images of Orality and Literacy in Greek Iconography of the Fifth, Fourth and Third Centuries BCE "The following is a growing collection of images (with some explanatory text) that may be used in studying how the Greeks conceived of their invention and assimilation of their technologies of writing."
Art Images for College Teachers
OCLC's Catalog of Art Museum Images Online — is a growing online collection documenting works of art from around the world, representing the collections of prominent museums . CAMIO highlights the creative output of cultures around the world, from prehistoric to contemporary times, and covering the complete range of expressive forms.
CAMIO is licensed for use by students, faculty, and researchers at subscribing institutions. Works of art may be used for educational and research purposes during the term of the subscription, if they are properly credited. Images may not be published or otherwise distributed.
CAMIO includes ...
Lectures
Greek Art and Archaelogy These are the lectures of Professor Francesca Tronchin of OSU.
Resources
Resources for Greek Art and Archaelogy Covers:
Subject Indices & Link Collections
Texts, Projects, Journals, Bibliographies
Sites on Specific Topics or Regions
Archaeology Field Projects
Atlases & Geographic Information
Related Museum Collections
Associations, Centers & Organizations
Course Material & Teaching Resources
Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426