German Literature

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Encyclopedia of German Literature. (Ref. PT 41 .E53 2000)
This is good place to explore a topic as it provides critical essays, written by scholars, on people and movements in German literature. Each essay followed by listing of further readings.

The Feminist Encyclopedia of German Literature. (Ref. PT 41 .F46 1997)
Short, critical essays on people and events.


LITERARY CRITICISM

The following titles are part of the Dictionary of Literary Criticism and as such follow a common format: lengthy and critical essays, a listing of the subject's works and references. A good place to start your research.

German Writers and Works of the Early Middle Ages: 800-1170. (Ref. PT 193 .G47 1995)

German Writers and Works of the High Middle Ages: 1170-1280. (Ref. PT 195 .G4 1994)

German Writers of the Renaissance and Reformation, 1280-1580. (Ref. PT 241 .G47 1997)

German Baroque Writers, 1580-1660. (Ref. PT 271 .G47 1996)

German Baroque Writers, 1661-1730. (Ref. PT 271 .G48 1996)

German Writers from the Enlightenment to Sturm und Drang, 1720-1764. (Ref. PT 293 .G47 1990)

German Writers in the Age of Goethe, 1789-1832. (Ref. PT 311 .G47 1989)

German Writers in the Age of Goethe: Sturm und Drang to Classicism. (Ref. PT 311 .G48 1990)

Nineteenth-Century German Writers, 1841-1900. (Ref. PT 341 .N56 1993)

Nineteenth-Century German Writers to 1840. (Ref. PT 351 .N56 1993)

Twentieth-Century German Dramatists, 1889-1918. (Ref. PT 666 .T86 1992)

Twentieth-Century German Dramatists, 1919-1992. (Ref. PT 666 .T87 1992)

German Fiction Writers, 1885-1913. Part 1: A-L. (Ref. PT 771 .G47 1988 pt.1)

German Fiction Writers, 1885-1913. Part 2: M-Z. (Ref. PT 771 .G47 1988 pt.2)

Contemporary German Fiction Writers. (Ref. PT 772.C59 1988, 1st series)

Contemporary German Fiction Writers. (Ref. PT 772 .C593 1988, 2nd series)

German Fiction Writers, 1914-1945. (Ref. PT 772 .G39 1987)

Modern German Literature. (Ref. PT 401 .D6 2 vols)
Not part of the DLB series; it provides excerpts from critic's writings.

Women Writers in German-Speaking Countries: A Bio-Bibliographical Sourcebook. (Ref. PT 167 .W6 A1 W65 1998)


COMPANIONS AND HANDBOOKS

The Oxford Companion to German Literature. (Ref. PT 41 .G3 1997)

A Companion to Twentieth-Century German Literature. (Ref. PT 401 .A1 C65 1997)

Deutsche Dichter und Schriftsteller unserer Zeit. (Ref. PT 401 .L35)

Deutsche Dichter der Gegenwart. (Ref. PT 403 .W48)
This title is better than the preceding as the entries are much longer.

Handbuch der Deutschen Gegenwartsliteratur. (Ref. PT 403 .K8)

PERIODICAL INDEXES

MLA Bibliography

INTERNET RESOURCES

Meta Sites

Internet Resources for Germany
This is a very comprehensive site. There is a site devoted to literature but there is everything else too, including cartoons and customs.

Internet Resources for German Language and Literature
This covers language, literature, newspapers, societies, search engines and library catalogs.

External Links
This site picks up online texts, authors, criticism, history bibliographies and much more.

Research Tools for German
Covers:

Archival Collections and Primary Sources
Article Databases and Indexes
Atlases, Maps and Gazetteers
Biographical Sources
Book and Film Review Sources
Country Data Sources
Cultural Resources and Museum Sources
Dictionaries, Thesauri and Quotations
Dissertation and Thesis Sources
Directories
Encyclopedias and Almanacs
Government Information Sources
Image and Sound Databases
Library and Book Catalogs
News Databases, Indexes and Web Sites
Organizations
Statistics and Numeric Data
Web Gateways and Search Engines

Resources

Database of Women Writers in Germany since 1945

German Studies Web: Literature Resources
This site is good for electronic journals, single author pages, book reviews and electronic texts not covered below. All sources have been reviewed.

Die Deutschen Klassiker
This is good for biography, content summaries and bibliographies.

Voice of the Shuttle
This site is good for Hesse, Hoffmann, Goethe, Kafka and there are some good general resources as well.

Glossen
This site is good for literature, art, film and theater.

Exilpresse Digital
This site is useful for links to German literary and cultural magazines from the 1930s and 1940s.

Germanistik im Internet
This site will get you to institutions, digital texts, historical literature, artistic (including photographers) sites. Note the search engine "suchseite."

Internet Resources for Germanists
This site is good for locating scholarly organizations, German departments around the world, topics in German studies, etc.

German Literature Research Guide
From the Yale library. Many of the sites have been incorporated on this pathfinder but a few were not, including German search engines.

Das Literatur-Cafe (Der literarische Treffpunkt im Internet)
There is a lot here, including links to literature and even erotic literature plus forums and a search engine.

Germanistik
Links to German studies departments, organizations and institutes world-wide.

German Studies Trails on the Web
Interdisciplinary sources including Germanistiks and literary theory.

German Studies Resources
Covers:

LANGUAGES
German language, German linguistics, Yiddish language, German teaching / training
AREA / COMMUNITY STUDIES
Germany: area / diaspora studies, Jewish studies
HISTORY & CULTURE
art / architecture history, cultural studies, film studies, media studies, theatre studies, history, philosophy, gender studies
LITERATURE
German literature, collections / anthologies, critical theory, manuscripts, textual criticism
LITERATURE: GENRES / THEMES / FIGURES
biographical literature, drama, electronic writing / publishing, literature in translation, novels / short stories, other prose, poetry
MUSEUMS, LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES
museums / art galleries, libraries, archives, national libraries / archives / museums, audiovisual / specific media collections, digital repositories, archives collections finding aids, library collections finding aids

Texts

Digitale Texte
This is a very comprehensive site, sort of a gateway, and it is organized by genre.

Project Gutenberg
Another gateway to online texts.

Here are some specific subject text sites:

Sophie: A Digital Library of Works by German-Speaking Women

Friedrich Holderlin

German Online Resources
Good for Nietzsche, Wittgenstein and Goethe.

Grimm Brothers

19th Century German Stories

Dictionaries

German-English On-Line Dictionary

Dictionary.Reference.com

Glossary of Literary Terms

Deutsch-Englisches Woerterbuch

Translation

lingo24 " Translation Service provides free online English-German translation tool and links to a German language paraphrasing tool, Parasaurus Rex Germanix.

Grammars

Internet Handbook of German Grammar

 


Created on 2/26/04 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 9/4/08 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions