German History

By: Daniel F. Ring
Assistant Professor
Phone: (248) 370-2498
E-mail: ring@oakland.edu


ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia; History, People, and Culture, 1871-1990. (Ref. DD 14 .M64 1998, 2 vols.) This title has long articles written by scholars.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture. (Ref. DD 290.26 .E53 1999) Shorter entries.

The Encyclopedia of the Third Reich. (Ref. DD 256.5 .G76313 1991, 2 vols.) This is an edited title with many contributors.

Encyclopedia of the Third Reich. (Ref. DD 256.5 .S57)

Medieval Germany: An Encyclopedia. (Ref. DD 157 .M43 2001)

Europe, 1450-1789. (Ref. D 209 .E97 2004) This 4-volume set is a good place to explore a topic.


DICTIONARIES

Dictionary of German History, 1806-1945. (Ref. DD 203 .F47 1978)

Terminology of the Third Reich. (Ref. DD 256.5 .W53 1985)


COMPANIONS

The Longman Companion to Nazi Germany. (Ref. DD 256.5 .K475 1995)

The Longman Companion to Germany since 1945. (Ref. DD 257.W39 1998)


POLLS

The Germans: Public Opinion Polls, 1947-1966. (Ref. DD 259.2 .G385 1981)


INDEXES

Historical Abstracts. Indexes historical literature 1450- excluding the US and Canada.

JSTOR. Provides back files of full text journals.

BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Bibliographie zur Deutschen Geschichte. (Ref. DD 176 .A1 S37, 7 vols.)

German History and Civilization, 1806-1914. (Ref. DD 175 .A1 F68)

A Bibliography of German Studies, 1945-1971. (Ref. DD 257 .A1 H4)


INTERNET RESOURCES

Meta Sites

German Studies Web: History
Covers documents, historiography, reference works, gateways, libraries and societies.

German History Sources
Covers general and primary sources, East/West German era, sources by time period, World War II and Holocaust.

Virtual Library: History: German History
Arranged by topic, era and geography.

Research Tools for German
Covers a wide variety of sources for German broadly interpreted. Scroll down to the bottom for some history sources. Also covers other German speaking countries.

Archival Collections and Primary Sources
Article Databases and Indexes
Atlases, Maps and Gazetteers
Biographical Sources
Book and Film Review Sources
Country Data Sources
Cultural Resources and Museum Sources
Dictionaries, Thesauri and Quotations
Dissertation and Thesis Sources
Directories
Encyclopedias and Almanacs
Government Information Sources
Image and Sound Databases
Library and Book Catalogs
News Databases, Indexes and Web Sites
Organizations
Statistics and Numeric Data
Web Gateways and Search Engines


Other Pathfinders

Internet Public Library: German History


Documents and Primary Sources

History of Germany: Primary Documents
Medieval to the present with special topics.

document Archiv 1803-1870

Protokolle des Reichstags, 1867-1895

World War I Document Archive

Nazi and East German Propaganda

Documents of the German Kaisers

German History Sources, 18th century to 20th century

German History in Documents and Images

Kaiserreich, 1871-1918


Maps

Digital Historical Maps


Resources

Brandenberg-Prussia 1640-1871
Provides narrative on domestic and foreign policy, the economy and intellectual life.Many links.

H-German Links
Includes book reviews, article reviews, conference reports, graduate readings, documents and discussion logs.

David Luebke’s Home Page
Many specialized sources by a Professor of German History.

Autorrinnen und Autoren
3333 entries on German authors.

Historical Text Archive
This a very important link: includes topics such as the North German Confederation, maps, documents. Some of the links might not work.


Rulers

Deutchland: Koenige, Kaiser, Staatschefs 768-

 

Sundry

Why Study History?

What Are Primary Sources?


Style Manuals

History: Documenting Sources

Citing Electronic Information in History Papers

 


Created on 3/18/04 by Daniel F. Ring, / Last updated on 8/8/08 by Marilyn Jereau
Oakland University

Oakland University, Kresge Library
2200 N Squirrel Rd., Rochester, MI 48309
(248) 370 - 4426
 

Sitemap - Hours - Location - Suggestions